Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984

Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible takes an already popular Bible and makes it even better. Updating and expanding the features that have made the Women of Color Study Bible a favorite of African-American women, this Bible adds some brand new features and an attractive new design that emphasizes ease of us. This Bible will inspire readers with perspectives and insights that focus God's Word directly on the world of today's African-American women.

Features:

  • 75 full-page "Women of the Bible" profiles unlock lessonsfrom the lives of biblical women
  • 100 "inspire" notes offer insightfrom God's Word on issues of life and leadership
  • 140 "The AfricanPresence" notes reveal the African influence in Scripture
  • 95 "FromGod" notes encourage women to see themselves through God's eyes
  • 90all-new prayers tied to Scripture
  • 50 quotes scattered throughout thetext offer the wisdom of African-American women
  • 66 book introductionsand outlines
  • Two-color interior
  • Front matter includes "Family Roots" family tree
  • 8 Point Text
  • Double-column format
  • Cross-references in margins
  • Subject headings
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Table of Weights and Measures
  • Concordance
  • Subject Index
  • Contributor biographies
  • Reading plans
  • Full-color Maps with index
  • Gold gilded page edges
  • Ribbon Marker
  • Red & Gold Italian Duo-Tone™ imitation leather
  • 61/2" x 91/2" x 11/2"
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Review 1 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
SweetRaeII
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading this bible makes the word new again for me...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terri
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible has helpful features. It helps you understand the word in new ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like this bible very much

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
none
Location:Atlanta, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bible lots of information pertinent to me and other women of color
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Roseak
Location:Boston, MA
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This women's bible was excellent. The pages were very clear and easy to read. I enjoyed all of the information given on women in the Bible and especially info on African women in the bible. It is extraordinary and I will buy one for my daughter as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
CeCi
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this bible I feel like it relates to Black women. I have already bought another one as a gift for my cousin for her High School graduation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great Bible

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deedee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The notes, references, different inspire notes are wonderful. The colors in the Bible are beautiful, the cover is exceptional. It is such a fantastic study bible that I am truely at a loss for words. Any woman of color this bible is a must have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible, Hardcover With Dust Jacket 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
tmtillman
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bible is my favorite. I love the focus it places on the women of the bible. The self-reflect sections are priceless! No matter where you are in your spirtual walk - this bible will meet you where you are and ask you to reflect on where you've been. Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible, Hardcover With Dust Jacket 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bought for myself and sister

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
unique
Location:SaCRAMENTO, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is excellent. It has way more things in it than I thought. Lots of knowledge!! I always wanted to buy myself a bible study book and when I saw this one I had to get my sister one. She loves it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting information was included

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
degj
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible was purchase as a gift for my mother. Other family members happen to see the bible and began reading it. They began calling me, stating "I want one and where did you get it". I told them where I had purchased the bible. Now I have to purchase several more as gifts. They enjoy reading the bible and the interesting facts as well as the extra readings which are included throughout the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kia Prescott
I Just love this bible. Can see this is a bible for the long term.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Franz Martin
I love this bible! Even though I already had the first edition, and have bought several as gifts, this edition is so warm and it gently nutures the spirits of women of color. It may be hard to understand its necessity, unless it applies, but this bible is of God lovingly applies itself to a targeted audience that needs it and appreciates it, as I said, in a way that may be hard for others to underestand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Gibson
This is a beautiful Bible. I bought one for myself and loved it so much that I bought it as gifts for my dearest friends. My only thing is that the print is small for anyone with vision issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
LaShawn Swahn
God put his blessing on this book. I am overjoyed with this bible. A must have for everyday reading, and now I am buy one for the young woman who works in my office. Thanks you so much. My cup overflows.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible, Hardcover With Dust Jacket 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deb Jon
This bible is formulated in such a way that I can read different bible verses and I am connect with other readings within this bible so that it is a pleasure to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible, Hardcover With Dust Jacket 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Franz Martin
This review is mainly to encourage those who who may be thwarted by the question: Why should a study bible be created based on color? I was once a lost African American woman who could not see the relevance of what was in the bible because the people pictured in the bible looked like the same people who denied my relevance in the world. There are many people of all colors who do not have a relationship with God because the writers had no idea that, even in the 21st Century, we would have address the concepts of racism, exclusionary practices, and ignorance. God left it to us to find each other in this very small world and in order for us to be encouraged to take the Christian walk as a united church, we can demonstrate, very simply, that God's Holy Word is inclusionary. There is a history and practice of neglecting to demonstrate that African Americans have a place during the times of which the bible is written - witness pictures of Ham, Simeon, Balthazar (or even Melchior). Since we do no question bibles targeting women, children, the blind, deaf, those written in contemporary english, pictured, amplified, and cross-referenced, we should not question those pluralistic versions that include information pertinent to a long-ignored segment of the Christian family. In fact, I think this information transcends race and giives everyone the truth about the black presence in the pages of the bible. Of the two versions of this bible, I have bought close to 20 to give to those women who ask me - why should I believe in something that does not believe in me. Surely God loves us all but convincing everyone of that fact has, by history and practice, is so difficult.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible, Hardcover With Dust Jacket 1984.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Matthew Scarborough
I have to respect those who put this Bible together, because they really are trying to reach people, but I have one problem with it: How do you create a Study Bible based on color? We have enough of that problem in the Body of Christ as it is. Read Romans 10:12, Galatians 3:28 and John ch.4 and you'll see very plainly that race and color has nothing to do with Christ! He does not see our skin, He sees our soul! The creators of this Study Bible need to really consider this fact concerning pure Chritianity! Again, I'm not against the furthering of the Gospel, but I beleive that it has to be done in a way that is alligned with the ways of Christ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible, Hardcover With Dust Jacket 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
C.H.
This is a very great book. It has beautiful detail and the construction of it is very nice. My only qualm bout this book is how thin the pages are. They are beyond tissue paper thin. I felt if I flip too quickly I might rip several pages out. Also due to the thinness of the pages, it's somewhat hard to see because you can almost read words through the page. IF that doesn't bother you then this is a great book to purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible Rich Red/Gold Italian Duo-Tone Imitation Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible, Hardcover With Dust Jacket 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sandra Moody
I recently chech out women of color out of the Libary. I were very please with the book.In the futher I would like to purchase it .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.