Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2

Harvest House Publishers Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2

1893 A man who goes only by the name of Jones isn't looking for trouble when he happens across Miss Trinity Franklin at the riverside. He is simply on his way to North Dakota to seek the advice of Tom Curtis, a former CN&W Railroad land purchaser. But when Jones spots a lady who is about to become the victim of a marauding band of thugs, he quickly follows his instincts. A handy barrel and a nearby river seem the perfect getaway solution how was he to know she couldn't swim?

Thus begins an adventure beyond what either could have anticipated. After Jones again rescues Trinity this time from the river they find their destination is the same: a small town in North Dakota. A seemingly coincidental beginning comes to a delightful and charming ending when orchestrated by the One who can put the pieces of any lost and broken life together.

Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Review 1 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Book summary not quite it

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aarika
Location:Calgary, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The summary that is on the back of the book takes place in the first chapter of the book. I didn't even understand until later, why the lady was even by the river and where on earth the barrel came from. The river and barrel thing have next to nothing to do with the plot of the book aside from it allows the hero and heroine to meet. Entertaining book but nothing remarkable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
This review is fromUnder the Summer Sky - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just Keeps Getting Better

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even better than the first in the series, Under the Summer Sky continues to be focused in the little North Dakota town of Dwadlo, newly rebuilt after being destroyed by a train derailment. Two newcomers to the town add to the array of unique and unusual characters. There is Trinity, all alone in the world except for 93 year old great aunt Pauline, eccentric and showing her age; and Jones, railroad man, also a loner. Both have suffered much in the past and carry wounds that only their growing love for each other and their reliance on God can overcome. But it is by no means all deep and meaningful - humorous antics abound. An all around good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You'll laugh at & fall in love with characters

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Under the Summer Sky by Lori Copeland is the second book in The Dakota Diaries series. The story is set in 1893 in South Dakota. Trinity Franklin had come home to South Dakota to take care of family affairs after her brother passed away. She is the only surviving member of her family. Jones is a man not looking for trouble bur finding it everywhere. The book starts out with Jones throwing Trinity into a barrel and throwing her over the rapids. Unknown to Trinity, Jones was saving her life. When Trinity returned home she found her house trashed and her money gone. Her brother, Rob, had squandered the family money away and she was left with nothing. Trinity and Jones run into one fiasco after another.
This story will make you laugh at and fall in love with the characters. It is a romantic tale. I have not read the first book in the series and that did not take away from this story. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to historical fiction fans as well as fans of romance. I look forward to reading more books by Lori Copeland. (reviewed by C.Ingram)
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy of Under the Summer Sky was given to us by Harvest House Publishing on behalf of the author in exchange for an honest review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic story!

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This was the perfect weekend read! The first line in the book grabbed my attention and had me reading through the night. Whether its good or bad this is one of those stories where there is seriously always something happening. It was great!
Author Lori Copeland did a marvelous job telling this story so that the reader did not have to read book one first. However, after reading book two I aim to get book one and read of another match made in Dwadlo, North Dakota. Anyhow, you will have no problem if you read this book only.
What I took away from the story was that no matter what our circumstances look like we can always trust that God is working in the midst of it all. When there seems no way, God makes a way. When all hope is lost, He restores us and opens the door. I love knowing that God is in control!
I highly recommend this book. There is no way you could be disappointed during any part of it. Its fun, full of excitement, has lovable characters, and a match only The Author and Perfecter of our lives could make.
****Thank you Harvest House Publishers for the free book in exchange for my honest review.****
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fun read!
Under the Summer Sky is the long awaited, stand-alone sequel to Lori Copeland's Love Blooms in Winter. I loved revisiting Tom, Mae and Miss Pauline, but also meeting Jones and Trinity. This book makes an excellent sequel and stands up wonderfully by itself as well.
Full of humorous situations and plenty of action, and great characters that bring the lovely Dakotas to life. The characters in this series are some of the most fun and entertaining of any of Ms. Copeland's books.
Overall, Under the Summer Sky is a wild ride full of laughs, and plenty of action! I loved how the characters interacted and played off of each other, keeping me smiling and fully engaged the entire time! A book that that I enjoyed 110%!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Crazy, good!!!

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is crazy, shocking, hilarious, and really good! It is one of those books that I love the most, because it grabs your attention with the first few sentences and drags you into the story. So many things happen right when you aren't expecting them, and the back cover only skims the top. Under the Summer Sky is a great book when your in the mood to laugh. Filled with hilarious circumstances, it kept me on my toes wondering what could possibly happen to these two next! I love the characters and the way Lori writes. While some of it is just SO crazy; everything was really enjoyable! The only problem I have with the book is actually the cover. (Some of you that may have read my other reviews will already now that I can be picky on this subject, but...) I don't understand why they didn't make the female actress a red head like the character in the book, but I digress. This is a wonderful, lighthearted, adventure! A really cute book!
My songs are: "From this Moment On" by Shania Twain, "Shall We Gather At The River? (Album Version)" by Randy Travis, and "To God Be The Glory" by Studio Musicians
Exodus 14:14
~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Introduction!

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trinity Rose Franklin has returned to Piedmont, South Dakota following the death of her brother, her last family member. At just nineteen, she is alone in the world, or so she thinks. Her aim in returning is to sell the family farm to the railroad so she can return to her life in Sioux Falls, but a bunch of ruffians, a trip down a waterfall in a barrel, a plague of grasshoppers and a crusty old-timer change her plans.
Penniless, she heads to Dwaldo, South Dakota, where her aged great-aunt might still be living. She finds a friend in Meg, in the town store, who knows her great-aunt, who is still alive at 94, but a bit under the weather some days. Meg also suggests somewhere for Trinity to stay, and introduces her to Jones—coincidentally, the man who sent her over the waterfall in that barrel.
Under the Summer Sky had a great opening hook with the initial meeting of Trinity and Jones, but the next few chapters felt a bit convoluted as the author manipulated her characters. However, everyone was in Dwadlo and we were introduced to the key characters, the plot settled into itself, revealing a well-crafted plot, well-established and likeable characters, and two rather sweet romances.
This is the second book in the Dakota Diaries series, the sequel to Love Blooms in Winter. The reader was provided with sufficient back story to understand the plot without being bogged down in unnecessary detail or retelling of what came in the first book. At the same time, the story reads well as a stand-alone story. Enjoyable.
Thanks to Harvest House and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Under The Summer Sky

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What kind of man stuffs a lady in a barrel and sends her over the rapids? A man who is trying to keep a lady out of danger that's who! That's just how this book starts out, with Trinity Franklin being stuffed into a barrel by a strange man, she has no clue why, and he has no clue that she can't swim, and to add insult to injury she doesn't realize that she has lost her skirt in the water and has on only her bloomers! The man who does this to Trinity goes by the name Jones, and it turns out that they are headed the same direction. What sort of relationship will they build as they decide to travel together?
Ms. Copeland certainly knew how to capture my attention with this one. I found myself laughing out loud on more than a few occasions, but also found myself enjoying the slow building relationship between the two main characters, and while I felt like I knew what would happen between the pair, I really enjoyed watching them get there. Several secondary characters not only keep the story interesting but keep it moving along quite briskly as well. As a historical inspirational fiction fan, that also enjoys a nice romance I found this book quite enjoyable. While it is the second book in The Dakota Diaries series it can be read as a stand alone work, although if your a fan of fun historical fiction your probably going to enjoy the first book as well, I know I did.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Under The Summer Sky

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A reunion of of Dear Friends that we met in Lori Copeland's first book in this Dakota Series, Love Blooms In Winter. There are many chuckles also in this book. The enchanting Ms Lil is back with her earthy pig smell, and back firing motorcycle!
This is Trinity and Jones story, and their meeting is very memorable. He stuffs Trinity in a barrel that ends up going over a water fall?? She doesn't have really good feelings about him.
We end up back in Dwadlo ND, and reuniting with Mae and Tom, and also 94 year old Pauline. Without giving a lot away we have a love story to cherish with Pauline and Benjamin....so sweet.
We see how the town is progressing since the runaway train took out most of it. Tom is helping to build some housing for the elderly, very progressive. Of course the railroad is footing most of the rebuilding. We have a nice visit also with some of the other members of this town.
Be ready for some fun again with Lil, and watch a bit of her transformation? Well, maybe not! This is a fun and enjoyable read! Enjoy!
I received this book from First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book two in this series

Date:December 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the second book in the Dakota Diaries Series but you do not have to read the others to enjoy this one. You will be hooked on this book from the first pages. There is action as well as romance. I liked how the main couple in the story actually builds a relationship instead of just all the sudden seeing each other and being in love.
The two main characters are Trinity and Jones. Their first meeting sets off a course of events that will keep you interested in their story. I liked how during one of their travels they sit and talk about their pasts and find out how similar they are. Their connection can be felt and that makes for a very good story.
I gave this book 5/5 star. I thought the characters developed well and were interesting. I thought the story itself was interesting enough to be enjoyable. If you are looking for a book to escape into this one will work just fine!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A GREAT SERIES!!!!

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
making magick
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fell in love with the dakota diaries Series. Such neat characters in the books. They are funny, and they can make you cry as well. This is a great series tied up together. I wish there were more than just the 2 books?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Under the Summer Sky, Dakota Diaries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Under the Summer Sky

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description:
This romantic new book from bestselling author Lori Copeland portrays God's miraculous provision even when none seems possible.
1893--A man who goes only by the name of "Jones" isn't looking for trouble when he happens across Miss Trinity Franklin at the riverside. He is simply on his way to North Dakota to seek the advice of Tom Curtis, a former CN&W Railroad land purchaser. But when Jones spots a lady who is about to become the victim of a marauding band of thugs, he quickly follows his instincts. A handy barrel and a nearby river seem the perfect getaway solution...how was he to know she couldn't swim?
Thus begins an adventure beyond what either could have anticipated. After Jones again rescues Trinity--this time from the river--they find their destination is the same: a small town in North Dakota. A seemingly coincidental beginning comes to a delightful and charming ending when orchestrated by the One who can put the pieces of any lost and broken life together.
My Thoughts:
Ah! Can we say super cute?
I LOVE Lori Copeland and The Dakota Diaries!
They are funny, real-life, down-to-earth stories full love, faith and family.
Reading Under the Summer Sky was a sweet blessing. The characters are well-developed and creative. From a pig farming lady with an elephant to the serious decisions of how to care for the elderly, Lori Copeland wove a story that will have you laughing and crying as you read more about these wonderful characters in this unique little town.
I love how each story stands alone, yet you can read them together to and enjoy the characters for more than just one book.
I have to also add that the covers of these books are just beautiful. It is fun to start a story with the characters faces in your mind!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.