Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984

The NIV Thinline Reference Bible, formerly titled the The NIV Ultra Thin Reference Bible, is a conveniently sized Bible ideal for personal reading and study. It combines the convenience and portability of a Thinline setting with helpful study aids, such as a comprehensive center-column reference system to guide the reader's study of Scripture. The comfortable size makes the NIV Thinline Reference Bible an easy-to-handle, easy-to-carry Bible for every occasion. The NIV Thinline Reference Bible also features a 13,000-entry concordance for in-depth Bible study. Color maps give the reader a visual overview of the land of the Bible.

Special features:

  • Center-column reference system
  • Double-column format
  • 8 Point Text
  • Thin, convenient size
  • Presentation page
  • 8-page full-color map section
  • Concordance
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gilded page edges
  • Bonded Leather, Burgundy
  • Words of Christ in Red
  • 5 1/2" x 8 3/4" x 7/8"

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Review 1 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great smaller Bible to take with you

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy B
Location:Los Angeles suberb
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking for a 1984 edition NIV Bible smaller than my applications/study Bibles to carry to Bible study, church, and visitations. Wanted a concordance and good references in center or bottom. This Bible has both, large enough print for my 60+ eyes, AND it is attractive! Too bad the 1984 edition is going out of print. It's better than the new 2010-11 version. This is a GREAT little Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect size!

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
KarenB
Location:Salt Lake City
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is thin but complete, with fairly large type which makes it easy to read. I love having my name on the front.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product, extremely good price.

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Buffy
Location:Jeffersonville, In
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am ecstatic with my new thinline reference bible. Compact,
lightweight, legible print, extensive reference index. It's
everything I've been looking for in a personal, take-a-long
bible. And my name inscribed on the front of this lovely
"leather" bible, makes me proud to carry it. Thank you
for the extraordinary service CBD gives. And so many, many
selections in every catagory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Navy, indexed 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We give these to someone after they are baptized at our Church. We have them personalized, makes such great memories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Navy 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Quality, a bit pricey

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
BB343
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this as a personalized gift in the navy blue. The Bible arrived much sooner than I expected and is absolutely beautiful! I especially like the silver edged pages. As much as I love my purchase and the quality is great, I did have a bit of sticker shock. However, I would still recommend this to anyone looking for a more portable reference Bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Garrett Conner
The NIV is a treasure of translation, especially in the Old Testament. If you're sold to jump on the ESV bandwagon; do yourself a favor, get this Bible. Great text size and the leather is nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Davis
Many pages were stuck together, so I had to separate them, but otherwise very happy with this Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Holly Gerkin
Great Travel Bible!!! I wanted something i could take w me and have references. only disadvantage i had was the pens i usually mark w seemed to bleed thru. but no worries there :) perfect for outings!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeannette
It is a beautiful bible. The font is large enough. My only problem is that the dimensions indicated in the Product Details are in no way close to its actual dimensions and therefore could not use my existing bible cover. Not sure how this bible is being measured. I measure it at 6.6"x 9.7"x 1.1"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jim Calahan
Everything and more than what I expected! Great Bible and love it! Recommend it too anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth
This is a wonderful Bible! One note: I was expecting an 11 point font, and it turned out to be a 10.5. For those of us that need large print - it may be significant. That said, I got one copy for myself and one for a friend and we LOVE them! They are sewn and move nicely. It lays flat beautifully. It has center column references, the text is clear and the concordance is good. The cover also feels very nice. It is a pretty Bible and nicely bound.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Navy, indexed 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Steve Figura
For its size this Bible has nice features and the print is quite readable. However, I am not very happy with the exterior, which is rather stiff. Also, the book does not lay open well when held open towards the front or back of it. I would have preferred a Bible with softer, more pliable covers and less stiffness. I probably should have gone for a Bible with real leather, but I couldn't find one that had the features I wanted in a real leather cover. Hopefully, this one will improve with age.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Julie Hellmer
So many large print Bibles are awkward to use. This thin line NIV is light, the print very readable. I miss study notes, but can use other resources for that. I'm glad that I ordered it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Navy 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Northside Church Of Christ
We give these Bibles as gifts to new Christians. We looked at many different Bibles to determine which would be best for new Christians and this is the one we chose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Navy 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Trissel
This Bible is great for carrying around with you. Even though the print size is 8 pt. it is easy to read because the print is dark, and I wear bi-focals. It's great to actually have a center column reference Bible in a Bible its size. Usually Bibles this size only have end of paragraph references, if at all. The quality of the bonded leather is good too, not like some that are coming out with almost a plastic feel. The gilding on this Bible is silver. The pages are a bit thin, but there is no bleed through. It would be just fine to use a dry highlighter, or even a fine point pen, pressed upon lightly. I recommend this Bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
Linda
I love this Bible. The print is comfortable to my eyes; my hands love how it feels (thin and a little grippy), and the binding is elegant. It's thin and compact so my hands don't fall asleep holding it up (like they did when I was using a big hard-cover study Bible). The notes down the center column are easy to use, too. This Bible is exactly what I hoped for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.