Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984

Zondervan NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984

The NIV Thinline Reference Bible packs easily and goes anywhere - but when you want to dig deep into God's Word, its center-column reference system is more than up to the task. Measuring just over one-inch thick, this Bible is perfect for carrying in a totebag, backpack, briefcase, or glove compartment. But its study tools make it a heavyweight when it comes to searching the Scriptures.

Features include:
  • Beautiful, durable new binding style
  • Center-column reference system with references based on key words, phrases, and concepts
  • Handy compact size
  • Double-column format
  • Presentation page
  • Ribbon marker
  • Words of Christ in red letter
  • Concordance
  • 8 full-color maps.
  • 5-point text
  • Section subject headings
  • Footnotes
  • Table of Weights and Measures
  • NIV Concordance
  • Gold gilded page edges
  • 4.5" X 6.75" X 1.2"
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Review 1 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

3.5 stars

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tunesareus
Location:Virginia
The quality of the cover on this Bible is good; smells like leather. The stitching and color combination is nice too. The cross references are plentiful, but there's not much in the way of alternative or original meanings for old or uncommon words. The font is small (I expected that from the description, so I haven't rated lower for that) but still quite readable. However, the print is light, which reduces visibility on already small print. This Bible is small and light enough to be very portable without being too tiny, but the pages are harder to turn because they're so thin (an issue with a lot of Thinline Bibles). I guess it's all in what's more important to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High quality Bible at unbelievably low price!

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
VisaliaRS
Location:Visalia, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot believe I was able to get this beautiful leather bound Bible for such a low price!!! It snaps shut and fits in my purse. It's just what I was looking for! Christianbook.com provided excellent service, as well! Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
barbara
Location:Gray, Ga.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed that the print was so small. Wish I had known before I ordered. Other than that one exception, the quality of the product was excellent.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
majacko
Location:Wheatland, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift. Was the perfect size for their needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
JeniWB
Location:Munich Germany
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just the right size to throw in your purse! I carried it on the plane as I traveled to and from Europe and America. Just the size to take around with me every where I go. I bonded leather cover ensures that I won't be needing to buy a new one any time soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very happy with my purchase.

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
darv
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality, very easyto read and paper is of good quality. I wish the cover was softer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
grumpy gramps
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My wife finds the print hard to read. Not only is it small, but too light in some places. Print color (black to grey) varies a lot.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Bible

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
TBwitz
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. Compact. I take it everywhere I go. My previous compact Bible was falling apart and I searched everywhere for a new one. CBD was the last place someone suggested and the price was very reasonable. Granted the print is small, but I manage. I would not recommend this Bible as a gift for a person that has a difficult time seeing. Otherwise this is a handy little book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
koris
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Leather flap is awesome for tossing the Bible in the backpack. 1984 edition is more familiar for some of us :-) Glad I could find this Bible!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is the perfect size for travel

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Bailey
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the size to fit in luggage. I was primarily looking for a compact size for when I travel. The quality of the duo-tone leather cover is really nice. This Bible fit my needs perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the one!

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alan Paiz
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I have a good, big study Bible I use at home and church, but I was shopping specifically for a Bible I could carry around in my backpack. I reviewed many online over several days before taking a chance on this compact Bible . . . Its size and weight are perfect for my backpack, the button flap works to protects its pages from all the other things I throw in the bag, and the text is large enough to read comfortably. This is a perfectly-sized Bible for backpacks, guitar cases, maybe even some large purses, etc. I wholly enjoy it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arlette Ricks
I loved the that the bible was purse size, the center reference and the imitation leathercover; however, I only wish the text could have been 7 or 8 point.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pattye Benion-coleman
I purchased this as a gift for a friend who wanted a bible she could carry with her. She thought it was great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa Sulfridge
I haven't had it long enough to use it much yet, but it seems to be a nice high quality Bible. My criteria when searching for this Bible was small, burgandy, leather bound, NIV Bible w/a snap flap, words of Christ in red, & a concordance. I was pleased to be able to find one that met all of my criteria.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roger Mozingo
Great reference bible. I use it all the time at work. It's small enough to put in your desk drawer or glovebox of your car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christina Harris
Great for a young student to use. Compact and very durable on outside. Wish the pages were just a little "thicker" - my son will have to be careful not to tear pages. Otherwise, he really likes the bible (especially with his name inscribed on the front)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jesse Whitehouse
I picked this up to use as a backpack bible while I'm on campus, as my cheaper Bible had begun falling apart. I chose it because it's print was larger than any other thinline Bible I found. It's an easy to carry size, and it has the perfect width to make it easy to flip around quickly. My only wish is that it had a lace bookmark sewn in, but that's only a minor caveat. If you want to save your eyes some trouble, and still carry a lightweight NIV, I'd certainly recommend this edition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Andrea Anderson
The print is small, but I love that it is portable and that the button flap protects the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Compact Thinline Reference Bible, bonded burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
---
I was looking for something compact and this was it! Definitely love it's size. Although I really didn't like the bonded leather (it feels like plastic), I began to appreciate it's durability. Have to have Christ's words in red. Would prefer a bigger font size because I'm blind but it's still bearable. All in all, mostly love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.