Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Tea for Two

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Harvest House Publishers Tea for Two

Counselor Tina Milano has been visiting Milly's Tea Shop regularly for the past several months. She has many friends but no steady man in her life. Zack Cooper is a local farmer who provides Milly with fresh fruit and vegetables. As a single parent, Zach is doing his best to raise his teenage son and daughter on his own.

When the kids get in minor scrapes with the law, Milly gently encourages Zack and Tina to work together to draw the teens back before their rebellious natures land them in even hotter water. At first Tina sees the relationship in only a professional capacity, but soon her friends notice the luscious scent of romance in the air and decide to help things along.

Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tea for Two
Review 1 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable romance. Tender story.

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tea for Two was the sweetest romance! I enjoyed it a lot and read it quickly. The plot was endearing and the author managed to make something painful like abandonment, suicide, divorce, etc. into a story with healing potential for people who are dealing with those issues. I loved that about this story. I've done a lot of counseling in my career and the way the story was set up worked very well because it was ethcial and believable. It was cute, actually.
The hero was awesome and dreamy, but also very much a "real" guy who happened to be a single dad dealing with typical teen problems. The author handled this very well and did a great job at showing how communication is so important as well as talking about loss rather than pretending everything is fine. I found the story very inspiring. I adored the heroine, too.
Somehow the author snagged my heart with this novel and kept me reading to the end. She has a way with words and with tenderness in stories. Rather than feeling disappointed by the lack of physical contact between characters, I felt the tension between them was perfectly done and added to the romantic tension in the story. I loved that it was more tender and emotional. It just fit the plot and the characters. Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Trish Perry does it again for me

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandie Bricker
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Trish Perry's books. She has a lighthearted style of storytelling that makes a reader feel like she knows the characters and is invested in their outcome. I particularly liked this book because of the sparks between the main characters, and because I really do love the setting. I enjoy the mix of humor and heart in all of Perry's books, but this one really stood out for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Yay for a Local Foods Novel!

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tina Milano is a counselor who facilitates some group meetings at Milly's tea shop. One rainy day she nearly runs straight into Zack Cooper as he delivers fresh produce to the shop. She thinks he's kind of cute, and Zack says the same about Tina to Milly. Which gives Milly an idea.
Zack's wife left about four years ago, leaving him with two kids heading into their teen years. He's been losing his parenting grip and has no clue how to get back a relationship with his kids. Milly asks Tina if she ever takes on pro bono cases-and if she would help out this friend of hers. Tina agrees, and then finds out it's the hunky produce guy.
His kids walk in on Tina and Zack's very first meeting at the tea shop and immediately assume Dad has a girlfriend, and it's about time, and when was he going to tell them? Tina and Zack stammer a bit but let it go, both assuming this will give Tina more opportunities to find out what makes Dylan and Sherry tick.
As you can guess, they fall for each other and things get complicated and then resolved. This type of romance novel isn't in what is new, plot-wise, because we know how it will end. It's in the characters and the setting.
Zack Cooper is a farmer who sells his fruit and vegetables locally through a farmers' market, you-pick days, and delivering boxes to various restaurants, bed-and-breakfasts, and (of course) the tea shop. This real food bit is my `thing.' This novel isn't about farming or local foods or healthy eating. It's about "the delight of second chances, warm friendship, and unexpected romantic encounters." In this case, the farm was a backdrop to the story, not an integral part of the plot.
I'm more-than-average sensitive about how farmers are portrayed, and I wasn't smitten with Zack at the beginning. He seemed stereotypical-a bit bumbling and clumsy, dropping food on his clothes-that sort of thing. He wasn't presented (to my eye) as somebody to fall in love with, as a HERO. And yes, as a farmer and local food advocate, I resented that a little! Of course, his kids think he's a moron, but it would be hard to find teenagers, especially troubled ones, who didn't think their father was out of touch. Thankfully his mannerisms seemed necessary to the plot and lessened as the story went on, and I enjoyed reading their tale.
Tea for Two is the second book in Tea with Millicent, a series of stand-alone novels by Trish Perry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sherri Shrimplin
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book,I loved it. The story was great and inspiring. The Tea Shop came to life for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fun and entertaining

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Trish has such a fun, laid back style of writing, she does have an entire Beach Series. This series follows along with that style but in a new setting and the common denominator between book 1 and book 2 is Milly and her tea shop. In Tea For Two Milly introduces one of her favorite delivery men to one of her favorite customers in an effort to help the single dad who is having a hard time with his two teenagers. So Milly suggests giving her customer, a counselor, a call to see if she would offer some pro bono advice. They inadvertently lead the kids to believe they are seeing each other and then they don't know how to get out of it... and so the fun ensues. This is a great book to take to the beach this summer, even though its not about the beach. So check out this series by Trish Perry for a fun, relaxing read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sometimes protecting your heart…..could break it.

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane A Brown
Location:Duncan, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life, after losing a spouse to death or divorce, can leave an unrealized impact. Often a fierce determination to “go it alone” surfaces and the wall of self protection is raised. This is the case for Zak Cooper, a farmer with two teenagers to raise. He seeks advice from counselor Tina Milano who he meets through Milly, a mutual friend.
Trish does an excellent job of bringing these two in contact with nicely flowing short chapters. Realistic action, in the small community, interlinks the unexpected. Great characters, with many facets, enjoy the thrill of achieving the “impossible” and beating the odds.
Tea for Two will renew your hope, open your heart, and lift your spirit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Trish Perry has done it again!

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just when I think that Trish Perry has written the perfect book, that she cannot top herself, she brings out another book in the Tea with Millicent series. I love Milly, I feel like she is every sweet older lady you will ever meet all wrapped up in one, and topped off with a darling British accent. This is how I personally picture her.
Tea for Two is a wonderful story of a single father struggling to raise teenagers who are feeling a bit independent and a bit rebellious. He realizes after a trip to the police station to pick up his son, and a scare with his daughter lying about where she was spending the night, that he needs help. Even professional help, and that is where Milly steps in. One of her regular customers is a counselor and she is sure that she can help Zack, and not only that Milly is sure that Zack could use some of this counselor's attention also.
A fast paced story of how two people highly attracted to one another interact in a professional, or a trying to keep it all professional setting. I laughed at many spots in this story, because I could just picture this story and the antics that Zack went through to keep his kids from knowing that they were being counseled, when the whole time the kids were wanting their dad counseled.
Trish does not disappoint, you will love this wonderful story! And oh my the recipes at the back look delicious, Milly and her baking makes you hungry! 243 pages US $9.99 5 stars
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

From a Perfect Blend to Tea for Two

Date:May 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review: Trish Perry takes us one again back to Middleburg, Virginia and Milly’s Tea Shop. In this story we meet Tina Milano, a widowed therapist who brings her support group to Milly’s Tea Shop. Not only does this provide a safe and comfortable environment for her patients but she meets the handsome farmer and single parent, Zack Cooper. There is an immediate attraction that both parties quickly dismiss. But Zack is struggling with his teenage kids and Milly knows just the person to help.
What I liked: Once again, Trish Perry gives readers a delightful story within the backdrop of Millicent’s tea shop. I love Tina! She is spunky and self-confident, yet she has a vulnerable side that makes her real and appealing. Zack is a struggling dad with two teenagers that are being very typical “push the limits” teenagers. Zack like many men who find themselves in this situation over reacts to situation and is under involved where his kids need him most. There is also a “bad guy” of sorts that you just want to kick. You’ll cheer and laugh at Tina’s altercation with him.
I also liked the kids, not only Dylan and Sherry, but the youth group kids as well. The youth group kids displayed what I think all youth group kids should, accepting and a welcoming attitudes toward new kids.
What I didn’t like: No Steph Vandergrift from book one, The Perfect Blend. I love it when authors bring in previous characters from other stories even it is just a brief “cameo.” Of course, this also means if you haven’t read book one you won’t be lost. Although, part of a series, the author makes them independent of one another. If you have read The Perfect Blend you’ll enjoy seeing Milly’s newest creations.
I would like to thank Harvest House Publishers for the opportunity to review this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book "Had me at the first page!"

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
BarbaraT
Location:Pasadena, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cleverly written novel by Trish Perry, “Had me at the first page!” What a treat! No pun intended, but the yummy recipes from Millicent's Tea Shop, are provided at the end of this refreshing novel. “Tea for Two” has many, “mouth dropping, ah ha moments.“ This book although fictional, has a storyline that is real and raw about the issues of raising children in today’s society. It takes home the revelation that with a little faith and hope from friends, all things are possible. With characters like Bucky Reynolds and Stacy, we are reminded that patience and tolerance can be challenging! Give yourself a treat, and read this entertaining, uplifting, romantic novel. And when you are finished, try some of the delicious recipes in the back. They are yummy!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Tea Treat

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
SallyChambers
Location:FLORIDA
Gender:female
Teens in trouble and it could get worse. What’s a devoted single dad supposed to do? Delightful tea shop proprietor, Milly, has more than a twinkle in her eye and tea in her pot when she makes a subtle suggestion to handsome Zack Cooper. Would he consider approaching counselor, Tina Milano, for some help?
Tina’s been single for years and has no plans for any change in her status when she takes on this new challenge. She is a professional, but with this endearing family and its fascinating ups and downs, she’s learning it isn’t easy to remain personally uninvolved. Will she truly be able to make a difference in the lives of the Cooper family?
What a tightrope Tina walks when she forms a delicate alliance with Zack to counsel his children. Faith, skill, humor, and compassion work well, but things get interesting with the attentions of old and new suitors and the advice of well-meaning friends--even clients. Tina finds she has her hands full and her heart changing.
Delectable read with some clever, unexpected twists and surprises along the way. I thoroughly enjoyed Tea for Two, the second novel in Trish Perry’s delightful Tea with Millicent series. Her novels make me want to curl up, take my time, and relish them from beginning to end. Trish’s characters have real depth, and the town of Middleburg simply rolls out its sidewalks for you with shops, offices, farms, and endearing residents. High recommendation from me, with five stars for Trish’s new novel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Bland; predictable

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jane Anne
Location:Greensboro, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Characters were believable - highlighting our good and bad qualities; everyday challenges worked through trying to seek God's direction; decent writing. But you figured out the plot at the beginning of the book it was so predictable and overall it was just bland reading. Made me wonder why I'd bothered to read all the way through.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice place to visit

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joanne Myska
Location:CONNECTICUT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice folks, good storyline and put together well
I'll return again and again
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A nice time out

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tea for Two by Trish Perry
Book two of the Perfect Blend series doesn’t disappoint. I want to wander into Millicent’s tea shop. That appears to be the place where the magic starts for Perry’s characters. The tea shop is a character on it’s on, making you desperately want to hit the back of the book and hit the kitchen. The recipes sound amazing and if I weren’t allergic to gluten I’d be trying out a few of these. I may still try with some gluten free flour. The one I really want to try would be impossible, but it sounds amazing. Malted Chocolate Mousse Cake. Dreaming….. okay I’m back. No, malt for me I’m afraid.
So you want to know about the story?
Interesting take this time, Perry writes about characters who are divorced. I’m glad to see the CBA (Christian Booksellers Association) freeing writers up to write about divorced characters: it’s realistic of our world.
I am not divorced but I have friends who are and reading Tea for Two had me smiling several times as I recalled those friends frustrations of looking for MR. or Mrs. Right in the new dating world.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tea for Two
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Place to Visit

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Millicent's Tea Shop becomes the focal setting of this Christian fiction romance novel. It seems to do a thriving business, with the ever-friendly proprietor, Milly. Although I did not read the first novel in this series, I had no problem feeling right at home.
Characters are nicely fleshed out. Tina, a local counselor, presides over her weekly group, allowing everyone to share their issues. She's so adapt that Milly suggests Tina as a solution for Zack to help him guide his headstrong, motherless teens. The plot becomes complex when Zack's teens "catch" Tina and Zack together and quickly jump to the conclusion that they're a couple.
Tina's gentle advice is good for all readers; I wish we all could have a Tina on hand to talk over our problems. Chapter twelve where Anthony and Tina have a date should be must reading for every guy before he dates!
Discussion questions are included, along with five yummy sounding recipes. This would make a fun book club read!
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Harvest House Publishers for my copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.