Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing The Complete Guide to the Bible

Barbour Publishing The Complete Guide to the Bible

Less like a lecture and more like a friend talking! Because the Bible can be intimidating to newcomers, Miller's user-friendly, jargon-free handbook is aimed at helping people quickly grasp the nuts and bolts of Scripture. The helpful format, captivating writing, and beautifully illustrated pages entice you in---and keep you lingering and learning throughout! 512 pages, softcover from Barbour.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Review 1 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gayle Wilkins
Location:AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent choice for someone who wants a quick guide to the Word. Very attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
stepinkc
Location:MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has to be the best book that I have ever read..I had very little knowledge of the bible, but the pictures and text are absolutely informative and very easy to understand..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very informative about the bible

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patt
Location:Amite, La.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book. It really explains the bible. Everyone should own this book that believes in the Lord Jesus Christ.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Crane
this is a wonderful guide to all the books of the Bible. Indespensable for any one who loves to study the Bible, as it explains in easy to understand language the authors, purpose and outlines of each book. I found it facsinating, and highly recommend it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janie
After reading this book, I was so sad that you had so little excitement in God's miracles. It seems like you shrug off everyone and everything as just an everyday occurrence. God did amazing things! God is miraculous and we are lowly people. God deserves the acknowledgment of his miracles. I have been reading through many of your books and I am again noticing that you are leaning very liberal in your Biblical views.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
claudia delong
I liked a lot of what you said and showed. That was good. But I thought you said a lot of things in a flippant manner. Revelation, you just really blew it. You made it sound immature and not important at all. I was very suprised.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
JoeM
This is my first time reading a book authored by Miller. The Complete Guide to the Bible is everything I had hoped it would be. It offers excellent reading as one would read a book. It also offers itself as an excellent study book. I am using it as a reference work and it will have a prominent space in my study.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charles A.
This is a great book! Not only does it give a summary of the books of the Bible, but it gives interesting facts about the time and place the book was written. A must for beginners and veteran readers of the Bible.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beverly Simpson
i have not read all the book yet, but what i have read is great. this is a book you can read over and over just like the Bible. giving you facts that you never thought of. the bible is tops when reading but this book is wonderful if you want to study and compare your thoughts .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Garfield Boston
This is a great book for people who are just trying to read the bible from cover to cover. The illustrations are top notch. And the background info. on the characters and history are very informative. the text is down to earth. It's very useful if you read it along with each chapter in the bible that you are reading. (Garfield's wife, Lisa)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jerry Pollard
I teach an adult Sunday School Class and this book has helped me immensely.It has so many interesting facts that have added fresh insight for the lesson.I have many different study bibles but this book correlates so many verses in such a thought provoking way that I now refer to it first in preparing for Sunday.Great buy!I have reordered the book for gifts.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gayle Johnson
I have ordered several of these. It makes reading the Bible so easy--each chapter/book can be a devotional over an entire book of the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Hartman
this is a great book.. i learned so much..i bought all my kids one for christmas..i couldnt of gotten them a better gift
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debora Caponi
This is yet another book from Stephen M. Miller to find a permanent place in my Bible resource library. It is sophisticated, yet simple all at the same time. Often, books on the Bible are, frankly, boring and seem to drag on to the point I often abandon reading them despite honorable intentions.This one includes beautiful, colored illustrations that spark your imagination and transport you back thousands of years ago.The word "complete" aptly describes this book as it covers Genesis through Revelation. Every book includes a summarization of Main Point, Writer, Date and Location.I love, love, love the generous number of short, colorful vignettes all along the way that catch your interest and provide all sorts of Bible "cool to knows".While easy to read, this book gives you the "nitty gritty" details, but always comes back to the big picture and important take-a-ways. The author asks us intriguing questions to ponder while sharing the differing, common day answers according to today's theologians.This book tops my list to give as a gift for friends and family no matter what point they are in their Christian journey.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dr. Wilbur Glenn Williams
The book is singular is so many ways: the freshness of Millers expressions in the way he presents his material. The unusual format is great, the information is excellently presented. The larger than usual type makes it more desirable for older people. It is concise, yet complete. It is brief, yet thorough. It will challenge the average Bible reader, yet please the scholar. It is broad in scope, yet succinct in information. It is colorful in both pictorial presentation and verbal expression. It presents alternate views without bias. It is detailed, yet to the point. I suggest it will be of special of interest to all Christian public high school and home school students, all libraries, and all pastors book shelves, and church school teachers resource materials.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paul Nixon
Stephen Miller's book was written to be "an easy-reading Bible reference book." Anyone who loves to read and study the Bible will find this reference source a treasure. Written in clear, understandable language, each book of the Bible (from Genesis to Revelation) is presented with a description of the books' context (main point, writer, date, location), important characters, and exposition of selected scriptures and topics. Ancillary features include helpful charts, colorful pictures and artwork, and sidebars explicating terms, events, concepts, etc. found in each book. I give it "two-thumbs up" and recommend it for personal Bible study libraries, and for academic libraries whose institutions support curriculum in Biblical Studies, as an introduction for beginning students.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ken
This book is exactly what the title says: A complete guide to the Bible. Miller once again shows his strong intellect. This book offers amazing photographic illustations that are simply amazing, and the book is very well written and explained in a very understanding format.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev. Dr. Bill Calvin
A fun way to learn about a heavy book. I love the sidebars such as "The Dream Interpreter's Handbook" and "Did People Really Live Hundreds of Years?" Succinct, well-informed explanations of controversial Biblical issues set it apart from most other Bible Guides. The eye-popping photographs and wit of the author make it uniquely valuable to beginners and old pros.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Betty Beard
What a wonderful companion for any student or teacher of God's Word! Where Miller's delightful word-pictures leave off, there are great maps, beautiful art and spectacular photographs that demand, not just a passing glance, but that one stops and spend time soaking in all of the intricate details. The Complete Guide To The Bible is a must to have as you journey through the most beautiful story every told. Most likely my copy will never make it to the shelf, but stay next to my Bible as a constant source of reference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Complete Guide to the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard Dalfiume
Stephen M. Miller keeps a streak alive of writing some of the most innovative, colorful, and basic guides available for Bible study. The Complete Guide to the Bible presents book by book synopses introduced by Main Point, Writer, Date, Location from Genesis through Revelation.The concept and the writing are guided by the authors imperative: I didnt write this for folks who understand Christian jargon. I wrote it for curious people who have more questions about the Bible than answers. Thus we find manna and quail that sustained the Jews in the wilderness described as fast food from heaven, the tabernacle as a mobile worship center, the Psalms as singing the blues for God, among many other descriptions and concepts using modern language from daily life. Throughout one finds fascinating details about Bible times, an abundance of beautiful artwork, numerous cross references and a magnificent index. While aimed at the Bible study novice, I predict that the more experienced purchasing this volume for beginner friends and loved ones will become so taken when browsing before gift wrapping that they will add a copy to their own libraries. There is plenty of substance here for Bible students at all levels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>