Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3

Howard Books Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3

Tragedy has left Doug DeVore with five children to raise alone. When Mickey Valdez, the children's daycare teacher, lends a helping hand, sparks flicker between them and quickly ignite. But romance and real life are two very different things, and too late, Doug and Mickey realize they've said "I do" to something neither of them bargained for. Now they must find a way to untangle their knot of hasty choices without breaking the hearts of five precious children-or their own-in the process.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3
Review 1 for Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Brown
I hesitated after reading all the other comments, but this story line was just too off-kilter for me. Poor judgment and rushing into relationships marred every aspect of the story, including the ending, which seemed far too fast paced and thrown together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
For one last time we get to return to Clayburn. This time we are introduced to Doug, a grieving widower with 5 children who recently lost his wife and daughter, and Mickey, a single schoolteacher who yearns for love. The story involves seeing how Doug struggles to get through every day life by himself and realizing that he needs someone else in his life. This someone ends of being Mickey, who takes care of his children at her daycare. Their relationship happens a break neck speed and the two find themselves engaged, married and bickering within months. I did like the chemistry between the two although I thought their relationship happened way too fast. They would have benefited from a longer dating relationship plus outside help from friends and family probably would have strengthened their relationship.While I did enjoy this book, there were several issues I had problems with. The main reason is pretty much Doug and his actions. I really felt bad for Mickey and what she had to go through after marrying Doug. I also felt understand Kayeleigh's frustration and anger over her dad getting remarried so soon. It was totally understandable why she acted the way she did. However, there were times when she went overboard and her father didn't do anything to reprimand her. There were times when I just wanted to shake Doug and be like "What are you doing???" I felt like he was just wallowing in his grief and let emotions overtake him and he honestly didn't know what he was doing. Overall though, I enjoyed this read and am sad that the series is over. I really feel like I have gotten to know the people of Clayburn and would have liked to drive into the town and visit one day. The writing is crisp and fresh and the storyline is relevant for those in the same situation as both Doug and Mickey. I will miss returning to Clayburn but I'll be looking forward to any of the author's future books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann
Good storyline, which although it centers on Doug and Mickey and the children, it gives a glimpse into the continuing "lives" of characters from the two previous books. Great read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2009
This book 3 in the Clayburn books by Deb Raney, but what that means is there is the same cast of characters and each book focuses on a different main character. So I was not left in the dark when I started reading this one even though I hadn't read the first two. To the contrary, Deb makes it very easy to step right into the world of Clayburn. In this book we meet Doug when tragedy strikes his family. As he is trying to recover and move on with life (or what is left of it) he finds himself falling for Mickey who is the day care provider for his youngest kids. Is what they have love or convenience. This is a beautiful story of grieving, living and loving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine L. Alley-Howard
Technically the writing, style, approach, locale, and characters are beautiful, captivating, rich, and engaging. As a widow for the past 15 years, whose had 4 children: boys 14 and girls 10 at the time of their dad's death to raise alone, I have strong issues with the self-centered widower, Doug whose emotional abandonment of his children went unchecked. Even the consequences of his ego-based decisions were glossed over and within 12 easy months were all set to right to his advantage. The immature, grasping for love at all costs leading lady, Mickey had only one redeeming action - to stay in a marriage/family once she realized how counter her and Doug's actions were to God's design for this family. Husbands and wives are to focus on each other before their children; but when a parent dies, their vision must be to assist their children through their grieving process and then concern themselves with their own needs. Despite my personal issues with the themes, Deborah's work is most entertaining and raises many questions worth discussing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
I enjoyed this comfortable contemporary romance story. I read it start to finish in one day. The plot moves along smoothly, with a few bumps and bends in the predictable road to reach a satisfying conclusion. This is the third in the trilogy, but it can be read and enjoyed without the first two.It was good to return to the small town of Clayburn. I was happy to see that the Latte-dah, the coffee shop, is thriving. Written in third person narrative, the reader easily follows the thought process of each character. The characters are people I'd like to meet. I'd love to keep in touch with Mickey and share her future. Perhaps she'll appear in a future book.Discussion questions are included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2009
Don't forget to take the Kleenex box with you to your reading chair, you'll need them. The 3rd book about people from the town of Clayburn is well written, full of great character development and emotion. Doug loses his wife and 5 year old daughter to carbon monoxide, suddenly he's a widower with 5 children and one is a 12 year old girl. How do you get through the grief process and successfully navigate life as a single father with 2 jobs and 5 children. It's a romance so we all know that he finds love, but is it real love? What I liked about this story was that it didn't follow the main romance template where everything ends at the wedding and "they lived happily ever after" because we all know that doesn't happen. The story follows the characters for a year, through all their ups and downs, their growing togethers and their growing aparts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gramma Kim
Deb Raney has painted a realistic, emotionally charged, heart-tugging picture of step-family life. I devoured this story and highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Yesterday's Embers, Clayburn Novels Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robin Lee Hatcher
Yesterday's Embers took me through a roller coaster of emotions with the characters tugging at my heart throughout. I wanted so badly for things to turn out well for Doug, Mickey, and the children, but I began to wonder if it was even possible. I should have known that Deborah Raney wouldn't fail her readers -- or her characters. Yesterday's Embers is another winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.