Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Great Expectations Co Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life

Great Expectations Co Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life

Behind their brave and independent exteriors young men are searching for answers. Without counsel how can they find the path that leads to inner joy and lasting contentment? Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life offers such counsel. Through short, captivating stories, Bob Schultz has crafted a book to lead young men toward a life of contentment that can only be found by seeking the heart of God. Bob writes with a homespun wisdom born out of experience as well as a quest for a closer walk with God. His goal is to help young men chart a smooth course through life by addressing areas of faith, character, and subtleties of attitude that must be adjusted in order to direct them on the path to inner joy and lasting contentment.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Review 1 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book for my teen son.

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chelle
Location:Kentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a great tool for teaching Biblical standards. It is showing my son the important points of a Christian life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

•°o•:*¨¨*:•. E X C E L L E N T .•:*¨¨*:•. o°•

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HOMESCHOOL our son who has just finished 6th grade. We read “CREATED FOR WORK” once a week as part of our Personal Growth area. There are 34 chapters in this book. Last year (5th grade) we started with Bob Shultz’ 1st book: “BOYHOOD AND BEYOND” (31 chapters). Because my son spends most of his day home with me, I wanted to make sure he was getting plenty of influence from a Godly man. These books hit the target! Each chapter is about 3 or 4 pages, followed by a set of stimulating questions. I read the chapters aloud to my son (and I always get something from each story as well). As I think of things in our life or my son’s possible future, I pause and discuss them. Scripture is woven throughout each chapter in the KJV (I keep my bible handy with the NKJV whenever we need an easier translation). These books have been a wonderful part of school for us! For 7th grade we will start “PRACTICAL HAPPINESS” (36 chapters). I would recommend them for ALL parents of boys; from the single mom, to the dad wanting to help mold his child into a young man after God’s own heart, to those parents working in partnership and wanting to do a family devotional with their boys, or other homeschool teachers like me! Ps: If you have daughters, it would not hurt for them to listen in and begin to understand what Godly character to look for in their future husbands, plus many of the character ideas apply to all of us, not just boys. I just found out there is a new book published this year (2011) titled “EVERYDAY BATTLES”. I will order it very soon to make sure I have it ready for 8th grade. However, in checking the CBD website, I learned of Mr. Shultz passing away in 2008 (thanks to another reviewer kind enough to share it). I am so sad and deeply moved. Mr. Shultz leaves an amazing legacy behind, both in these books and in the many lives he touched personally, (as you will come to understand through the little stories he shared). I pray that his family is continually blessed and comforted.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rita Dempsey
My son and I have been reading Bob Schultz's books for over a year now, each day reading a chapter. When we finish one book, we go back to the other one, and we are freshly inspired each day. I would suggest these books for anyone looking for good inspiring words for everyday living and getting to know God. I am a mom and I am inspired and uplifted by these wonderful words of wisdom.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jo-anne Low
Practical Happiness, along with Bob Schultz's other two books, is a great source of encouragement to our family. Bob has a wonderful way of weaving everyday stories about life into great little life lessons. I read one chapter a day out loud to my 7 children (5 boys and 2 girls ages 19 to 6) and they all love listening to them. When we finish this book we will reread one of Bob's earlier books again. My intention is to read his books to my children every year. The strong sense of work ethic, integrity of character and submission to the Lord is emphasized constantly throughout these books. If you have sons and want them to grow into men of integrity and godly character then consider buying all of Bob's books (Boyhood and Beyond and Created for Work are two others). We love them!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Todd G
Great book. Bob Schultz's books are all fantastic, and written with aim of developing very Godly young men. Great !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Ruane
This is our third book we've read from Bob Schultz and it does not disappoint! It's conversational and practical, challenging and convicting!! I'm reading though it with my 12 year old and plan to give it to my older boys. I can't say enough how much we've enjoyed and benefitted from this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
M
This is not a book just for young men! It's great for reading to the whole family. His other book Boyhood and Beyond is like that too: very good content for the whole family to reflect on and discuss.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Craig
My husband reads a chapter to our boys each night. Its great. He did this with Bob Schultz' 2 previous books as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hannah Myers
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! This book has been wonderful for our family -- and not just for young men, as the title suggests. All of us -- parents and children -- have benefitted. Just like the title, the book has chapter after chapter of practical, applicable lessons that spoke right to my heart. We had communicated a little with Bob Schultz, the author, and he truly had a heart after God's own. The lessons he shares are from personal experience, and he didn't try to hide his own faults, but shared what God taught him, and we have learned so much from him. In May of 2008, we learned that he died from a heart attack (he was in his 50s). It was his prayer throughout his life that he would be able to share with the younger generation the praises of God and encourage them to know God personally through the relationship we can have with Jesus Christ. It is my prayer that he, though in glory now, would continue to speak to the hearts of young men and women through his books (this is the most recent of three he has written). Your heart will be touched by this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim Gary
Love it, just like we love his other two books. We use them for devotions with dad on Sundays.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hannah Myers
This is a wonderful book!! Our family has read and re-read it and each time, we learn many valuable lessons. The book states it is written for young men, but it is highly applicable to everyone in our family. Being content and choosing to be joyful in all circumstances isn't seen very often in our society -- I think mostly because people don't really know how. This book reveals common shortcomings and how to overcome them. Very highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Practical Happiness: A Young Man's Guide to a Contented Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Adam Dow
I work with a lot of young men who are either contemplating marriage or are new husbands. This book is a great tool for a fatherless generation. It offers a humble approach to being a mighty man of God and a Godly leader in your home.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.