Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984

Zondervan NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984

The Recovery Devotional Bible stands alongside the Twelve Steps as a unique tool for those in recovery from addictive, compulsive, or codependent behavior patterns. Based on the New International Version, this unique Bible strengthens, assists, and encourages the reader with fresh perspectives on the link between faith and recovery. The first and only recovery Bible based on the most read, most trusted New International Version, offering day-by-day encouragement for people in Twelve Step recovery programs.

Features:

  • Presentation page
  • 365 daily Meditations help readers apply biblical principles to the recovery process
  • More than 400 in-text Life Connections tie Bible portions to the Twelve Steps
  • 2000 Step Markers indicate passages that relate to particular steps of the Twelve-Step Plan
  • Presentation page
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Where to Turn
  • Reading plans
  • 8 point type
  • Double-column format
  • Black Letter Edition
  • Translation and textual notes
  • Subject Index
  • Book introductions
  • 5 3/4" x 8 3/4" x 3/4"
  • Softcover

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Review 1 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Purpose of orders

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pathway
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a Recovery Ministry and give our the Bibles and Books we order away free. We know they are great books for Christ-life.
This is for every book we have ordered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Your map to a new life!

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobgracelutheran
Location:Bellevue, WA 98004
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this Bible as my text to teach from for the last decade in our Adult Bible Study classes at our church. The results are nothing short of sensational!
It is the BEST tool you'll ever use to find new life in Christ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My primary daily devotional

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
John Sims
Location:St Thomas Ontario Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this bible myself for at least 15 years and find it new and fresh every year. I am sober over 31 years and my spiritual life really began when I found this bible initially. The ones I bought this time are gifts for others who are now really begining their spiritual journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Charlie Shepard
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible, helpful for those in recovery,wish it was still in hard cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ed Jelks
Location:Ethel, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Church started a ministry to an Addiction and Recovery center near our church and we give each new resident a copy of the Recovery Devotional Bible. Many of the residents have told me how much it has helped them in their recovery, not only at the center, but after they leave and go back home. New residents come up to me and ask if they can have one of the bibles. It is the best tool we have to help the ones with addiction and give a base for ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
knoxville40e
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In my opinion the NIV Recovery Devotional Bible came up short compared to my NLT Life Recovery Bible. One thing other then no annotations, I learned the "daily meditations" were copied and pasted tidbits from the contributers. To me that is like sampling a ice cream flavor and if you want more you have to buy the whole gallon. I also thought the life connections notes seemed at times, apart from being common sense, were thrown together like they had to find something to say about this verse, while turning a blind eye to scripture that screams recovery right under their noses. I always say the Holy Bible is the only book you need for recovery, man will just try to add his tainted, error laden pride to it. So if I need to look at a recovery Bible, the NLT Life Recovery is my choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I would recommend this product to anyone!

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these bibles for two very dear friends who are in recovery. It has proven to be invaluable to them in their recovery and I would recommend this bible to anyone, whether in recovery or not. Thank you so very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Someone gave me this bible 15 years ago. I had no interest in reading the bible--my 12 step program was my religion, the bible seemed overwhelming and out of date. It sat on my shelf for over a year, until one day I picked it up and started reading the 12 step connections throughout...I couldn't get enough of how relevant the scripture seemed to my daily life! Over the years, I've passed it on to many a recovering friend, most recently, my teenage son. It's okay if it sits on a shelf for a while, I trust God's ultimate timing. If you are recovering or love someone who is, this bible is an amazing gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leslie Jantsch Waddell
My husband gave away his last recovery Bible to someone in need. This Bible is a wonderful replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Doyle
I did not care for this bible, it was confusing in the fact that it focused more on the 12 step progam than in the simple gospel message of Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michele Fuchs
I got this Bible for my husband as a gift and he loves it! He is currently in recovery, not as an alcoholic but this Bible is helpful to anyone in any type of recovery! It is well worth the purchase and I even had his date imprinted on the front so he can always remember how far he has come and remember he doesnt want to start over!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Anderson
I appreciate this version of the NIV. Many folks coming into recovery have been hurt by well meaning Christians. This particliar version is bringing healing to many.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Louise S. Lewis
I really like format and size of the Bible. I kept the Life Recovery because I have 3 other NIV ones. Sold my copy to a sponsee.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Louise S. Lewis
This Bible is an outstanding product. I have been a member of Alanon Family Groups for years. Studying the steps with the guidence thru the Word adds a whole new dimension to my understanding and growth. The side note for each emphasis is marvelous.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karl Rhoads
This Bible is an excellent resource for those who are working a 12-step program of recovery. The devotionals - which are interspersed throughout - are light enough that everyone can easily understand and apply the biblical principle, as well as being meaty enough to encourage and support one's walk in recovery and beyond.I also liked the brief history of the 12-steps and all the other helpful articles and indexes in the front and back of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Recovery Devotional Bible, Softcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
LoriAnn
Are you in recovery, or trying to recover from addiction, especially alcohol? Then, this is the book for you. It has great daily meditations and "Life Connections" all through the book that really are for today's living. I like that it is based on the whole AA program and even gives you a description on how AA got started and it's fundamental roots. I have been learning more about the Bible in the process, too, which is a bonus for me. It is sort of comforting to know that their were plenty of people in the Bible that had problems, too and that they were overcome by faith and knowledge in God's Word. Blessings in your journey and your discoveries of what an awesome person you are in God's eyes. Who's else matters?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.