Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition

Baker God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition

As a boy he dreamed of being a spy - undercover behind enemy lines. As a man he found himself undercover for God. Brother Andrew was his name, and for decades his life story , recounted in God's Smuggler, has awed and inspired millions. This bestseller tells of the young Dutch factory worker's incredible efforts to transport Bibles across closed borders - and the miraculous ways in which God provided for him every step of the way. This story is reintroduced in a 35th anniversary edition with a new foreword and afterword. Brother Andrew's story remains as inspiring today as it was thirty-five years ago, and with this new release it will motivate a new generation to risk everything to follow God's call.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Review 1 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real account of living by faith

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
debian linux fan
Location:Kching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A true quality of a real Christian. And thru faith God let brother Andrew accomplish remarkable deeds for God's kingdom. A exemplar to fellow Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A little bit of something for everyone!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cammy M
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I came upon this book about five years ago for school reading; actually it wasn’t even my school reading, it was my sister’s, but I, being an avid reader, read it also. From what I recall, I loved the book, but that was 5 years ago. When you get older sometimes you read or watch something you once loved and think ‘why in the world did I ever like that’ that was most definitely not the case for this book. I have just completed rereading God’s Smuggler and again absolutely loved it start to finish. Most people would say at this point it was so good I couldn’t put it down, however the characteristic for a good book to me is one I can put down. Why? I don’t know, I guess that’s just the way I roll.
That aside I will tell you a little of what “God’s Smuggler” is about and what makes it such a good read.
God’s Smuggler is about a Dutch man who we know as Brother Andrew. This book was published first in 1967, during a time when Brother Andrew was still very active behind the Iron Curtain. This is the reason his full name is not given and so many other names are kept secret. The 35th Anniversary Edition was published in 2001; the main difference is the extended epilogue telling of what has been going on in Brother Andrew’s life since 1967.
We start off in the book at Brother Andrew’s home town of Witte, Holland. There we find him as a young mischievous boy who longed for adventure. It was that longing for adventure that drove him even as a young adult, and eventually led him to Christ. Not all is easy for Brother Andrew he, loses and gets rejected by loved ones but he also finds friends in the most unexpected places. Most of all he learns what faith in God can do. If we are in God’s will, He will make a way even if all odds seem against us.
In so many biographies a person cannot relate to the character, as they were people from so long ago or sometimes the books display them as faultless. Brother Andrew of “God’s Smuggler” is neither of these. Brother Andrew’s work is still going on today, and he is displayed for who he truly is an imperfect human being. He goes through the same pain, and the same numbness and wondering “what in the world does God want me to do now” as everyone does. This is why when he was sad I felt sad, when something good happened in the story I felt excited.
I would recommend this book to anyone. If you are looking for humor, adventure, encouragement and, yes, even a little romance, you will find it in “God’s Smuggler”. Even if you’re not looking for any of those things and just want, or even need to read a missionary biography, this is the one to read.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Life Changer

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ryan
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A truly remarkable book. A story about a man who knew no fear, only the fear of the LORD. This book has opened my eyes to many things. One, it has made me appreciate the blessings of America. The little things we take for granted such as opening a bible in public, praying in public real quick, sharing the good news, etc. Also, this book has opened my eyes to the persecution of brothers and sister across the world and has motivated me to pray for them. Finally, it is a thriller/adventure book. I believe this is a MUST read for Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't Put Down

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tony
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this book to lots of family and friends. This should be in every library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book with audio done extremely well!

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
hypkip
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never read the book before, but the story of Brother Andrew is stimulating, challenging and encouraging. The audio version is the best audio book I have ever listened to - very well done, with a light British accent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hank
Location:Middleton Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very inspirational story that I remember reading as a kid - I definitely recommend it. A great teaching tool to help kids appreciate the blessing of living in a free country and also the need to spread the love of Jesus throughout the world
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Norman H Shannon
Very encouraging and uplifting to see how God works in peoples lives particularly those He has called to dangerous work and in out generations. Norman
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Dietsche
love this book... I have bought many copies of it over the years. I like to give this for a confirmation gift... it really shows first hand how God works... a must read... it will change your life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kevin
I absolutly loved this book. If every christian had the faith of brother Andrew, this world would be a much better place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joyce Semenek
Excellent read! You'll have a hard time putting the book down, & it will give you food for thought for a long time. The reading was even more enjoyable with Rachmaninoff piano music in the background.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Howard Ward
Great inspirational book! Thank God for the selflessness and great courage of men like Brother Andrew! I can see why this book continues to sell!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristy Matheny
This is a fantastic book! If you are like me and a bit sticker shocked by the price, don't be! I purchased it for my son, because it is required reading for 8th grade Learning Language Arts Through Literature. Christianbook.com has the BEST price. (yes, I looked around!) But it does not matter, the book was beyond the price! I was so incredibly blessed by this book! It makes Missions at church come alive! It gives you understanding beyond your comfort zone. You can not put the book down! Sometimes we do not realize how blessed we are to live in the US. We forget about what others in other countrys go through for their faith because they are so far away. Buy this book, read it, and you will be blessed! You will also have a new appreciation for missions! I know I do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Garcia
An awesome story about faith. Would recommend it to everyone. We read it for a book club.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Aaron Cooper
All I can say is...wow. I had been meaning to read this book for a while, so I picked it up at random yesterday afternoon. I finished it at 1:00 this morning. For those who you who love to hear History as "His Story" - this is a remarkable account about the spread of God's Kingdom on enemy soil that you won't want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beverley Knight
Inspiring and uplifting. Riveting reading. A wonderful example of God's hand in the life of His children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tara
At first this book was just another stupid book I had to read for school, but as I began to read it and connect it to the world today, I had trouble putting it away. It is a truly touching story and has honestly changed my life. The way the story is told puts you right in Brother Andrew's shoes-my heart would pound as he would approach a border guard of a communist country, his car packed full with Bibles, I would cry at the circumstances he and his wife faced, and praise God for His sovereignty throughout it all. A must-read for EVERYONE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
The "God's Smuggler" Book belonging to my late Grandmother dropped into my lap after 28 years on the shelf in my parents home. This book is an awesome Testimony of the life of Brother Andrew...something my grandmother passed around for all to read with the hand written notes to please return to her when finished. The pages are yellowing and there are coffee stains from those that read this book before me...BUT THE BEAUTY OF THE MESSAGE IS POWERFUL...GOD IS THE TRUTH AND THE LIGHT! This is a must read BOOK!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ruth
An amazing and unbelieveable testimony! This is one of my favorite books. We need more Brother Andrews out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cinda Hise
Wow! Praise God for people like Brother Andrew and the witness that he gives to us! Our family is reading this book a chapter at a time. This story of God's provision reaches out to even the very young!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for God's Smuggler: 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2005
Customer Avatar
Brandon
When I first saw this book in a Christian bookstore I was a bit hesitant about it. However when I read the back cover I could feel the Holy Spirit telling me to get it and I have never felt bad about that decision it is one of the best books I have ever read. Every time I read it it's hard not to cry and desire a closer walk with the Lord. I love this book and what god has done for Bro. Andrew
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>