Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984

The NIV Thinline Reference Bible, formerly titled the The NIV Ultra Thin Reference Bible, is a conveniently sized Bible ideal for personal reading and study. It combines the convenience and portability of a Thinline setting with helpful study aids, such as a comprehensive center-column reference system to guide the reader's study of Scripture. The comfortable size makes the NIV Thinline Reference Bible an easy-to-handle, easy-to-carry Bible for every occasion. The NIV Thinline Reference Bible also features a 13,000-entry concordance for in-depth Bible study. Color maps give the reader a visual overview of the land of the Bible.

Special features:

  • Center-column reference system
  • Double-column format
  • 8 Point Text
  • Thin, convenient size
  • Presentation page
  • 8-page full-color map section
  • Concordance
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gilded page edges
  • Bonded Leather, Burgundy
  • Words of Christ in Red
  • 5 1/2" x 8 3/4" x 7/8"

Average Customer Rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1275%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Review 1 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible, but stay away from bonded leather

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
GZimmy
Location:Mankato, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Bible back when the 2011 NIV first came on the market, so I've had it long enough to see how it will wear. I have to say that overall it is an excellent, if not outstanding, format. The text is nearly perfect in size and layout, and the black-letter is so much easier to read than the silly red-letter. The notes and cross-references are also in a good size font for those of us with aging eyes. Zondervan does need to fix their reference system, because it's maddeningly difficult to distinguish between the cross-reference letters and the text notes letters. I'm always looking for a text note that isn't there. But very few manufacturers do have a good system for that. The paper is thin, but strong. I have had very little trouble with it aside from a little wrinkling of pages, particularly at the front and back of the Bible. The silver page edging seems durable. I don't care for the appearance and would prefer gold, but that's a matter of personal preference. But I do wish Zondervan would give us that option instead of making black Bibles with ONLY silver edging. The Bible lays flat as advertised. I appreciate the Smyth-sewn binding in such an inexpensive Bible. The biggest weakness I have found is the bonded leather cover. In about two years of frequent, sometimes heavy use, it is nearly falling apart. I have had far better success with genuine leather and the new soft-feel imitation leathers for durability. Stay away from the bonded leather! If you must buy cheap, buy the imitation leather. Better yet, pop for the premium genuine leather.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The quality is good and print is easy to read

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Richard
Location:McMinnville, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had two NIV's picked out, one of which was the NIV 2011, not the one I wanted, but it was the one I ordered by mistake. After it came I saw my error and turned around and order the same font and style in the NIV 1984 version which I prefer. I am enjoying it; the print is comfortable to read, the pages thin, but stout for underlining and sufficient margins for notes. Just wished it was available in genuine leather
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
dsieplinga
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent overall. Great print size and double colume make it very readable. But it's difficult to tell the difference between footnote notations and cross-reference notations that are within the text.
The (very) brief introductions to each book are okay, I guess, but too short to be very helpful or accurate and really unnecessary.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great smaller Bible to take with you

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy B
Location:Los Angeles suberb
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking for a 1984 edition NIV Bible smaller than my applications/study Bibles to carry to Bible study, church, and visitations. Wanted a concordance and good references in center or bottom. This Bible has both, large enough print for my 60+ eyes, AND it is attractive! Too bad the 1984 edition is going out of print. It's better than the new 2010-11 version. This is a GREAT little Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect size!

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
KarenB
Location:Salt Lake City
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is thin but complete, with fairly large type which makes it easy to read. I love having my name on the front.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product, extremely good price.

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Buffy
Location:Jeffersonville, In
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am ecstatic with my new thinline reference bible. Compact,
lightweight, legible print, extensive reference index. It's
everything I've been looking for in a personal, take-a-long
bible. And my name inscribed on the front of this lovely
"leather" bible, makes me proud to carry it. Thank you
for the extraordinary service CBD gives. And so many, many
selections in every catagory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Navy, indexed 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We give these to someone after they are baptized at our Church. We have them personalized, makes such great memories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Disappointed

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alan
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in the new niv reference Bible. It is not red letter and the concordance is less than adequate. For a reference Bible it is over advertized and under performed. Wish I wouldn't have bought it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

product has great features.

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
jamie
Location:california
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
as an older individual, the large type this product provides makes for easy reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Serviceable Bible With Some Flaws

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Oecolampad
Location:West Haven, CT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In most ways this is a serviceable Bible and gives good value for the price. The NIV 2011 is the best overall translation of the Bible into English in the world today. In almost every verse where they modified the NIV 1984 (39%) a marked improvement may be observed.
But on two counts I found it a disappointment. 1) It does not lie flat as the slip cover claims. 2) It has much less than a full set of cross references in its center column.
For more details see my review of the TNIV Reference Bible, ISBN: 9780310938415.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A smooth, unclunky read, in paragraphs.

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
tintin
Location:Willamette Valley, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm liking reading this particular NIV very much.
I'm really curious how it differs from a "language-inclusive" NIV I got from England over a decade ago, which was not allowed to be sold in the U.S., at that time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Navy 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Quality, a bit pricey

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
BB343
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this as a personalized gift in the navy blue. The Bible arrived much sooner than I expected and is absolutely beautiful! I especially like the silver edged pages. As much as I love my purchase and the quality is great, I did have a bit of sticker shock. However, I would still recommend this to anyone looking for a more portable reference Bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Garrett Conner
The NIV is a treasure of translation, especially in the Old Testament. If you're sold to jump on the ESV bandwagon; do yourself a favor, get this Bible. Great text size and the leather is nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Davis
Many pages were stuck together, so I had to separate them, but otherwise very happy with this Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Holly Gerkin
Great Travel Bible!!! I wanted something i could take w me and have references. only disadvantage i had was the pens i usually mark w seemed to bleed thru. but no worries there :) perfect for outings!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeannette
It is a beautiful bible. The font is large enough. My only problem is that the dimensions indicated in the Product Details are in no way close to its actual dimensions and therefore could not use my existing bible cover. Not sure how this bible is being measured. I measure it at 6.6"x 9.7"x 1.1"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jim Calahan
Everything and more than what I expected! Great Bible and love it! Recommend it too anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth
This is a wonderful Bible! One note: I was expecting an 11 point font, and it turned out to be a 10.5. For those of us that need large print - it may be significant. That said, I got one copy for myself and one for a friend and we LOVE them! They are sewn and move nicely. It lays flat beautifully. It has center column references, the text is clear and the concordance is good. The cover also feels very nice. It is a pretty Bible and nicely bound.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Navy, indexed 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Steve Figura
For its size this Bible has nice features and the print is quite readable. However, I am not very happy with the exterior, which is rather stiff. Also, the book does not lay open well when held open towards the front or back of it. I would have preferred a Bible with softer, more pliable covers and less stiffness. I probably should have gone for a Bible with real leather, but I couldn't find one that had the features I wanted in a real leather cover. Hopefully, this one will improve with age.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Thinline Reference Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Thinline Reference Large Print Bible, Imitation Leather Duo-Tone Brown/Brown 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Julie Hellmer
So many large print Bibles are awkward to use. This thin line NIV is light, the print very readable. I miss study notes, but can use other resources for that. I'm glad that I ordered it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>