Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers The Mayan Apocalypse

Harvest House Publishers The Mayan Apocalypse

When oil executive Andrew Morgan stumbles upon ancient Mayan predictions that the world will end in 2012, he investigates the validity of the claims---and dismisses Christian journalist Lisa Campbell's biblical picture of the last days. But natural disasters and wars rapidly escalate in 2011. Is there no escape from the holocaust to come? 300 pages, softcover from Harvest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Mayan Apocalypse
Review 1 for The Mayan Apocalypse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quick Read

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patricia James
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a quck, light read. I like that it takes place over a number of years and the ending might take you by surprise. The questions to think about at the end were very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Mayan Apocalypse
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
JMyers
Location:Broken Arrow, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a disclaimer, I am a fan of Alton Gansky and managed to snag an Advance Reader's Copy of the book, but that did not in any way prejudice my reading of it. I've heard mention of the Mayan prediction of the world ending in 2012, but didn't actually know anything about it. This book presented the "science" behind it in a very educational, yet entertaining way. I liked the characters and that they were both committed to sticking to their beliefs, even though one of them clearly had to be wrong. At first, the timeline of the book had me a bit confused, and because it jumps forward several times, there was obviously much of the story left to the imagination, but I appreciated that he/they didn't really dumb-down the ending for us. I know what I believe and why, but I think, after reading this, that 12-21-12 will be an interesting day, a bit akin to Y2K. There are reading group questions included in the back, so this would make a great book for your book club. Anyway, if you've read Gansky before, I don't believe you'll be disappointed, and if you haven't this is a great book to start.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Mayan Apocalypse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great Read

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shirley Bartlett
Location:Reddsport, Or.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
so much is being said about 2012 rather you believe or just question makes you think as do the Left Behind series which i also have these books are written to make you think what if and to help you find just where your spiritual life is at the time. I enjoyed this book and would tell others to read it and make up their own minds. But the bible says onlythe father knows the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Mayan Apocalypse
This review is fromThe Mayan Apocalypse - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
rooster
Location:Quincy, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A book that helps explain the 2012 event to those who are not fimiliar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Mayan Apocalypse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ancient Mayan calendar ends with 12-21-12. Will the world come crashing to an end on that date? This suspenseful novel explores what might occur when people believe such a fate awaits. Is there any means of escape? Can humans survive the apocalypse?
Andrew Morgan, a wealthy oil executive, buys into the movement headed by self-proclaimed Mayan priest Robert Quetzal. Lisa Campbell, a Christian reporter, continues to cross paths with Andrew while pursuing the story. Since he lost his wife and teen son in a plane crash the previous winter his present life doesn’t hold much joy, but he doesn’t want it to end.
Can Lisa convince the grieving widower to embrace the faith his son had? What if the dire predictions are true? And why are people being murdered—is there some undercover plot?
Mark Hitchcock has written numerous books on the subject of Bible prophesy and is the author of 2012, the Bible, and the End of the World. His knowledge joins forces with Alton Gansky’s award-winning fiction skills to create an intriguing novel. The book also includes questions for discussion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Mayan Apocalypse
This review is fromThe Mayan Apocalypse - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Terry Medlock
Location:Olympia, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't finished reading this yet but so far it is very good.
Love, love, love having Christian books that are such good reads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Mayan Apocalypse
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting, But Lacks Cohesion

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With the year 2012 approaching the hype surrounding the Mayan prophecies surrounding the end of the world in December of that year is escalating. Despite being wealthy and intelligent, oil executive Andrew Morgan is drawn deeply into these prophecies of destruction following the loss of his family. Lisa Campbell on the other hand is a Christian reporter who remains skeptical of the theories at best.
Lisa’s work to uncover the motivation of those funding the 2012 movement leads her into ongoing contact with Morgan, and despite their conflicting beliefs they are drawn into a caring relationship with one another.
Author Mark Hitchcock is the author of the non-fiction title 2012, the Bible, and the End of the World, and his extensive research into the subject forms the backbone of The Mayan Apocalypse. That functional backbone is however delivered in large chunks of background exposition rather than being smoothly spread out throughout the course of the novel. The 2012 details and ‘evidence’ are then rather difficult to remember, being delivered mainly in a single chunk in the novel’s early portions.
A sixteen-month gap also results in a loss of cohesion of the storyline around 2/3 of the way through. While this can be handled effectively it seems like major questions that were driving the story up until that point were just left behind and as a reader I had to wait for some time to find out what had happened regarding certain situations. . Some final events in the story also seemed somewhat ‘tagged on’ rather than having inherent meaning in and of themselves.
Still, I found the romance between Lisa and Andrew to be sweet and appropriate. The first portions of the story were also exciting and filled with a certain amount of suspense. Finally, The Mayan Apocalypse left me interested in reading Hithcock’s non-fiction work regarding the subject because it’s apparent that he’s done his research on this potentially confusing topic, the novel just doesn’t quite manage to pull off the degree of flow I’d normally expect in a work of fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Mayan Apocalypse
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspenseful and Realistic

Date:November 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Avalon2000
Location:Northern Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark Hitchcock and Alton Gansky took a subject that is often presented with sensationalism and somehow brought a strong sense of realism to it. From the beginning, it's easy to see how a man like Andrew Morgan could be duped by a con artist like Quetzal, and it's not for lack of intelligence. Lisa, the Christian reporter is a breath of fresh air in Andrew's life, even though he's conflicted about her boldness and her worldviews.
As Andrew gets drawn deeper and deeper into the world of Quetzal, Lisa works diligently behind the scenes to unravel the mystery behind a murder and an attack on one of her coworkers. I don't normally go for romance stories but the romantic element in this story is godly and balanced, it fits perfectly, and it illustrates the story's point that love is more important than survival.
I wouldn't be the least bit surprised if something like this really does come to pass. Yet it wasn't predictable. The twists and turns in this book had me gasping out loud, even crying and cheering at times. Everything comes full circle seamlessly at the end and the moral of this story will break even the hardest heart. Truly a spiritually fulfilling read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Mayan Apocalypse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hooked From the Start

Date:November 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
DBrooke
Location:Seattle Area
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hooked from the beginning by this tale of Andrew Morgan, a wealthy oil executive who is either a major league sucker or a visionary. I'm a patient reader and sometimes will spend too much time "nibbling" on the bait presented by the author before I make the decision to bite or bolt. But I was caught up in this book from page uno and was not disappointed.
Morgan's relationship with Lisa, a Christian reporter, was both captivating and believable. The characters, good and bad, that surround them make for an exciting tale and fast paced read.
The Mayan Apocalypse was also a great introduction to all the hype and mystery surrounding 2012. I love when an author makes learning fun by overlaying a great story over well researched history.
If you're looking for a fairytale ending where everything is tied up in a neat little bow you'll be surprised. But Hitchcock and Gansky provide a great ending that makes you wonder--what will really happen just over two years from now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Mayan Apocalypse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another page turner by Alton Gansky

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
TracyS
Location:Southern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never been disappointed to read a book authored or co-authored by Alton Gansky. Once again I was pulled into the book from the first chapter and turning pages to see what happens next. I so admire the Christian values of Lisa, a writer for a Christian publication, one of the main characters in this book.
I was not aware or the Mayan Apocalypse but I sure know what it is now. I think I'll hang on to this book and read it again in December 2012.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Mayan Apocalypse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful research

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty Maurer
Location:Montgomery, A:
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well researched and written, good character development, definitely holds your interest. Enjoyed it tremendously.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Mayan Apocalypse
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

End of the World Thrill Ride...

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I wasn't sure how I would like this book based on the subject matter, but I was very curious so I had to give it a try. Turns out, I like it. There is a great storyline that runs the book with murder, mystery and intrigue as we follow Andrew Morgan, a man who has everything but has lost what is most important to him and gets pulled into the whole world ending in 2012 by a man claiming to be the last Mayan priest. Lisa Campbell is a reporter for an on-line Christian newspaper that is investigating this same priest. Is it a hoax or is it real? That is the main question through the book and it definitely makes you think. I won't spoil anything, but I do have to wonder how sales of this book will be come January of 2013?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Mayan Apocalypse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ginny Brant
This book has it all--romance, mystery, a slowly unraveling plot, sustained suspence, murder, faith, curiosity about the end of times and the human search for significance. Once I started, it was hard to put down. This is the first book I've read by Hitchcock and/or Gansky. If others are like this one, give me more!In light of recent news in Los Angeles (cult members missing who are waiting for the end of the world), and natural disasters all around us, this fiction book is very realistic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.