Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Baker Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control

Ruled by an insidious spirit of self-centered, self-promoting ambition, "control freaks" can wreak havoc on godly communities. How can you deliver your church from this destructive influence? Sampson's biblical, balanced study shows how the "Jezebel spirit" functions through leaders and reveals clear signs of its presence. An effective teaching on submitting wholly to God! 160 pages, softcover from Chosen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Review 1 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
ms victory
Location:Euless Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very good book. It is not just for church leader it for lay member too. it help me to know what i was dealing with. it takes GOD to help you to deal with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Easy to Understand Book

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
India Girl
Location:Virgina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
“Confronting Jezebel” is a bold and clearly written book written about spiritually warfare and specifically dealing with the principality Jezebel (the spirit of control). Sampson’s clear and truthful way of writing is eye-opening to the teachable reader. He backs up his teaches with scripture and is bold but not preachy, his writing is full of his own real-life experiences. His way of writing is clear and easy for a new believer to understand while still challenging and teaching more spiritual mature believers.
After the teaching of each chapter, Sampson writes out three to four questions to help the reader review, process, and apply what he/she has just read and learned. After the thought-provoking questions, Sampson than follows with a short but heartfelt prayer that will enable the reader to immediately act upon the insights of the lesson in each chapter.
I was challenged and uplifted by reading this short, but insightful book. The chapters are short but challenging and it is an easy read for people who lead busy lives and need to read short bits at a time. In fact, I recommend you read a chapter and than process it for a day or two before moving on to the next one. But at the same time, it draws the reader in and is difficult to put down when the lessons are convecting and true to the readers life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a must read in Spiritual Warfare

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daisy
Location:Kissimmee, Fl.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent writing and clear understanding of the Jezebel spirit.
It gives clear instructions on how not to tolerate this kind of spirit and how to cast it out in the name of Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not What I Expected

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
katiespen
Location:Greer, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was excited to start reading this book by Steve Sampson, but I found myself bored from the start. In fact, it seems that this book is more of a means for Mr. Sampson to complain and gossip about situations he has "observed" (although a lot of them were third-party accounts) without actually giving insight on the best way to deal with these situations. I also found his plugging of his next book to be a little obnoxious as I was in the midst of this one. The book left me feeling very negative towards church people and unsettled on how to deal with the Jezebel spirit. It would have been better to see accounts from Scripture and find out how these situations were handled in the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was very educational..good insight

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
justy
Location:Alexandria, Tn
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this book realy helped me to understand the spirit that can invade a church..Signs to look for..thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
D. Diaz
I believe that every church should study this book with their congregation. These are the end times and the enemies job is to destroy so educate yourselves and pray without ceasing. Don't allow this spirit to ruin another church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Douglas Pettman
This helps explain a lot of internal struggles going on in churches.You will read and nod your head in agreement.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine Kent
Wow! Awesomw book. Very enlightening. This evil spirit goes largely undetected and yet, so many people are operating in this spirit, even in the church. This spirit exalts self-will over God's will. Good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
has helped me be aware of the enemy which can work in me if i allow him to. very informative and helpful to me. i shared with bible study. we need to be aware of satan's pitfalls. word based, i referred to scripturegiven. helps me to examine myself. spread the word about this controlling spirit. enjoyed the book very much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Norma Ramirez
This is just a very good book. It's informative and biblical. It gives you the tools to over come this sinful spirit. Two thumbs up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paula Grange
I think this book does an excellent job explaining and giving specific instructions to be free and stay free from this Controlling Spirit. It approach the Spirit of Jezebel from various aspects of its operation and give very good examples.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Terri Hopkins
This was an amazingly convicting read. It will make you think through every single motive you have in reaching out to others. I highly recommend it. However, make sure that you deal with yourself ruthlessly instead of judging anyone else.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Henson
I was not able to put this down. I found it very insightful and helpful in the situations in my life at this time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
MrsTinCT
I was excited about this book until I got it, Mr Sampson started strong in giving details of how Jezebel Spirit inspired/controlled people act & look like around us but 1/2 way through the book it's like he lost his train of thought & forgot about explaining to us who are trying to deal with Jezebel Spirit controlled people in our lives exactly how to in practical ways deal with & get rid of the controls by people like mother-in-laws, aunts Ahab Spirit controlled husbands, etc - you know the people who in life you're not able to just fire but have to deal with them for the rest of your lives - not the best book if you're looking for answers on how to deal with that aspect
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Edward John
The information provided is scriptural, and very real in the body of Christ, this book is very good, and should be read by the church world of believers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.