Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1

Harvest House Publishers Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1

Amish midwife Abigail Graber loves bringing babies into the world. But when a difficult delivery takes a devastating turn, Abigail is faced with some of the hardest choices she has ever had to make. Despite all her efforts, the young mother dies-but the baby is saved.

When a heartless judge confines Abigail to the county jail, her younger sister, Catherine, comes to care for the home while Daniel works his fields. Catherine meets Daniel's reclusive cousin, Isaiah, who's deaf and thought to be simple-minded by his community. She teaches him how to communicates with his fellow man, and in so doing, discovers he possesses unexpected gifts and talents. Catherine makes a difference in all their lives and in return, finds love, while Isaiah discovers God, who cares not for our handicaps or limitations.

Average Customer Rating:
4.864 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Review 1 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
This review is fromAbigail's New Hope - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
cazzer
Location:Vic. AUSTRALIA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a different slant on how the Amish deal with unexpected events. It was certainly a very new idea of an Amish lady in prison and it was handled wonderfully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Story!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hope more people will get on the Mary Ellis train. This first book in the new series promises that we'll see another great string of stories from this author.
A great story and an easy read. Pick it up. You will not be disappointed......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
This review is fromAbigail's New Hope - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Smithy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldnt put the book down enjoy it could read it again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edith Owen
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Amish story!! I have read other stories written by her and they are always good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just loved the book... It made me cry... It was so real it made you feel like you were there....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From strife comes new life

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Little did Abby think that saving a baby would put her in
jail. But from her time away from home, her sister,
Cat is able to help Isaiah who is deaf to come back to life
and even look forward to going to special school.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Somerset, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved it! This story is well told and illustrates the trust and love that all marriages should have. Mary Ellis is a brilliant story teller. She is my favorite author, hands down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was great

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Eubanks
Location:Whiting, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the book very intersting and informative and exciting. I enjoyed it very much
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Abigail's New Hope

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has a story line that tested my patience! How could a good Amish mid-wife end up in jail and for the length of time that she spent there? I was on her side the whole time rooting for her! It didn't help! Would she end up spending 2 1/2 to 3 years in jail? Guess you'll just have to buy this book and find out. This story isn't just about Abigail and Daniel Graber. It is also about Catherine, Isaiah, Nathan, Abraham, Aunt Iris and a host of other characters. This book captures your interest from the very beginning and you can't put it down once you begin reading it. I love that Mary Ellis also made sure that God, faith, and morals came in to play. The ending leaves you feeling good and wanting more. You did it again Mary!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Abigail's New Hope

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once upon a time, not too long ago, I did not like reading fiction. But, there was a Christian novel that just sounded too go to pass up, so I read it, and loved it. That got me looking at other Christian novels, and before long, I was hooked. There was one genre that I tried to get into, but I just didn’t like - Amish fiction. But, I kept hearing about all these wonderful Amish stories, so I forced myself to read them. Most, I didn’t like, but some I did. The ones I did like kept me reading more of them. I have gotten to the point where I am becoming more and more fond of Amish fiction. I don’t like all of it, but there is more I like these day than I don’t like. I am very thankful that I didn’t give up on Amish books because I would have missed out on a lot of great books. I certainly would have missed out on Abigail’s New Hope, and that would have been quite sad indeed.
Abigail’s New Hope started in a way that I loved, and I knew this would be a book I was going to enjoy. The peace and beauty of an Amish farm is one of the things that draws readers to this particular genre and Mary gave a beautiful description of Abigail’s and Daniel’s farm as the sun began to set. I could feel the tranquility in the words and I could hear the sounds as if I was standing right there. When a book stirs my senses like that on the first couple of pages, I know I am going to have a wonderful reading experience.
From the strong start to the satisfying ending, Abigail’s New Hope did not disappoint me at all. Every aspect of this book was perfect in my eyes. I loved the characters, the story, the setting, and above all, the writing. Mary Ellis is an author who I have never read before, but I will never hesitate to pick up one her books in the future. I am so glad that I have been letting go of my aversion to Amish fiction because I would not have wanted to miss this book. I highly recommend this wonderful story that is going on my favorites list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than a Romance!

Date:April 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryKJ
Location:Guam, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abigail's New Hope, Mary Ellis's recent Amish offering, goes well beyond the traditional romance to the kind of contemporary, ethically challenging novel that a reader just can't put down. Abigail makes a questionable decision for all the right reasons in this story, and the implications are profound for her, for her immediate family, and for the community in which she lives. While Abigail deals with incarceration, her younger sister meets a neighbor with problems of his own--and a smile she can't quite resist. There is a romance in this book--in fact, there are a couple of them. But this is not just a romance. It's a warm, creative look at a family with a big problem, the struggles that problem causes, and the unexpected results that emerge from the struggle. I loved this book and I look forward to more in this style from a wonderful, creative author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Abigail's New Hope by Mary Ellis

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harvest House Publishers have Provided Me with A Complimentary Copy of this Book.
Amish midwife Abigail Graber loves bringing babies into the world. But when a difficult delivery takes a devastating turn, Abigail is faced with some of the hardest choices she has ever had to make. Despite all her efforts, the young mother dies-but the baby is saved.
When a heartless judge confines Abigail to the county jail, her younger sister, Catherine, comes to care for the home while Daniel works his fields. Catherine meets Daniel's reclusive cousin, Isaiah, who's deaf and thought to be simple-minded by his community. She teaches him how to communicates with his fellow man, and in so doing, discovers he possesses unexpected gifts and talents. Catherine makes a difference in all their lives and in return, finds love, while Isaiah discovers God, who cares not for our handicaps or limitations.
This book is a Good book. I believe that everyone needs to pickup this book and read it because it is a wonderful story. I thought it moved a little bit slow at first, but then it picked up speed and after that I could not put it down. Abigail Graber loved being a midwife, but when she supplies a drug to Ruth Fisher, she is sentenced to jail. Abigail writes to her sister and she comes to take care of Abigail’s family, her husband (Daniel) and her 2 children (Laura and Jake).
I believe that the Lord works in mysterious ways throughout the book, dealing with Abigail in jail and her husband has to learn how to cope without his precious Abby. But, when Abby’s sister comes to help out, different things happen. She falls for Isaiah, Daniel’s cousin and sparks fly between them. It is just a Great book and would suggest everyone read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FANTASTIC A MUST READ

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I could give this book more than 5 stars I would it was a great read, I would recommend this book to everyone, the story line was great it had me hooked on the very first page, everyone of the characters are just so real, when I read this book it was just like I was right there, Abigail has to go through so much and she always has her faith, the Amish are just wonderful christians, all I really can say about this book is wonderful wonderful wonderful, Mary has really got a fantastic series going, now I have to wait for the next book.
Thank You Mary for sharing your talent with us readers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed it!

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Noreen Frederick
Location:Skandia, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book, and am looking forward to the next one of the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must read

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
debsredbirds
Location:Adamsville, Al
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a wonderful story. I consider this book a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A really, really good book. I enjoyed reading it very much. I have read several other books by Mary Ellis. They were all good. This one was by far the best. The characters were well developed. There was more than one story line in the book. Just a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
pdarst
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book captivated your interest from the beginning to the ending. It was hard to lay the book down once I started read it. I felt that the chain of events held ones interest. It was well written and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edgar Tanley
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoy reading these type books. Always passes on her books to others for there fine reading..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

STANDING UP FOR WHAT IS RIGHT!!!!

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
making magick
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hurrah for Abigal, she stood up for what she believed in and didnt back down, even when she had pressure from all around her, including her husband who wanted her to come home and make their home whole again.
She went to jail for something that each of us probably would have done being put in the same situation, but it was still against the law. I guess it shows that sometimes your heart will rule your head. Dont miss this book, it really makes you think. Also, the faith in God she has is very touching. We should all believe as Abigal does. What a sweet story line with Issaih and his love story too. Good read and quick read, I recommend to all!!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Abigail's New Hope, Wayne County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Amish Fiction

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very enjoyable and a very quick read! It showed that we all have to live with our decisions. I thought that Abigail did the right thing, but in the eyes of the law she was wrong! Just like a sin is a sin!
I loved the way Catherine is able to communicate with Issiah. What a fun time she and the children have together, including Issiah!
My heart went out to Nathan who loses his young wife, and now has little Abraham to take care of.
You can see God's hand in helping his people! Abagail's presence in the Jail also has an effect on those around her. I also loved those who nagged at Nathan to return to his Lord, and deal with his grief.
I would recommend this book to all who enjoy a good story and life in the Amish community.
I purchased this book and the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>