Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover

Zondervan The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover

If your translation of choice is the New International Version (NIV), and if you appreciate The Message for the freshness and insight it brings to your reading of the Bible, then you'll love the NIV/The Message Parallel Bible. Setting the NIV and the new Numbered Edition of The Message together for the first times ever, this Bible allows you to instantly compare today's most read, most trusted modern translation and Eugene Peterson's best-selling paraphrase verse by verse. Features: the clarity, accuracy, and trustworthiness of the NIV. A careful union of word-by-word and thought-for-thought translational approaches, the NIV is today's foremost modern translation, used by scholars, pastors, students, and Bible readers across the world. The story-like flow and penetrating insights of The Message, now in the Numbered Edition, including all chapter and verse numbers. The Message is treasured by countless Christians for the way its contemporary language illuminates and ageless truths. Hardcover with dust jacket.Features:
  • 8 point type
  • Double-column format
  • Translation/textual notes (NIV)
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Dust Jacket
  • Hardcover
  • 61/2" x 91/2" x 15/8"
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Review 1 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
hobbit48
Location:canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bible for the price. I do wish it had a glossary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love reading both together

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
puffy
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is wonderful reading both translations side by side
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Changedbygracesavedbylove
Location:Southern California
Gender:female
I bought this bible for a Valentines Day gift. What better way to say I love you and even better- Jesus loves you so much more! I had the front cover engraved, it looks wonderful. The cover is leather, very sturdy and has a sleek look to it. The pages are silver lined, which match the engraving on the front. The parallel of NIV and the Message are perfect for a beginning bible reader. Buying another!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trish
Location:Wilmington, DE
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my granddaughter and she loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two for One!

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Archie
Location:Buffal, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this parallel bible because the NIV is accurate and The Message gives a modern interpretation. Having them side by side makes for better understanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

outstanding!

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vickey Murphy
Location:Jacksonville fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
First time I took the time to read introductions, preface and preface to the reader. I'm loving this niv parallel message Bible. Love it's design cover and the excellent engraving of my name. Having difficult time going back to the other versions of the Bible I have. This reads like a story. Thanks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
ek4ever
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am absolutely happy with this Bible, it is great! The price I paid for it was also very reasonable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Briana
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loveeeeeeee this bible so much. Its a great resoruce.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pierre
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tool for delving deeper into the meaning of God Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

bible is amazing - personalization average

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
HScott
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bible is amazing... the parallel, especially w the Message, feeds my "on the spot" craving for a more rich understanding of The Word.
However, I gave this bible as a gift to my significant other, had it personalized for him. I was disappointed in the process, it was hard to read... even silver metallic on a black bible. The monogram was weak and seems to be "disappearing" already.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very happy

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
stevec
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the fact that not only is this the parallel Bible I was looking for, the NIV is the 1984 version I am most familiar with. This might be a downside to some buyers, but with the original NIV being harder to find, I was pleased by the publisher's decision to use the classic 1984 version (the one I use for memorizing countless verses).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I love my new new NIV/The Message combo Bible. I bought one for my daughter for Christmas too, so looking forward to hearing how she likes it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna
Location:Oklahome
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible was a birthday gift for my son. I had his name ins cribed, and also purchased the word keeper Bible case.
It will be something he can use and enjoy for many years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeanne
Location:Boston, MA
Age:45-54
I love my new Bible! I hear the message in church spoken in the NIV version, which I can follow along with, and then I can read the "Message" version which is so straightforward in our everyday language. I even share it with my kids, allowing them to read the Message version so they understand the spoken words as well! My Bible came imprinted with my name and makes me feel so special!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Butch
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this Bible as a gift for mom (84). Was hoping for a little larger print for her; however she said it was fine. She had seen a Message Bible given to a granddaughter and really enjoyed its modern way so we paralleled it with the NIV that is used in her Church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
canada4
This parallel bible is great. I was concerned that the font would be too small but it was average and is easy to read. The only thing that I was disappointed about was that this bible did not have any extras like maps or a concordance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Useful format

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Calgarycol
Location:Calgary, Alberta
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being able to compare versions without having two different translations/interpretations open is very handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Feltham-rickard
I had to purchase this bible from the States as it's very hard to find in the UK. I'm glad I did. The bible is very well finished and with the option of putting your mane on the cover made it that much more personal. A great service and wonderful product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert
Extremely simple to follow verse-by-verse - numbered for easy cross reference? What did he mean by this? It's right there!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The NIV/Message Parallel Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chaundrea Fizer
Love the bible but I gave it 4 stars because it doesn't have a concordance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>