Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers #1: The Perfect Blend

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Harvest House Publishers #1: The Perfect Blend

Steph Vandergrift leaves everything behind to marry attorney Rick Manfred . . . only to be left at the altar. So she takes a job at the local tea shop, where she meets eligible bachelor Kendall James. But by the time she's ready to date again, Rick returns and wants her back. What does God have in mind? 256 pages, softcover from Harvest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #1: The Perfect Blend
Review 1 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute story if a little contrived

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jane Anne
Location:Greensboro, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Steph, the main character, is learning from her mistaken judgement regarding her fiance and is blessed to have Christians to help her find her way and rebuild her life. Milly and her tearoom are marvelous - filled with wisdom; Steph's new friends/roommates will make you laugh; and the romantic Kendall seems too good to be true. The plot seems a bit contrived, not realistically what would happen, but the story is cute, a good summer read for any age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is The Perfect Blend, your Cuppa Tea ?

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: The Perfect Blend - Tea with Millicent Series - Trish Perry - September 2010
When Steph Vandergrift meet the guy she thought was her Prince Charming, she gave up everything , her friends, her job and left to elope with him. However fate didn't seem to agree as Rick stands her up at the altar. Now with nowhere to turn , Steph is unsure of what to do ?
Enter Milly Jewell, owner of the Tea with Millicent Tea Shop - when she sees Steph down in the dumps she invites her in ,and soon enough Steph is waiting tables at Milly's TeaShop . One of Milly's favourite customers is The Fox and Hound Inn owner Kendall, also recently broken from his engagement. As Steph gets closer to Kendall , she finds herself falling for him, but just as she's ready to tell him - in walks Rick her ex-fiance and Amy- Kendall's ex fiancee . Are Steph and Kendall destined to be together or was the sparks and passion they shared too good to be true ? Also if you are one for odd-jobs and embarrassing moments , this is the perfect book which will have you chuckling as it is brimming to the top with ancedotes and for the cooks in us , it contains a selection of Milly's recipes at the back of the book as well as a Reader's guide and discussion questions.
A lovely light-hearted Christian Chick Lit that talks about tackling the unexpected moments of life with courage, faith and a dash of girlfriends and a bucket list of fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining, light hearted read

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Martha Rogers
Location:Houston TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Perfect Blend, Trish Perry gives us a “perfect blend” of characters who keep you reading just to see what will happen next. Steph Vandergriff is a mess. She’s been jilted at the altar by Rick Manfred who has disappeared, she’s in a strange town, and she’s cut off all ties with her family and friends back home who warned her about her fiancé in the first place. As she sits on the steps of the building where her intended’s law office is, she cannot stop crying. Enter dear Millicent, owner of the tearoom across the street. She takes Steph in and ends up offering her a temporary job to replace a girl on vacation. After a few mishaps, Steph loves the work and Millie. In addition she makes friends with Christie and Liz who offer her a place to live. The problem is that Steph needs a permanent job so she can stay in Middleburg. Kendall James, the handsome owner of the inn where she’s staying, offers to help her find a job, but Steph’s clumsiness and distraction get her into trouble with each attempt. In the meantime she’s attracted to Kendall who is interested in more than finding Steph a job. Just when their relationship seems to be blossoming, Runaway Rick returns, and Steph has some decisions to make. Can she stand on her own two feet and make her own decisions for her future? Interesting secondary characters, a beautiful historic town, new friends, and a few surprises make this a delightful book for reading curled up in your favorite chair with your own cup of tea.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoJo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this one. The
characters were great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Fantastic Trish Perry Book

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
bigguysmama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you looking for a book to pick you up during the winter doldrums? If so, The Perfect Blend is THAT book! I absolutely love Trish Perry’s characters. They are always so relatable. I can always find a piece of myself in her female characters. That was no exception this time.
Steph Vandergrift has just been dumped by her fiance and left in the middle of, well, Middleburg, VA where she knows absolutely NO ONE! When it comes to Trish Perry books, you have to know that when the characters are put into uncomfortable situations, there will be lessons learned, but on top of that, they’ll learn them in sometimes hilarious ways.
That’s probably the best part of The Perfect Blend. Life is going along for Steph, she’s trying to find work, a place to live, some support, and all of a sudden she hears something or sees someone and happens will leave you laughing out loud!
If you are looking for some great reading to brighten up your day, The Perfect Blend is the perfect choice!
I'd like to thank Harvest House for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Who's acceptance matters?

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
It's been awhile since I've read such a fun, enjoyable book. I was swept away by a fun, quirky heroine that I could root for and cringe with when things went wrong (which they often did). Yet there is a strong underlying message about acceptance and whose acceptance really matters in life. I really liked this book and am pleased to see that it is the start of a series... I'm certainly hoping to see more of Kendall and Steph.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Perfect Blend

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Miriam
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Blend by Trish Perry is a delightful and entertaining read. The main character, Steph, has many endearing qualities that tend to attract others to her innocence and naivety. Steph finds herself in the middle of a town she does not know when her supposed fiancé disappears on the day she is to meet him to elope. His disappearance is not a mystery in that he took a leave of absence from his employment. Steph meets some genuinely caring people as she tries to make a life for herself in this new unfamiliar town. Her fiancé eventually returns but his reception is not on the welcoming committee’s calendar. Each character plays a part in Steph’s personal development, especially Milly, who seems to be an angel sent from above. She always has the right thing to say and accepts Steph as she is unconditionally. It is interesting that the story centers around a tea shop owned by Milly, where Steph always finds a sense of comfort and acceptance through her work there. I think that most Christian fiction readers would find this to be a peasant and charming book to read, It has substance with lessons to be taken from the events of the story. Aren’t we all always searching for that “perfect blend” that will make our life complete?
A complimentary copy of this book was provided to me by Harvest House Publishers for review. I was not obligated to provide a positive review. The opinions in this review are strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance with a spark!

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Steph Vandergrift left her family, friends, and job in Baltimore to elope with Rick Manfred, a Middleburg attorney, against her controlling parent’s wishes. Problems for Steph begin when Rick ‘neglects’ to show up for the wedding. Alone and deserted in a strange city, a very distraught and weepy Steph is befriended by Milly, owner of Millicent’s Tea Shop, on the morning of her “planned’ wedding. Milly offers her a temporary job at her shop. At the Tea Shop the next day, Steph meets sisters Liz and Christie Burnham and Kendall James.
Kendall James, dubbed ‘Mr. Cutie Pants’ by the sisters, owns and works the Fox and Hounds Hotel, where Steph is staying temporarily, since her honeymoon suite was paid in advance by Rick. When Kendall meets Steph, he’s hooked. She’s apprehensive about men. Thus the tension arises.
The Perfect Blend is my first book by Trish Perry, and I absolutely loved it! She nailed the romantic tension between Kendall and Steph. The playful bantering that is so typical for a newly acquainted couple. The extra ‘touch’ of his handshake. The gentlemanly manner in how he cares for her needs, yet not being pushy. All this and more, and, he’s the most eligible bachelor in Middleburg!
Just as Steph is willing to reciprocate Kendall’s romantic gestures, Rick shows up, repentant and willing to prove his love. Steph has to decide once again if Rick is trustworthy enough to marry, especially based on conversations she’s overheard. Are they the perfect blend she thought they were? The sisters have their opinions on the matter!
Although Steph is initially abandoned by Rick, she has a strong faith that God will supply her needs for work, friends and a place to live by praying for wisdom to know what to do. And answer He does! Just maybe not how she thinks He will!
A 5.o rating based on characters and circumstances portrayed in a very realistic manner. Aptly, Trish was into the characters’ dilemmas and emotions. She kept me entertained and laughing out loud at the antics and bantering comments made, definitely holding my attention!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steph Vandergrift leaves her home, job, friends and family in Baltimore and moves to Middleburg to elope with Rick Manfred. But when she arrives in Middleburg she discovers that Rick is nowhere to be found. All alone and in need of a friend, and a job, as well as a shoulder to cry on, she meets Milly, who offers all three.
Milly is the owner of Millicent’s Tea Shop. Milly takes her into the tea shop to talk over a cup of tea. As Steph begins to feel a bit better, she discovers that Milly’s assistant is away on vacation. Steph offers to help Milly out and ends up filling in for the time that her assistant is away.
Kendall James is the owner of the Fox and Hounds Inn. He is dashing, kindhearted, and single. Steph and Kendall begin a wonderful friendship, which hints at becoming more, but Steph doesn’t want to enter another relationship without counting the cost first.
Liz and Christie, are sisters, who also befriend Steph and invites her to move in with them as a roommate.
Rick Manfred is an attorney at his father’s law firm. When he returns to Middleburg, will Steph allow him to win her back, or will she seek God’s council for what she should do?
I had a little bit of trouble getting into this book, but after the first couple of chapters I was hooked. Trish Perry adds romance, humor, faith, hope, courage, friends, love and prayer into her recipe for a well written story.
The last few pages of the book includes discussion questions and recipes from Milly’s kitchen.
I look forward to the next book in this series, Tea For Two and I think you will too, after you have read The Perfect Blend by Trish Perry.
The Perfect Blend by Trish Perry was provided for me free by Harvest House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Perfect Blend

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first saw that The Perfect Blend was the first in the Teashop Series, I knew I had to read it. It doesn’t get much more appealing to me than to have a book that revolves around a cozy little tea shop in a cozy little town. Of course, the fact that it was written by Trish Perry doesn’t hurt either. I’ve always enjoyed her books, and The Perfect Blend is no exception.
The Perfect Blend is a quick read and an enjoyable romance. The small town of Middleburg welcomes Steph with open arms when she is left at the altar, allowing her to start over fresh and find new love. At first it felt a little strange that Steph could be so attracted to Kendall so quickly after being dumped by her fiancé, but as the story continued and the chemistry between them developed, it felt more natural and real. The story has an added twist when Steph’s ex returns hoping to win her back. All this drama felt very natural and real. It never felt like too much and the tension level was minimal. Trish did a very good job with this book and I am looking forward to more from The Teashop Series. It’s light, and cozy, and charming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect Christmas gift

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Perfect Blend is the perfect read: it's fun, with a goodly dash of humor; it's romantic, with two handsome men vying for Steph; it's got some interesting twists, with an old girlfriend, parents who don't know when to let go, and a few other odd characters. And characters is where Trish Perry shows her artistry, she's a master at them and offers so much more than just romance in her books. Novel Journey and I give The Perfect Blend a perfect 5 stars. A delightful must read and a perfect Christmas gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
rosalie r
Location:tenn
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading "The Perfect Blend"...........Wow! It was typically Trish Perry quality.....I could not put it down. It was ingratiating to see Steph try for acceptance and not know that was what she wanted from everyone. How she bloomed with the help of God. Such a sweet and lovely lesson for all of us. Way to go, Trish. Another winner. Right up there with "The Guy I'm Not Dating."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Reading Room Reviews
Location:Batavia, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Perfect Blend" is a delightful story that perfectly blends romance and humor. The small town setting and tea shop add interest to the charming story. I enjoyed seeing how teh heroine worked through the challenges of starting over in a new place.I've enjoyed all of Perry's books and I will look forward to the next in this series. I highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SO SWEET!

Date:October 11, 2010
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is such a sweet, heart-warming read! And I loved the witty humor, too! That was a pleasant surprise. However, just because it is sweet doesn’t mean it is fluff. I loved the messages woven into the story about acceptance, relationships, and boundaries. It was all so well done! I can’t wait for the next book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful read.

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time reading a Trisha Perry. Great start, each page had something to offer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Perfect Blend of Laughs and Lessons

Date:October 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story started off grabbing my attention. From the beginning I felt for Steph and what she was going through, not from experience, but I felt empathy for her. Each character, the good, the quirky, and the annoying, added to the story and Steph’s journey. The best part of this story is watching Steph grow as a person and finding her identity. Though, I think in many ways Millie was my favorite character. She exemplifies how we as Christians should act toward those we are hurting. I loved how she stepped out and reached out to Steph. Sadly Steph’s story isn’t an uncommon one. Working in at a college I see many students finding themselves in Steph’s shoes and wondering what to do next. This story was so entertaining and made me laugh out loud at times. But it also touched me deeply and reminded me of the important truth, God loves me for who I am.
If you are looking for a light read that will entertain you and encourage you, definitely read this book.
To learn more about Trish check out her website at www.trishperry.com (She has lots of book give aways and great reviews!!)
I want to thank Harvest House for the opportunity to review this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Perfect Blend is really...THE PERFECT BLEND!

Date:October 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THE PERFECT BLEND, is really…the perfect blend! The perfect blend of romance with a sometimes clumsy, funny, endearing heroine and a hunky, suave hero that just takes my breath away. The perfect blend of humor and a story that delivers a message worth the weight of the scones from Miss Milly’s kitchen.
This book is full of quirky, lovable, laughable characters that will warm the heart of the reader. I don’t know if I would call this romantic comedy, because it is more than just light hearted moments, but also filled with underlying messages and themes for the reader to take away and enjoy as they worked in the character’s lives.
There were some pretty funny moments though, like my favorite when Kendell swaps shirts in front of Steph. You will have to read it to know why I find this so deliciously funny. Or the moment in the bathroom with the air freshener. Priceless moments that still make me chuckle to think about.
The romance made me sigh, the hero made me swoon and the heroine is strong and determined, but needs to learn her share of lessons. From cover to cover I enjoyed this book and hope I get the chance to check out book two! I will be eagerly awaiting its arrival.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through FIRST for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT Book-You won't Want to MIss It

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Epperson
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was sent to me from Harvest House Publishers for my Review
Steph Vandergrift is in need of a job. She left everything behind to elope with Middleburg attorney Rick Manfred, never imagining he would stand her up at the altar. Now, hoping just to get by until she can decide what to do next, Steph thinks she’s found the perfect position at the local tea shop.
Kendall James, one of the kindest and most eligible bachelors in the area, meets Steph and proceeds to pursue her. But by the time Steph feels able to consider dating again, her runaway fiancé returns and tries to win her back. Steph is wary, but she and Rick always seemed to blend so well. Are they truly meant to be together, or does God have something else in mind?
This is the first time I have ever read any of Trish Perry’s books and this definitely will not be my last. This story is such a wonderful story. My heart just went out to Steph Vandergrift at the first, when she is jilted by her fiancé at the first of the book. But, as the story goes on, you can’t help but praise Steph for learning to go on with her life. Then, she meets someone else and life is not the same for her. I think you will love this book as much as I have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle V
The Perfect Blend by Trish Perry is the sweetest story! It made me want to jump in my car and go find this wonderful place! I loved this whole little small town and the characters and relationships. It was wonderful to be able to slow down the pace for a change! I really loved the main character, Steph. I laughed out loud at times but only because I could totally relate and could totally see myself doing the same thing! What a great character! I very highly recommend this book to anyone. It's very well written and has characters that will steal your heart from the very start. It's warm and funny and romantic and an all around great read! I would love to read more about this wonderful place and these great characters!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #1: The Perfect Blend
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
DMayne
After burning bridges back home and being jilted by her fiance, Steph Vandergrift is stuck having to make the most of her situation. In walks Kendall James, a man who can make any woman forget her problems. With a cozy tea shop setting and a cast of characters who are certain to warm the hearts of readers, I couldn't help but smile all the way through the story. Trish Perrys book The Perfect Blend is exactly what it claims to bethe perfect blend of a descriptive setting and delightful characters that come to life from the very first scene. Trish has quickly become one of my favorite contemporary Christian fiction authors. Im happy to know that The Perfect Blend is the first of the Tea Shop series because it means more enjoyable stories to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>