Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Harvest House Publishers Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3

In the final book of this fast-paced series, both Charlotte Ransome and her sister-in-law, Julia, have been captured by pirates. When Captain William Ransome finds his sister, she offers unexpected aid in his search for his wife---her own captor, Salvadore. Why would the Robin Hood of the West Indies be willing to help rescue Julia?
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Review 1 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

•°o•Jane Austen meets Pirates of the Carribean•o°•

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
•°o•Jane Austen meets Pirates of the Carribean•o°•
Ransome Trilogy – Ransome’s Honor, Ransome’s Quest, Ransome’s Crossing
by Kaye Dacus
I am rating the books as a trilogy since I read them all back to back. These books surprised me. I felt book one started out a little slow and a bit stiff. But, they definitely got better. I started book 1 on a Sunday, finished Monday and started book 2 that night, finished it on Tuesday, started book 3 that night and finished by Wednesday afternoon. The story line became so exciting I just could not wait to continue. There is romance, historical nuance, and then the action…OH the action. Fantastic! God also seems to show up more as the story progresses. Not like some authors where you really feel God’s presence throughout, but still I enjoyed it. I did notice the author uses a lot of the same descriptions repeatedly which I did not care for (ex: he punched his fists into his jacket). So for a couple little forgivable issues, I give these 4 out of 5 stars.
My favorite character: Charles Lott – but you will have to read to discover why (wink!).
May 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent sequil, highly recommended.

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momma D
Location:Ashdown, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent ending to this trillogy. A very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

enjoyable reading.

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
aunt Di
Location:Oklahoma
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this series was light warm reading and also upright and honorable . i enjoyed reding it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Up until Charlotte and Julia were rescued, I tore through this book, it was both exciting and suspenseful. The battle scenes were written with remarkable attention to detail. I wish that we had met both James Ransome and El Salvador in previous books because I really loved both of these characters and would have liked to have gotten to know them better. Hopefully the author will give them their own stories. I also enjoyed Charlotte making appearances as Charles Lott and rushing into battle, and Julia, for all her gentile ways finding a way to free herself from the pirate Shaw.
The down sides for me were that Charlotte for all her rushing into the fray of battle, Ned seemed lost in how to handle situations with her. He seemed insecure when faced with the consequences of his wife's actions, which for me, under-minded his character as a captain. He was not as strong and as sure of himself as I would have liked to have seen.
Also the author seemed to drag out the last fourth of the book in trying to wrap up all the loose ends. It could have been done much cleaner and used those extra pages to fill in some plot lines in the beginning and middle of the book.
All this being said, I did enjoy the book overall.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoy the suprise of who a character was.

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny Lazuardi
Location:Milwaukee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The autor kept you in suspense. The characters were interesting and believeable. The plot was very well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wha'ts not to love about a swashbuckling romance?

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryLu Tyndall
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fabulous conclusion to the series and my personal favorite!! Of course I may be partial since I also write Swashbuckling romances, but Miss Dacus has outdone herself with this story. Her research on ships and the Royal Naval sang through the adventure but did not overwhelm what turned out to be a plot full of twists and turns that kept me reading late into the night. Characters you grew to love through the series were placed in horrific situations that seemed so real, I felt their pain. Honorable heroes abound along side strong, independent women. There was even a likeable pirate, whose deserves his own book, in my opinion. This is an exciting read that will make you cry one minute and cheer the next! A guaranteed fun voyage!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hold Fast!

Date:September 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There's plenty of action and drama on the high seas in this world of piracy and Royal Navy life. Cannon fire and mayhem. Swashbuckling heroes and damsels in distress. Author Kaye Dacus has brought me into the wonderful world of piracy. Oh my, did I just say wonderful? Well, there is romance involved so wonderful it must be!
Although I haven't read the first two books in this series I have thoroughly enjoyed the exciting escapades of Charlotte. She's a spunky young woman with tremendous courage. Time and again she puts others before herself, showing true Christian charity, even in the face of danger and possible death. I thought at times that her decisions seem to come from her youthfulness but when reflected upon they are really coming from her relationship with Christ and her desire to be more like Him. The book doesn't just focus on Charlotte but also encompasses a conclusion for Willliam, her brother, and Julia, her sister-in-law, from the first two novels. Having just met met them in this final book, I am intrigued enough to want to go back and read about them from the beginning. It's apparent that William and Charlotte are very close as siblings and their relationship is one that is funny and poignant at the same time. The relationship between Julia and William is just plain sweet. How he longs to be with her but has to attend to his obligations comes across vividly on paper. Julia is such a caring and supportive woman to all those she loves. Her grace is abundant.
There seem to be quite a few mysterious aspects to this pirate story, not just your typical looting and fighting. The mysterious El Salvador ended up being my favorite character long before I knew his identity. A pirate with a heart? Really? He's definitely one for the history books ;)
Overall, if you enjoy adventure and romance on the high seas you will love this trilogy from Kaye Dacus. Special thanks to Karri, Marketing Assistant at Harvest House Publishers, for sending me a review copy. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Captured by Pirates

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
September, 1814, Tierra Dulce Plantation, St. Catherine’s Parish, Jamaica, is a day and place that Commodore William Ransome won’t be forgetting. His only sister, Charlotte, has been captured by a pirate. While attending to his pursuit of his sister’s captor, his wife, Julia, has been captured by yet another pirate, Shaw, known for his vicious treatment of his captives, and considered an enemy of the Royal Navy. Who does he go after first?
Captain Ned Cochrane volunteers to sail after Charlotte, freeing William to search for his wife. After a treacherous battle at sea, Ned reclaims Charlotte.
Shockingly, the pirate who held Charlotte is willing to help Ned and William find Julia. The question is whether this pirate can be trusted to help. What secrets do Ned and William not know about?
The world of piracy is dramatically portrayed in Ransome’s Quest by Kay Dacus. The ruthlessness of Shaw is expressed in detail, becoming of such a bitter, ruthless, and hateful man. The dangerous battle scenes are accurate descriptions of high sea battles in the early 1800′s.
The suspense, danger and ever-changing scenarios keep you riveted, and the budding romance and secrets pique your interest to the very end. The chivalrous behaviors are portrayed properly, reminiscent of days gone by. Definitely different from today’s world!
You will find differing insights into the title of the book. A good play on words!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic conclusion!

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shannon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The third and final volume of the Ransome Trilogy is a delightful romp across the Caribbean that neatly wraps up the stories of William and Julia, and Ned and Charlotte, with some wonderful surprises thrown in. It is, predictably, the most fun if the reader is already familiar with the first two installments of the series, Ransome’s Honor and Ransome’s Crossing, and it provides an exciting, sometimes heartwrenching but completely satisfying conclusion to the overall story. It’s a must-read if either of the previous volumes were enjoyed!
As I mentioned in previous reviews, I love the blend of Jane Austen (or Georgette Heyer, which was actually my first exposure to Regency romance) and Horatio Hornblower. The author’s writing style is so very smooth, so very in keeping with the time, except for the very occasional slip into modern vernacular. Her love of research shines through with vivid and exact period detail. I could smell the salt breeze and feel the deck of the ship beneath my feet.
Thank you to Harvest House for allowing me to be an influencer for this series! I was in no way obligated to write a favorable review, but receiving the review copy of this third book was an unexpected delight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Action-packed Read

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is my favourite book in the Ransome Trilogy.
I find Charlotte a delightful heroine. She's so spunky and funny and impulsive! She just seems to make things happen wherever she goes...and on a pirate ship that isn't necessarily a good thing! By contrast Julia is more mature, more lady-like. She reasons things out before acting, using her keen intellect to her advantage but her courage and stamina can match any man's. I loved reading about two strong heroines who don't idly sit by and wait to be rescued.
Dacus has an incredible Regency voice -- it's smooth and easy to read and makes you slip back through time. Her descriptions conjure up vivid images and her action scenes were enough to make me wince and cringe. She writes blood-thirsty pirating well.
I fell in love with one pirate though. He swooped in and stole my heart before I could steel myself from his allure. There's something in that bad-boy persona, isn't there? In my estimation, Salvador is the true hero. You'll have to read Ransome's Quest to see if you agree with me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love and Adventure on the high seas.

Date:August 21, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Commodore William Ransome is accustomed to being in command. The ability to control his crew and his ship earned him the rank of commodore. However, when his wife, Julia, is kidnapped only days after his sister, Charlotte, is taken, he is torn by the fact he cannot save them both himself. Entrusting his sister to her fiancé, Ned Cochrane, William seeks clues leading to his beloved wife. Strength and bravery alone will not be enough to rescue the two ladies. When a pirate offers vital information and assistance, long-hidden family secrets rise and William is forced to trust his wife's life to this pirate. Will Julia be safely reunited with William? Can anyone thrive after surviving such horrible circumstances? What other secrets surround this family?
Ransome's Quest is the third book in the Ransome Trilogy by Kaye Dacus. Set in the Regency era and featuring pirates, Royal Navy officers, and wealthy plantation owners, Ransome's Quest has a unique setting with lots of adventure. The book was more fiction than romance, but that was somewhat expected from the synopsis. I think it would have been easier for me to get into the book if I had read the first two books (Ransome's Honor and Ransome's Crossing) prior to reading Ransome's Quest. I don't recommend reading it as a stand-alone novel. There was some backstory given, but not until later in the book and I always had the feeling that I was missing something. Thankfully, once I got about halfway into the book, the plot really caught me and carried through until the end.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher as part of First Wild Card Reviews. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

They just keep getting better!

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
CMD1
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ransome’s Quest is the conclusion of the Ransome Trilogy and it was my absolute favorite of the three. Don’t get me wrong; the first two books in the series were great, and if you enjoy romance on the high seas, you need to try them. But Ransome’s Quest is the dessert at the end of the meal, the whipped topping on the pie, the cherry on the sundae. This is the way to end a series. SWEET!
There are pirates. There are kidnappings. There are hidden identities. There are dangerous agendas. And of course, romance. What’s not to love about pirates and thundering naval battles, heroes to the rescue and damsels that don’t necessarily need rescuing?
I absolutely loved one of the new characters in this story; El Salvador de los Esclavos. He deserves his own book because he came very close to stealing the limelight in Ransome’s Quest. Isn’t that just like a pirate?
And Kaye Dacus doesn’t shy away from making the bad guys…BAD! I was rooting for some serious comeuppance...but if you want to know what happens, you’ll have to read the book. I don’t do spoilers!
Thank you, Kaye Dacus, for giving us a series of high seas adventure. It’s a refreshing change in the lineup of overwhelming Amish fiction. I can’t wait to see what you’ll do next! (Hurry up, I’m waiting!:-)
Thank you, Harvest House Publishers, for providing me with a copy to preview. I was not required to give a positive opinion, but after reading it, I couldn’t resist. If you like adventure fiction, stories about the high seas, and/or pirates, you have to give this series a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Swashbuckling adventure at its best!

Date:August 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Regina Merrick
Location:Marion, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaye Dacus is one of a handful of authors bringing me back to historical fiction. Her attention to detail and level of research makes you feel that you are there, and the sensibilities of her characters are so appropriate to the time period of British domination of the seas.
In RANSOME’S QUEST, we follow and conclude the adventures of William and Julia Witherington Ransome, as well as Ned Cochrane and Charlotte Ransome, William’s sister. Romance, intrigue, and many surprises highlight this novel. With a major cliffhanger at the end of book 2, RANSOME’S CROSSING, Kaye keeps us guessing as she introduces us to not one, but two pirates plotting against the Witherington plantation and the Ransome name.
If you haven’t read the first two in the RANSOME series, treat yourself to reading all three in succession. If you’ve been waiting, as I had, for RANSOME’S QUEST, get your copy now! You won’t be able to put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ransome's Quest, Ransome Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
G.S.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The final book in the series was just as good as the first two. I truly enjoyed all of them. They had a great mix of romance, adventure, and mystery. Definitely some of my favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.