Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2

Harvest House Publishers Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2

Ella Yoder has moved into her dream house. In the stillness of the great house, Ella ponders her options. How is she to survive on her own? How will she ever forget Aden? What is to become of her?

Two would-be suitors soon make their intentions known, but Ella is unsure of her own feelings. As she agrees to take care of Preacher Stutzman's three motherless girls, Ella's heart is touched by their love for her. Could their affection be the answer to Ella's quest? Can God speak through the love of a child?

Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Review 1 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
starlight
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once again the second installment in the Ella Yoder series is exciting, reader friendly and warm hearted. As the story line progresses, it becomes difficult to interrupt your perusing; because Ella has to make a decision between her two suitors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Eastern, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommend this series!! Very interesting twist in the last book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vivian Cooper
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once you start reading this book, your greatest problem is lying it down before you finish it. You just can't wait to find out what the ending of it is. I can't wait until the next issue is printed in Sept.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From lose comes a new life

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ells thought she would be happy living alone after she lost
her first love. She soon realized that she was needed to
care for three little girls and from it came a new focus
for her life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

expectation of book 3

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Loi O
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can hardly wait for the next book to come. Ella is such a sweet, sharing person who has so much love to give to others. It's exciting to anticipate what is to come in her future with someone new to love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jerry Eicher has done it again

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
missy2ell
Location:AR.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good book, i so look forward to reading the next book to see what is instore for Ella.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting ---informative--delightful reading

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katie
Location:Riva Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author briefly informs the reader of what happened in the first book (A Wedding Quilt for Ella) and continues the story in this book.
Although the subject is able to make up her own mind--the author informs the reader-that other family members want to help her make the decision their way -not thinking that she has to live with that decision not them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol A Fabianovicz
Location:Whiting, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, another good Amish book. I thought that I knew how the story was going to end, but a few times during the story, I thought that I was wrong. PS - It did turn out the way that I thought.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT Book

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harvest House Publishers supplied me with this book for a review in return.
Ella Yoder has moved into her dream house. In the stillness of the great house, Ella ponders her options. How is she to survive on her own? How will she ever forget Aden? What is to become of her?
Two would-be suitors soon make their intentions known, but Ella is unsure of her own feelings. As she agrees to take care of Preacher Stutzman's three motherless girls, Ella's heart is touched by their love for her. Could their affection be the answer to Ella's quest? Can God speak through the love of a child?
This is the second book in the “Little Valley Series”. I thoroughly loved this book as much or even more than I loved the first book in the Series. Ella moves into her new home which was built by Daniel, Aden’s brother. She decides to share the huge house with her cousin Ronda and her newlywed husband and then she finds she is not so alone with other people in the house. In the meantime, she is asked by Preacher Stutzman to take care of his 3 children during the week and he picks them up on Friday. She agrees to do this and she falls in love with the children.
The Bishop starts to call on her and I was shocked the way he treats her. As the story goes, Ella decides to not see him anymore. This is such a GREAT book, I believe everyone who loves the Amish as much as I do, should read this book. I would suggest this book to my friends and family, it is so Good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can a young Amish woman overcome loneliness?

Date:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ella's Wish
By Jerry S. Eicher
Jerry has outdone himself again! I read "A Wedding Quilt for Ella" a short time ago and enjoyed it so much. To be able to review the follow up book, "Ella's Wish" was a delightful experience.
Ella, the main character , has lost her husband , due to a tragedy. At the beginning of this book, she is trying to put her life back together, despite losing Aiden, her one true love. She has moved into the house that she would have shared with him, as his wife, after their wedding, if things had gone according to plans. Meaning, their plans, not God's! Somehow, Ella has to learn to survive on her own, but how can she forget her beloved? What will become of her?
This novel tells Ella's story, of how, with God's help, she finds her way through the darkness. Two suitors appear on the scene, but does Ella really want even one, let alone two? Ella's nightmares give her reasons to doubt her future with one of them.
While she is healing, Ella ministers to others by taking care of the three motherless children of the Preacher. She learns to love again, responding to their trust and love of her. Their simple affections seems to answer many of the questions in her heart. But is it God speaking?? Ella has to discover that herself.
Jerry's ability to make his characters come alive is to be commended. I felt Ella's confusion, hurts and challenges. A great book. I highly recommend it to all Amish fiction lovers.
This book was received in return for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
KT52
Location:Sarasota FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
“Ella’s Wish” is a well written book. Having been born and raised Amish, I read Amish novels with a critical eye. My number one thing is to see how Amish the story is. I soon lost interest in seeing how Amish the story is, as I got wrapped up with the main characters’ lives.
Ella, as she faced life of a single woman after being almost married to Aden. Her parents, Daett and Mamm, who assumed they knew Ella’s heart and desires without listening to what she had to say, of what she wanted to say. Of Ronda who was aware and sensitive of what was happening in each heart without being told, without words. Of the young single Bishop who was seeking a wife, who was never challenged and never questioned his perspective and authority on any given subject. His word was law. And then came the young Deacon who preached fiery sermons of hell fire and brimstone, who by appearance was someone you kept your distance. Yet hidden under his sermons was a tender and timid heart and not quite so sure of himself. He was the father of three little girls and who lost his wife for some reason or another. Anyway both the Bishop and Deacon wanted Ella for a wife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ella Yoder lost her true love Aden, but he had set aside money for their home so his parents went ahead with the building of the house, and in this story Ella has moved into her new home. She needs a way to support herself and decides to rent part of the house out to an Amish couple who is getting married. She is also approached by Preacher Stutzman to take care of his three young daughters and she quickly agrees. She also decides to turn her basement into a quilt shop, and soon has plenty of business, enough that she should be able to support herself. She feels as if she will never be able to love again, but there are a few suitors who are interested. The bishop starts coming to call, he is convinced that she is the one for him, and Ella's parents think he would be perfect for her, but Ella isn't so sure. The one thing she knows is that she wont do anything while the Stutzman girls need her.
Preacher Stutzman is struggling with what to do about a mother for his girls. Everyone is pushing him toward a local widow, but his heart is leading him in a different direction. Will Ella ever be ready for another relationship?
I love this series! Ella is such an easy character to like. It is easy to see that her heart hasn't healed from the loss of her beloved Aden, but still she is a strong independent young lady that does what she needs to do, and that is what makes her story so different, it is the independence that she has. It was interesting to get a glimpse of Preacher Stutzman, while he is preaching a sermon, where he is tough, but then to see another side of him tending to his children. The secondary story between Eli and the Englisher Pam is still unresolved and I am totally wondering how it will work out.
While this is the second book in the Little Valley Series it can easily be read as a stand alone work, although its such a great series that you really should read both. Their is never a down time in this story, the author held my attention until the final page, actually long after the final page because I became so involved in Ella's story that I so wanted to know how it would work out for her, but because its a series I will have to wait until September when the final book titled "Ella Finds Love Again" is released.
"A Wedding Quilt For Ella", and "Ella's Wish" are two amish fiction reads that I would highly recommend. I for one will be anxiously awaiting the final book in this fantastic series!
I was provided a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ella's Wish, Little Valley Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

wonderful story

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ella's house is now finished and she has moved into it. But what will she do to provide a living for herself? This is not a normal position for a young Amish woman, because generally they live with their families, or move from their parents after marriage to live with their husband. But Ella is not the normal young Amish woman. After the death of her beloved Aden, she is not sure she will ever love again, although there are plenty of opportunities being presented to her, she is unable to move forward in this part of her life.
Preacher Stutzman offers her a job taking care of his three young daughters after the sudden death of his wife, this along with renting out the first floor of her home to a newlywed couple will help provide her living. Adding in a small quilt shop in her basement, should be enough to provide for her. What Ella has not bargained for is the deep feelings she is developing for Preacher Stutzman's little girls. Nor did she bargain for the young Bishop who is pursuing her. She knew he was interested, but he is taking liberties, trying to keep her from taking care of the little girls. This will not do at all, she has to put her foot down.
A great story, with a twist from the normal Amish story. An independent young Amish woman with definite thoughts of how things are supposed to be or not be. I love Ella, she is so real to me, I would love to have her as a friend. This book is a continuation of the story of Ella, from the first book A Wedding Quilt for Ella. This book does stand alone, but there are references to the previous story, so having read it does help understand everything in this book. Discussion questions included. 274 pages US $11.99 4 stars
This book was provided for review purposes only by Harvest House Publishers, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.