Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God

Baker I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God

At a time when new questions about Islam arise daily, the miraculous story of Bilquis Sheikh will help you understand and reach out to Muslims---with compassion and the gospel. A wealthy Pakistani woman, the outspoken Sheikh came to know God through a dream, turning her world upside down---and putting her life in danger. 192 pages, softcover from Baker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Review 1 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a real inspiration.

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary Lee Turner
Location:Saginaw, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was moved by the author's experiences, and the descriptions of the Holy Spirit moving in her life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product!!!!!!!!!!

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
MINI
Location:NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this book as a gift from one of my christian friend......Its such a great book.I couldn't keep it down until I finished it in 2 days.Especially its showing how our almighty God deals with someone who have no access to get BIBLE or biblical products.I have read similar story with SADHU SUNDER SIGHs as well.Amazing.Glory be to God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The work of the Spirit.

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gert
Location:Hager Hill, KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We tend to think people have to be in church to come to know God and His Son, Jesus. This book reminds us of the powerful work of His Holy Spirit and His Word, that They can work where none can hinder. For a woman not accustomed to "church" to begin to seek for the Truth lets us know God is always at work in people's hearts if they will but listen. This book shows what bravery it takes for a women to put away all she has been raised to believe and begin her search for the real Truth. In spite of her fears, she was willing to grasp that Truth, even if it meant her life.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mink
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great read! The author's description of her spiritual journey towards understanding and embracing Christ was fascinating, given that it was the Holy Spirit who initially led her, not a missionary. After reading this book, I have a better appreciation for what is at stake for a Muslim who becomes a Christian. I really enjoyed this testimony by a brave and obedient woman.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eloise Wheeler
beautiful story, Enjoyed every moment of this book, i have loaned it out to friends, It was a Blessings, to see how God worked in her life, amd the people she has reached.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hennie
This book kept me spellbound. I could hardly put it down. This woman gave up so much to follow Jesus, and it really is a remarkable story.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2010
This was a short book - it only took me an evening to read - but it was very inspiring. I already knew that Muslims who converted to Christianity were persecuted but I wasn't aware that it was actually stated in the Quaran that honour killings should be made on family members who left Islam for another religion. Bilquis was an extremely strong and faithful woman to continue living in Pakistan despite the threats that were made on her life. It made me really grateful that I live in Britain where, although the government still tries to restrict the rights of Christians, it is nowhere near as dangerous to be a Christian as it is in the middle east. It was also interesting to read about the contrast between Bilquis, who told everyone in her family that she had changed her religion, and her servant who was a "secret Christian." It made me wonder how many other "secret Christians" there are in Pakistan. It did take me a while to get into this book because of the simplistic style in which it was written, but once I'd read a few chapters I was hooked. I'm glad that I read it as it has enlightened me to the risks that Christians in the middle east have to take. The only parts I didn't like about the book were the extra chapters added to the book in the new edition, which were written by one of Bilquis's Christian friends. They really didn't seem to add anything to her story, especially not the one about the differences between Eastern and Western cultures. However, this is just a minor annoyance. Overall, this is a short and simple book about a Musim woman who takes the risk of converting to Christianity and how it changed her life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathyrn Bultsma
Really enjoyed the story of how Bilquis came to know the Lord. She is very clear about how God came to her. The book is easy to read and the epilogue is a great addition.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lesley J Nalley
The story is true and heart warming. The author held my attention. I have shared it with friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tatum
What a wonderful book!!!! I was almost a Muslim convert, when my Muslim mother in law placed this book in my car. To date, i have no idea as to whether she was trying to get a message across to me or ???? This book led me straight to Jesus. Praise the Lord!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tamara Lewis
I chose this book for our book club. Given the current political climate and issues we have been dealing with globally, I wanted to understand how the Muslim faith works and how it corresponds with Christianity. This story is very timely and I learned so much. I was also blessed by how this woman faced some serious circumstances and yet kept her faith in God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn Gibbs
Awesome book. Couldn't put it down. After reading I long to have the relationship and feelings that she experienced with the Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathy Metzger
This is a 5 star book. It's a perfect book to give away. You have to share it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
concerned
this story is absolutely a book for Christians and those who do not yet know Jesus. it is just one example of Muslim-background believers that Christ is drawing out of Islam into a personal relationship with Him. Muslims are giving testimonies all over the world that they are seeing Jesus Christ in dreams and visions, Christ will reach people any way He can, and those of other faiths are not reading the Bible in the beginning because they don't know Him, so Christ comes to them in ways to reach them, then they seek Him and are converted.the Bible teaches that in the last days people will see dreams and visions. Muslims are coming to Christ, that is awesome! let's give Jesus Christ praise and glory for His saving power!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sandy
I loved reading this journey of faith. The only problem that I have with the story is that she gives the reader the impression that the Holy Spirit is not a constant presence in our lives or that there are things that we do that causes the Lord to pull away from us. I believe that there are times when we pull away from God, but He never pulls away from us. He may allow us to wallow in our sin, but he is Always the father who is waiting, watching, and running toward us when we return to Him. But once he comes to live with us, He never leaves. He is constant, but we are not.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
GJH
Wewouts family book club book choice March 31, 2007. This is one book that I would not have chosen. However, after I got into reading, I could not put it down. People ask, "What if someone does not know about the Lord? How will they learn?" I do believe that the Lord will make Himself know to a person. The Lord has used dreams and visions for hundreds of years, and more, to get His message across why not now? Be blessed in the Lord as you read this book. Bilquis Sheikh went to be in the presence of her Lord, April 9, 1997, this is why you don't hear of her now. God's blessings on all who read anything that will bring you into His presence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Anna Mathew
Beautiful book. I was simply touched at how she shares her experiences especially the importance of staying in His presence always. It reminds us of the importance to be sensitive to the Holy Spirit and doing only what pleases the Lord when she says about how she was seeked out to be in the Glory of God always. Also it is so well illustrated about how temporal the things in the world are and how important it is not to hold on to them. What a blessed book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Eleanor Sherring
A must read for every new Christian. This book with its honesty and ground reality has been such a blessing to me. It taught me what commitment actually meant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Caroline
Absolutely a must read I read it. It brought tears to my eyes because I felt how people are longing for having The Lord or knowing the Lord or reading His words or having His truth and undersatanding His book and His verses...something that we often take for granted I felt so thankful that she came to Him The Only True God Our saviour.....I wonder where is she now why she's not on Tv why can't we see her she can help many many women outhere May God bless her and all you who serve the Lord.....at lease we will meet in heaven...Amen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for I Dared to Call Him Father, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Miraculous Story of a Muslim Woman's Encounter with God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2005
Customer Avatar
Mandi
This was an absolutely amazing book! The author and I share so many of the same thoughts and emotions. It brought me to tears! I hope whoever reads this book will share the victorious feeling for God, as I have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>