Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984

Zondervan NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984

An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture, The NIV Archaeological Study Bible sheds new light on the Bible. From the beginnings of Genesis to the end of Revelation, this new study Bible is filled with informative articles and full-color photographs of places and objects that will open your eyes to the historical context of the stories you read and the people you meet in Scripture. From kings and empires to weapons of war to clay pots used for carrying water, the archaeological record surrounding God's Word will help contextualize and inform your personal study.

Features:
  • 4-color interior throughout
  • Bottom of page study notes highlight and add further explanation to passages that speak onarchaeological or cultural facts included in the Scripture
  • Articles (520) covering one of the following five categories:
    • Archaeological Sites (Hazor, Ugarit, Arad, Ephesus)
    • Cultural and Historical Notes (ancient seals and scarabs, perfume and anointing, the missionary journeys of Paul)
    • Ancient Peoples and Lands (the Persian empire, the history of Egypt)
    • The Reliability of the Bible (the question of the Psalm superscripts, the reliability of Judges, the ending of Mark)
    • Ancient Texts and Artifacts (the Mesha Stone, the Prayer of Confession)
  • Approximately 500 4-color photographs interspersed throughout
  • Detailed book introductions that provide basic, at-a-glance information
  • Detailed charts on pertinent topics
  • In-text color maps that assist the reader in placing the action
  • 8-point text
  • Single-column format
  • Side-column references
  • Section headings
  • Book introductions
  • Timelines
  • Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(320 Reviews) 320
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (320 reviews)
5 stars
236
4 stars
52
3 stars
18
2 stars
5
1 star
9
153 out of 16493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
Review 1 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for a history buff.

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
JairLiss13
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is for the Renaissance Fine Leather edition of the Archaeological Study Bible.
Cover: The cover looks exactly as pictured, and is probably the nicest bible cover I have ever seen or felt. I have several premium leather bibles, and this is by far my favorite. It is very soft, flexible, and high quality. It also has a rustic leather look that goes well with the content of this study Bible.
Content: The paper is very high quality, and all the pages are full color with a rustic effect on all the page edges. There are thousands of notes, and hundreds of articles that tell you pretty much everything you want to know about the history and culture of the people and places in the Bible.
Overall, this Bible is excellent, and I could not recommend it more highly for someone interested in history and the Bible. Compared to other fine leather study Bibles, the price cannot be beat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantastic value and learning tool

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
whistler
Location:north Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this bible last year for my daily study and along with all the extra information and helps about all the archaeological digs and discoveries, I think I got a pretty fair education that I missed when I was much younger. It is an extremely valuable tool to help anyone of any age reach a deeper and clearer understanding of what holy scripture is trying to teach us as followers of Christ. The fine leather binding is like no other bible I have ever owned and it will be a nice treasure to pass along to someone else. I purchased a second one for a gift as well as I think it is a wonderful value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

articles are tops

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
pastorjames
Location:N E Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the articles, but this is blind grandma size on the outside--it's literally about the size of a sheet of copy paper and almost three inches thick. It isn't that large of font, but it's easy to read from a dim pulpit when you are working quickly trying to preach, and it's chock full of useful information. The only similar type of book I've seen is Paige Patterson's NAC on Revelation, but, of course, that's only good for the one book of Scr. The leathersoft seems to scratch easy. I wanted an NIV archaeological study bible, and I hate bonded leather because it scratches off and reveals some strange colored cardboard that is unsightly. A real leather was super expensive, so I went with the leathersoft (synthetic), which is usually more durable than this. I preached from it in a setting without a podium, and, on the bright side, it's building up my arms! I like a big Bible, but this is almost family Bible size. The biggest thing this does for you is help you understand the Scriptures in their own historical and cultural context and then we are able to understand how to apply it to our current context. If you can't do that, you're likely to miss quite a bit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great informative bible

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anna
Location:Utah
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great bible this is, there is so much information. The cover is awesome. It is like getting a history and a geography lesson at the same time. The large print makes it easy to read. Archaeological information is very interesting to read. What a great study bible. I am glad I bought one for my self. The size is good for the price. Very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Archaeological Study Bible Cashew/Caramel bonded leather 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sunshine
Location:Victoria, bc
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this as a gift, and the receiver is digging deeper and discovering amazing insights from this bible. This is your go to study bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Archaeological Study Bible Cashew/Caramel bonded leather 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you like NIV

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tiff
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I recently purchased this Bible to replace my old Bible because it is currently being held together with duct tape! The Bible is absolutely beautiful, please do not get me wrong, but I was use to a Life Application Study Bible NLT version and when I switched to NIV I didn't really like it because it didn't go into depth as much with tearing the scriptures apart. If you are a new Believer, I would not pick NIV, I would pick Life Application Study Bible NLT. Hope this helps someone! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really enjoying this!

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
vzun2teach
Location:Rockville, MD
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As other reviewers have said, this is hefty--but fits the same Bible cover that my previous Bible inhabited (hardcover NIV study Bible). I don't find schlepping it a burden. I love having the extra information available during sermons and Bible studies, so it's a go-with Bible for me.
When I needed to get a new Bible, I gave it a lot of thought. I've had my NIV Study Bible for 40 years now, and am very familiar with the notes and extra information provided therein.
As I perused the choices available, the Archaeological notes wowed me! And now, several months after my purchase, I can enthusiastically say that I really enjoy the notes. They add to my knowledge, they provide context to Scripture, and I'm really glad I branched out.
About the leather binding: you might be like me, thinking, How do I justify the added expense? For me, this is what informed my decision: I LOVE God's word; I tithe; I support missionaries; I budget my money. So, yes, although it was pricey, I'm glad I got the leather. It's beautiful, the Bible opens and stays opened to the page you're on, and there are 2 ribbons to mark pages.
Oh--and each page is printed on lovely paper that has an "old" look, like an old parchment paper. It's great.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very practical and usable bible

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike Luna
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the ESV for its accuracy and readability. I enjoy how easy the text is to read. I especially enjoy the wider than usual margins as I will be using them for notes (not fond of the great big ol margins in other "wide margin" bibles). I will make this my official note taking bible. I hope it holds up!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favorite Bible I own

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Graham
Location:Calgary
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it more then my smaller and more portable Bible. This Bible is more of a secondary Bible though, for study of Gods word. This Bible is so beautiful I feel like I wanna display or something. It is more of a house Bible and not meant for carrying around with you to church which is very understandable with the content it has. For anyone who does purchase this Bible you will be impressed by everything about it. I purchased two of them for my friends as study Bibles. Rethink purchasing this Bible if you wanna take it everwhere with you.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Archaeological Study Bible Cashew/Caramel bonded leather 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice but misleading in that link gone

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iowa girl
Location:Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a great Bible and I highly recommend it for anyone interested in the history of so much in the Bible. However the box advertised a Webb site for more detailed information and free downloads of bonus materials. The site was no longer available when I tried it. I contacted their customer service and was told the site was no longer available.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Archaeological Study Bible Cashew/Caramel bonded leather 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything you need in a Study Bible, excpt weight

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
gohome
Location:Orange County, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bible, with all the articles, notes, maps and color that you could ever want. BUT, it's not very portable, unless you're an NFL lineman. Weighs a ton. I understand perfectly why it does, but nevertheless, it's not something I reach for readily when it's time to go to worship service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Archaeological Study Bible Cashew/Caramel bonded leather 1984.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This is a great Bible if you aren't blind.

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
ljdavis
Location:London, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Archaeological Study Bible is an excellent resource to have at hand. Besides Scripture, it has historical data and pictures of the era that help to better understand the Word of God. However, the size of it is monstrous! It's like lugging around a ten pound bowling ball. I shouldn't be surprised, because I originally bought this bible in a large print version, but large print to the publisher meant a coffee table sized book. Why would anyone want a huge Bible like that for study? So I ordered the smaller print version, thinking the book would be smaller. I was wrong. I don't understand why every other bible I have that includes both old and new testament is a slim, easy to use book. But this Bible is impossible to use without a magnifying glass and difficult to carry around. I love the book itself, because its content is by far the best resource you need for study, but its size is ridiculous.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Archaeological Study Bible Cashew/Caramel bonded leather 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Reference Material

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Ward
Location:Lexington SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So pleased with this Bible!! It contains so much detail including historical and geographical content. I purchased two for my two college grandsons who will love reviewing all the extra information.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
beth
Location:Northwest Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a beautiful bible but it is very large and very heavy. I had planned to take it with me each Sunday for Bible Study but it it took heavy to carry. It is delightful and I will use it but I will have to read it on a table or a bed because it is too heavy to hold.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly What I Wanted

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elle
Location:New York, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bible. I use it daily, not only as a supplemental bible, but also as one for everyday use. This is exactly what I needed to piece together the physical parts to the bible, therefore helping me to understand time periods (not to mention difficult period pieces in scripture) Overall, this is a wonderful tool and a reliable guide to the bible. I would completely recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Archaeological Study Bible, Hardcover, Large Print 1984.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Big disappointment

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scott Snyder
Location:Va
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought a standard size when Zondervan first came out with these and then ordered the large print version when it was released. I don't see how they can call this large print. It looks like about a 9 point type as opposed to a 12 point type in the other large print bibles I have - yet it is almost two inches taller and an inch wider than the other bibles. I don't understand why they went with larger dimensions and smaller print. Also the type face is thin character - almost like they were trying to save on ink, making it appear smaller than it is. The notes and photographs are interesting but I ended up with a bible that is too large and heavy to take to bible studies and that has print small enough that I will never read it anyway.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Archaeological Study Bible Cashew/Caramel bonded leather 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Adoma
Location:UK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great tool for the Believer's walk of faith and the ministry. God bless you Zondervan.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Covers much more than archaeology

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Badger
Location:Mission Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The notes in this comprehensive Reference Bible range over history, culture, linguistics, comparative religion, and other topics as well.
I have no other study Bible as interesting to read. The regular NIV Study Bible is very thorough but not as much so as this one.
The notes in here are written in a way that a literate lay person can understand them but they are never dumbed down.
I have heard that some buyers have had issues with the quality of the binding and also with print contrast. Since I mostly read this Bible as an ebook, these things don't affect me.
I read this Bible from Genesis through to Revelation while participating in the Read The NIV Bible in 90 Days program in the winter of 2013. I have other NIV Bibles but much preferred this one because of the notes, introductions, tables, and charts.
I own several Bible Handbooks & the extra material in this Bible is as good as what is in my Bible Handbooks.
As a print book, this is a weighty tome that might be hard for you to carry around so you might consider buying the ebook in addition to a print version.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Archaeological Study Bible Cashew/Caramel bonded leather 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Value

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
umcpaul
Location:Chapin, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would have preferred an RSV or NRSV, but this is okay.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible Mahogany/Caramel Bonded Leather 1984
This review is fromNIV Archaeological Study Bible Cashew/Caramel bonded leather 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Randy
Location:Kansas City, Ks
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this study bible. Downside it it very heavy and have not been able to find a cover/carrying case for it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345 ...16Next >>>