Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Saxon Publishing Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit

Saxon Publishing Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit

Phonics 1 provides students with consistent review and incremental steps needed to become fluent independent readers. Each concept is introduced slowly, using incremental steps for maximum exposure and success. This kit includes a completely scripted, spiral bound, 890 page Home Study Teacher's Manual that covers each element of every lesson; this accompanies the two tablet style student workbooks. A book of literature extensions is included to help with reading comprehension, as is a Home Study Rule Book, filled with representations of the common grammatical and phonetic rules. An alphabet, mini coloring storybooks, irregular spelling book and Teaching Tool Set is also included; the Teaching Tools Set contains review decks, kid cards, rule book, phonics CD and DVD instructional guide. All books are softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Review 1 for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Program

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
marieg
Location:Panama City, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a teacher for 20 years. Thirteen of those years were in the public school system. I'm doing homeschool now. My 4 year old is doing the first grade program. He is right on track with it and loves to read. I never learned how to code words when I was a student. I struggled with reading and got extra help in elementary school.
If you have limited phonics skills yourself, read over the lesson carefully before teaching it. The program is a little "dry" though. I use stuffed animals so children can relate coding skills with it. For instance I use "Vera Vowel" to teach short vowel sounds. Vera Vowel is a Panda bear puppet and has a hat called a breve to put on her head.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
TXcajun
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Con-- 1 Story in the literature extension is not easily available, Granddaddy's Street Songs.
Pro- Everything is laid out easy to understand and teach. The Phonics pronunciation CD is very helpful.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Saxon Phonics

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:CT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Saxon Phonics program came highly recommended from a former teacher and homeschooling mom. She was RIGHT! Saxon Phonics is excellent. We used Saxon for K and I can't believe how well my son can sound out words, knows the rules, can read small sentences, etc. So far, 1st G is repeating the letters he knows (up to Lesson 11 so far). Therefore, I am stressing how well he is writing his letters/words and can't wait for him to learn all the new information in this grade. I highly recommend this to any homeschooling family!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this phonics kit!!

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
aj44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought a different program for my 1st grader this year and it just wasn't making the cut for us. I had read some great reviews for this program so thought we'd give it a try!! We love it. My son is engaged through the whole lesson and is learning so much. I would highly recommend this to anyone. It's a great program at an awesome price. You can't beat it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eelliott
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is exactly what I was looking for. It is very detailed. It comes with everything you need.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Product

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm beyong thrilled to find this product. I have been searching for over a year for a good curriculum to teach my son who doesn't naturally get phonics. This curriculum is the best, most well written one I've seen. It teaches exceptionally well, and not on what, but why! Information I found lacking elsewhere. I had never seen it in person so I was leary. But I was ordering the Saxon Math and knew the Math was exceptional, so I took the chance with this and am beyond happy that I did.
I told my son that the first little bit would be review because he already knows it. But in order to build the foundation, we need to do it again. BUT, I also told him that I learned a lot as well, and I've been reading much longer! If you are intimated by teaching reading, this is defintiely the product for you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathi Morse
I love the step by step instructions in the teacher manual and all the materials in the Teaching Tool set needed for the course.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Angus
I have looked through all of the materials for this program and find it to be a good teaching tool for Reading. The only problem is that I don't own a VHS player or tape player anymore and will not be able to listen to the sounds or watch how the program is taught correctly. I would have given the program a 5 if a CD and DVD were included.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alese Wright
Very happy with this set. The review in each lesson helps her feel confident and it makes learning new concepts easier to retain. My daughter enjoys doing our lessons and she really loves the lessons where she gets a new reader.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Saxon Phonics is exactly what my son needed. The step by step instruction that builds on previous lessons is ideal! The continual review of concepts that is built into the curriculum is outstanding. He has learned more about phonics and word coding that even I did. He has learned lifelong lessons that will aid him not only in reading but spelling as well. I love Saxon's methods and intend to use their phonics program with the remainder of my children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Saxon Phonics 1, Home Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2003
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Clay
My daughter used this product and is now in public school (grade 2) and reads at a 4.5 reading level!! This curriculum is easy, fun, and entertaining to use and kept my daughter's attention. This program definitely put my daughter at the head of the class.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.