Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6

Summerside Press The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6

A socialite from the nation's capital embarks on a journey to the Wild West, and her life will be changed forever. A setting populated by hundreds of laborers, outlaws, and Indians is hardly the place for a wealthy general's daughter from the nation's capital. But Josephine Cain is determined to visit her father, who supervises the day-to-day work involved in the grandest ambition of post-Civil War America: the building of the Transcontinental Railroad. Life with the railroad is far from the proper life Josephine is used to,and she faces deadly gunfights, harsh weather, and vigilante uprisings. She is torn between the West and the East; between her privileged upbringing and the challengesof the frontier; between the pull of the suitable beau her parents approve of and an attraction to a rough but charming Irish railroad worker. But if Josephine is willing,she just might discover a new life, a unique purpose . . . and true love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6
Review 1 for The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A pampered socialite embarks on a journey to the Wild West where her life is changed forever.
A setting populated by hundreds of laborers, outlaws, and Indians is hardly the place for a wealthy general's daughter from the nation's capital. But Josephine Cain is determined to visit her father, who supervises the day-to-day work involved in the grandest ambition of post-Civil War America: the building of the Transcontinental Railroad.
Life with the railroad is far from the proper life Josephine is used to, and she faces deadly gunfights, harsh weather, and vigilante uprisings. She is torn between the West and the East; between her privileged upbringing and the challenges of a new frontier; between the pull of the suitable beau her parents approve of and an attraction to a rough but charming Irish railroad worker. But if Josephine is willing, and courageous, she just might find a new life, a unique purpose . . . and true love.
My Review:
While the post Civil War backdrop is not the most original backdrop and setting, the cast of characters and the depth of historical detail makes this a memorable novel. It was chock full of history; from how the railroad men lived and ate, to what women's fashions were like in Washington after the war and exactly what it was like to travel west by train. This book didn't really center around romance; it was more about Josephine's journey of faith as she learns more about herself and finds her way in the world. The element that drew me to this novel was how Josephine must decide between two futures, even as she struggled against the realities of her present. She had some tough decisions to make, and the course we travel with her to get there is worth the read.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enjoyed this book from the beginning to the end. It had a lot of twists and turns, and a lot of true facts.
Josephine Cain's life, and a lot of others, was interrupted by the Civil War. Her Father was a General, and is now heading a major portion of building the new Transcontinental Railroad. She has grown up a product of a wealthy class family. All is about to change. She is now being pursued by Lewis Simmons, and all that she sees, is what she wants to see.
Follow her and her Lewis as they head for a visit West...she also meets Hudson. Wow two, one she is now engaged to, and the other has a woman he is promised to. We visit with the General, and rescue a child, before heading back once more to Washington.
This book does not disappoint, we are there when Lincoln is shot, and again when history is made with the last rail put into place. We are also part of the taming of the West. You never know what is around the next corner, there are a lot of surprises, and some famous names that are dropped.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An American Tapestry

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Josephine Cain is ready to be rid of her mourning clothes and start wearing something lively. Her mother and aunt sit around like they themselves have left this world since the death of their sons in the horrible war between the North and the South. Josephine thinks like her father and wants to start rebuilding this country and mending relationships in this time of new beginnings. Her father was an important man during the war and has been assigned to head up the building of the Transcontinental Railroad extending from the east coast meeting up with the builders starting up at the same time on west coast. This is where Josephine wishes to be and will stop at nothing to make sure she is by her father during this important time in history.
There is many dangers to face on such an excursion into the wild west. There are the Indians that have been attacking not to mention the outlaws and other unsavory characters that will cross their paths. But she will not be detoured. She has the protection of not only her father but of two other men that are vying for her heart.
I so enjoy historical fiction! The author has written a story that I did not wish to put down. I learned many historical facts and some exciting fictional that add to the story within the pages of this book.. The character Josephine is strong willed or lets say hard headed and used to getting her way when it comes to her father. But she changes into a valuable asset on the journey even while subjecting herself to all the dangers. The author also writes of how God leads the characters to follow through with one of his ultimate plans for this country and within the lives of those involved in this endeavor.
Thanks to the author for a great lesson in our American Tapestry!
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Summerside Press/Litfuse Publicity Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Little History with a Dash of Romance

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Journey of Josephine Cain is set during the Post-Civil War era. When the reader meets the young Washington socialite, Josephine Cain, she is longing for life to return to pre-war normalcy. But the reality is her brother and cousin were killed during the war, and etiquette requires a proper mourning period and attire. No parties, fashionable dresses, and the chance to meet an eligible young man to marry.
Josephine has a great relationship with her father, but her relationship with her mother is strained, at best. So when she discovers that her father has been assigned the task to oversee the building of the Transcontinental Railroad she tries to convince her father to allow her to go with him. But the Untamed West isn't the place for a proper lady, especially when it is inhabited by Indians, hundreds of railroad workers and outlaws; and according to the general, it is not the place for his daughter. Despite her fathers declaration, Josephine's spunk and determination refuses to be deterred.
Hudson Maguire and his brother Raleigh work for the railroad in order to save up some money and send some home to their family. He is an honest, hardworking man who General Cain finds to be trustworthy. This results in him becoming the general's right-hand man; putting Hudson in the position of chaperoning Josephine during her visits.
Hudson and Josephine find that they like each others company, but because they are committed to marry other people they refuse to let their friendship grow deeper. But do they really love the people they are engaged to?
Life in the West isn't like anything that Josephine experienced in Washington, DC, and it can't even begin to portray any kind of Eastern civility with its gunfights, vigilantism, and brothels. But as the railroad advances toward its destination, Josephine discovers a new purpose for her life and possibly even true love.
I enjoyed meeting and getting to know Josephine and Hudson, as well as, other characters like Aunt Bernice and Frieda. I also liked learning the history of the railroad's advancement West. If you choose to read this book please don't skip reading the author's note where Nancy Moser explains the history within its pages.
**The Journey of Josephine Cain by Nancy Moser was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not my favorite...

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've read a couple of Nancy's books, and some have taken more effort to 'get into' than others. I felt that way with Josephine's story.
The words just didn't grab and hold my attention. It was easy to set the book down, and I wasn't anxiously awaiting a moment where I could pick up the story again.
Josephine herself was a bit hard for me to like. She's a bit spoiled, rash, and bull-headed, and though she grows and changes as the story progresses, I had a hard time connecting with her through most of the book.
I enjoyed learning about the progress of the railway after the Civil War, but overall, The Journey of Josephine Cain wasn't a 'keeper' book for me.
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A pampered socialite embarks on a journey to the Wild West where her life is changed forever.
A setting populated by hundreds of laborers, outlaws, and Indians is hardly the place for a wealthy general's daughter from the nation's capital. But Josephine Cain is determined to visit her father, who supervises the day-to-day work involved in the grandest ambition of post-Civil War America: the building of the Transcontinental Railroad.
Life with the railroad is far from the proper life Josephine is used to, and she faces deadly gunfights, harsh weather, and vigilante uprisings. She is torn between the West and the East; between her privileged upbringing and the challenges of a new frontier; between the pull of the suitable beau her parents approve of and an attraction to a rough but charming Irish railroad worker. But if Josephine is willing, and courageous, she just might find a new life, a unique purpose . . . and true love.
My Review:
While the post Civil War backdrop is not the most original backdrop and setting, the cast of characters and the depth of historical detail makes this a memorable novel. It was chock full of history; from how the railroad men lived and ate, to what women's fashions were like in Washington after the war and exactly what it was like to travel west by train. This book didn't really center around romance; it was more about Josephine's journey of faith as she learns more about herself and finds her way in the world. The element that drew me to this novel was how Josephine must decide between two futures, even as she struggled against the realities of her present. She had some tough decisions to make, and the course we travel with her to get there is worth the read.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Moser’s novel, The Journey of Josephine Cain, is exceptionally written and so much history, romance, action, adventure and much more that I couldn’t book the down! History is richly filled with events and people that provide plenty for writers to share tales for years to come. Here is a story that begins with the assassination of a president and ends with the east meeting the west via a locomotive.
After war, emotions still ran high as the nation needed to heal and bind up the wounds that were still raw and bleeding. Many lives were lost during our Civil War. Families were torn asunder and some remained torn apart. Josephine Cain was the only daughter of a Union General who lived in Washington, D.C. in a society that placed station as the utmost requirement for seeking marriage. Yet, when the railroad was being built, the general was hired to see the job done that changed him. Josephine went out to visit him as her mother was mourning the loss of her son. After a year of it, all Josie wanted was freedom.
If you have ever read a historical novel set in the past, you know America was a melting pot of many people from many nations. As such, some places in our nation had a hierarchy within society based on wealth. Other places were wild and what mattered more was the character of the man or woman. Living out in the West took courage and fortitude and definitely was not for the faint of heart!
In the pages of the book are many different characters that capture the attention and interest of readers. I simply couldn’t put it down as many different plots were coming together to weave a tale that simply wouldn’t let go; it just begged me to finish. I felt as if I had been transported to a time so different from today, and like I was experiencing the action through the eyes of the characters, mainly the female lead who was nicknamed Josie.
What fun it was to get lost and enjoy the book, and I hope you take time to read it as well! Don’t miss out on this story!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Transcontinental Railroad, Adventure & Romance

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Moser in her new book, “The Journey of Josephine Cain” Book Six in the An American Tapestry series published by Summerside Press takes us into the life of Josephine Cain.
From the back cover: When a socialite from the nation’s capital embarks on a journey to the Wild West her life is changed forever.
A setting populated by hundreds of laborers, outlaws, and Indians is hardly the place for a wealthy general’s daughter from the nation’s capital. But Josephine Cain is determined to visit her father, who supervises the day-to-day work involved in the grandest ambition of post-Civil War America: the building of the Transcontinental Railroad.
Life with the railroad is far from the proper life Josephine is used to, and she faces deadly gunfights, harsh weather, and vigilante uprisings. She is torn between the West and the East; between her privileged upbringing and the challenges of a new frontier; between the pull of the suitable beau her parents approve of and an attraction to a rough but charming Irish railroad worker. But if Josephine is willing, and courageous, she just might find a new life, a unique purpose . . . and true love.
The Transcontinental Railroad, gunfights, vigilantes and The Wild West! This is the recipe that Nancy Moser has created for us in “The Journey of Josephine Cain”. Sometimes journeys take a physical dimension as Josephine has to travel from the East out West. Other times journeys take a personal dimension as Josephine has to change from a socialite to a frontier woman with purpose and responsibility. Josephine Cain is an incredible woman who overcomes some really difficult situations mostly without help from anybody but at the same time helping others. Danger, action and adventure are all rolled up in a very exciting read. On top of all of this there is the romance. Ms. Moser has given us a story that belongs up there with the terrific movies that have come before. These are wonderful characters that live and breathe on the pages and you care deeply for them. This book does not disappoint at all. I enjoyed it and I am sure you will also.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Journey of Josephine Cain, American Tapestries Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The journey out west is far from boring!!!

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The latest novel from Nancy Moser in the American Tapestry Series, The Journey of Josephine Cain begins when Josephine Cain accompanies her father, General Cain and her mother to the Ford Theater as he has returned from the war. Only for Josephine, this day will become memorable in a way she never expected when she sees President Lincoln shot in the balcony. This will be a lasting reminder that the war will never truly be over in the hearts of some men.
As General Cain now transitions from being a General in the war to heading up the efforts to join the building of the Transcontinental Railroad in a competition to see if the East can build their connection faster than the west can. Josephine is tired of spending the last year with her mother and Aunt Beatrice mourning the loss of her brother, Thomas and her cousin in the war. She only wishes she can convince her father to allow her to accompany him while he works on the construction of the railroad, but with the development of unsavory types springing up wherever the railroad stops, her father isn't about to put her welfare at risk.
When Lewis Simmons joins her father before he leaves to begin his work, she suddenly sees her prospects in staying at home becoming a bit more appealing since most the single men have died in the war. However Lewis has other motives in his plans to marry Josephine and gain the approval of her parents in doing so. What he doesn't expect is to head west in his efforts to sway Josephine to fall in love with him, nor does he expect another man to turn her eye, one that does not have the influence of a suitable background and instead is merely an Irish worker on the railroad. Will Josephine learn the true intentions of the man she is slowly falling in love with or is she merely falling in love with the idea of being married?
I received The Journey of Josephine Cain by Nancy Moser compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Summerside Press for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. This is the sixth book in the American Tapestry Series and a truly MUST READ for those of you that love a bit of real life history as the backdrop for your romance novels. In this one the Transcontinental Railroad makes its debut and the author includes a reference for readers of what really happened along the way at the end of the novel along with a great discussion guide that book clubs will LOVE! Once again the strong determined female character is what really keep me glued to this one. Josephine is willing to take the needed risks to do the right thing even if it means stepping on a few toes to get there. I love where Nancy Moser took this story amid the turmoil surrounding the disgruntled Lewis and the chivalrous actions of Hudson Maguire. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and once again another Nancy Moser novel has found its way into my permanent personal library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.