Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy

Zondervan NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy

Zondervan's traditional reference Bible now offers the word-for-word accuracy of the updated New American Standard Bible. With its charts, maps, and popular cross-reference system, the NASB Classic Reference Bible guides readers into revealing, in-depth studies on hundreds of topics. This features: Extensive center-column referencesystem with references based on key words, phrases, and concepts allows for detailed study, 14 in-text maps and charts, large clear type, extensive updated NASB concordance, Promises from the Bible, Perspectives from the Bible, 8 pages of full color maps, 8 full color presentation pages, red letter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.523 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
23 out of 2688%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Review 1 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OUTSTANDING!

Date:July 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dflo75
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a replacement bible for my Cambridge NASB Pitt-Minion bible which just fell apart on me, (as well as the leather being sort of weak also,) and this Zondervan NASB Reference Bible in the Top Grain leather is a SUPREME replacement! Love the fact that it's in verse format and not paragraph format, as well as having center-column references, words of Christ in red, solid top-grain leather, (a little stiff, but will soften within time and usage,) Book introductions, clear readable typeface, and a smyth-sewn binding, as well as a ribbon marker. For the price, you can't ask for a better bible in a wonderful NASB translation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Bible, but could use more cover options.

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Location:Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my favorite translation and the Classic Reference is just wonderful. I do have a request. Would you please consider giving us the option of buying this in a high-quality imitation leather? There is one in the ESV that is a forest green/saddle brown that is absolutely beautiful and I would love to have that with my NASB translation. Thanks for your consideration.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
popeye
Location:texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bible, both as a translation and construction. sewn binding and nice soft genuine leather. this could easily sell for much more. outstanding deal and should last a lifetime.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good NASB- Don't Expect Premium Leather

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
DougB
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice Bible for the price. The description was accurate, regarding features, size, print, etc.
My only complaint is really due to my ignorance about leather terms. Having owned Bibles with "Premium," and "Genuine" leather bindings, I assumed this might be nice, somewhat soft leather. However, it was even harder than bonded leather offerings. After checking it out, I contacted Zondervan and they confirmed that Top Grain is indeed a very durable but stiff binding, not at all soft or flexible like their premium leather or imitation leather products. So long as you understand this, you should find no surprises here.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the bible I've been looking for!

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Always Thankful
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a leather bible, without study notes, that is not too big, not too heavy, good size print, cross-references, each verse on its own line, chapter headings, and a concordance. This bible is it! Each book even has a short summary introduction. The leather is nice and firm; not flimsy. My old bible is falling apart. I'm so happy with this one. If you want a bible without study notes, this is it!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kali
Location:Kalulushi
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks like a tough bible and very Portable. The leather is stiff though and may only become soft after years of use. Other then that, it is a good quality bible.
God bless
Kali
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a Good Value

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
TCS12
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were extremely disappointed with this product. The cover is extremely stiff and the text is difficult to read. I wish I could return it, actually.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best NASB Reference Bible out of Three

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josh L
Location:Dallas, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my third NASB reference Bible over a few week period. First, I received Foundation's NAS Updated Ultrathin Bible, Genuine Leather as a gift. While I liked the leather the best of what ended up being three different bibles, I returned that bible because there was a crease in the cover, the font was a little small and light, and the pages were too see-through.
I ordered the NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather as a replacement. The overall quality of that bible was good, but I returned it because of a strong, unpleasant odor that didn't subside after several weeks.
I returned that bible and ordered this one (Zondervan's NASB Classic Reference Bible) to replace it. At first, I wasn't sure if I'd like the verse-by-verse format (as opposed to paragraph format), but I've actually grown to like it better for church use. It's easier to find a specific verse with this format. The font is a little larger and clearer than Foundation's bible, but the red text in the NT is a lighter color red.
This bible is just a little larger than the Foundation's bible, and the print is clearer and a little larger. It's the same general size as most ultrathin/thinline bibles. The leather cover is of pretty good quality, but it's the traditional stiff, high gloss leather. (I wish some publisher would provide a softer, premium leather and other options in NASB like Crossway does with the ESV.)
Overall, it's of pretty good quality. It has a sewn binding and not much bleed-through on the pages. The cover is softening up with use. It also has brief book introductions. The price was a little higher than the other two, but still a pretty good value. Unfortunately, it's printed in China (as was the Foundation bible & the Minister's bible was printed in Korea). I'd recommend this bible over the other two NASB reference bibles I mentioned.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first Bible

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:South Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first real Bible I have ever purchased. I spent a couple of months shopping around and decided to get this Bible.
I think this Bible is well made and a great value for the price. If you decide to buy this Bible, you most likely will be very pleased with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent version of the Word of God

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill
Location:Iowa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christ's Words are in Red which makes it easier for me to locate. The type is easy to read even for older eyes. Each book begins with an outline which enables you to find a message or scripture you've been looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
LindaK
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is well made as well as the perfect size for carrying to church and studies. I definitely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality!

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vanerable
Location:Fresno, California
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bonded leather Bibles don't last, and even the quality of "genuine leather" Bibles has decreased over the last several years. This Bible has heavy real leather the way Bibles were made when I was a kid. It is "thin-line size" with book intros, cross refs, maps and concordance. I like study Bibles but they are too big to carry around. This Bible is the best of both worlds and the font is still readable for old tired eyes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stutz
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size is perfect for personal use as well as "going to church."
Print is crisp, font is very readable.
I appreciate the updates to this reliable translation.
The price makes this Bible a great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than expected

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Tennessee
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Top-Grain leather on this bible is very thick, and seems to be durable. This bible is Smyth-sewn and seems to be very well made. The print color is consistent. Would definitely recommend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent features and value

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shortstuff
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NASB is the most accurate Bible translation. This edition also has the features I want: good print size, center reference, verse numbering, capital H for deity, and red letter for Christ's words. I wear Bibles out, so this edition is my fourth NASB.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
TKO6
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a gift and they loved it. It met all his needs and then some.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the product exceeded expectations

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
William Doty926
Location:MUNFORD,TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE PRINT SIZE, THE BINDING AND THE PAPER QUALITY WERE ALL EXCELLENT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Product and Service

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
gwhawk
Location:Concord, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible I ordered is just what I wanted, and the quick service is much appreciated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good value for this Bible

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
jday0050
Location:Clarkson, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good price for a Bible that is easy to read and has the references in the middle of the page. That is what I was looking for.
The service was also quick and the shipping was reasonable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NAS Classic Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent Bible for spiritual growth.

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
VSReyes
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NASB Updated Version is an excellent translation - and provides hints whenever some words in the translation were not found in the original languages but were just supplied by the translators for better clarity.
Though there is no translation that is free from interpretation, NASB tends to be theologically neutral but it would be apparent that it is very conservative in its perspective. As NASB tries to be a word-for-word translation, one of the trade-offs this translation has is its tendency to be "wooden." Also, there could be difficulty in reading as there is no smooth flow in sentences -- something that paraphrase and "dynamic" Bibles have.
IF the goal is to have a deeper understanding of the Bible, and to delve into word studies, this translation would be one of the best - if not the best translation.
The NASB cross-references are also munificent and outnumber most of the cross-reference Bibles out there in the market. Being handy, thin enough to fit inside hand bags, it is surprising that the texts are very readable. In the long run, this comes out to be cheaper than bonded-leather Bibles as the genuine leather binding would outlast many bonded-leather Bibles.
I think Zondervan Classic Reference is of better quality than what the other publications sell - some of them I owned in the past.
ANOTHER excellent product of Zondervan, which I also highly recommend, is their NASB Study Bible - with all the features of NASB Classic plus commentaries, concordance, timelines, topical index, etc.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.