Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984

Complete with study helps and tools, the popular NIV Compact Thinline Bible goes everywhere you do. Measuring less than an inch thick, its manageable size makes the NIV Compact Thinline Bible easy to carry along in a tote bag, briefcase, or the glove compartment.
  • Presentation Page
  • 6 point text
  • Double-column format
  • Words of Christ in Red
  • Footnotes
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Concordance
  • Ribbon Marker
  • Silver gilded edges
  • Bonded Leather Navy
  • 4 1/4" x 6 1/2" x 3/4"
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Review 1 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Good Back-Pocket Bible

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dave
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my brother who wanted a Bible that was able to fit in his back jean pocket. Not only does this Bible fit snugly, but it also is made of good quality material. The words are small; however, they are sharp and able to be read from an average distance with average eyes. From the response and use that my brother has now given it I think that it is a good purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Print very small

Date:September 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
junglejoy
Location:Gresham, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My main purpose in the purchase of this Bible was to have an NIV version that our pastor uses to preach from to take to church with me. My NIV study Bible is way too big for me to lug around and my smaller Bibles are different translations. Fortunately, my eyesight with glasses still permits me to read the small print, but anyone with even slight deterioration of eyesight would have problems. I knew this ahead of time, but decided to purchase it for what I needed it for despite the small print! and I would do it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent all around Bible.

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
BZimm
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is great. Perfect size to fit in a backpack, glove compartment, or desk. I bought this for myself while I am going through Spiritual Boot Camp and it is a perfect size to bring with me everywhere. If I all of the sudden want or need to read a passage it is there with me all the time in my car or bag.
The quality of the Bible is great and the print is perfect for me. However, I am a 28 year old so my eyes are just fine. My mother looked at it and said that the print would have to be larger for her.
I would highly recommend this Bible if you are looking for a compact go to Bible that you can take everywhere you can't beat its price and quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
George in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bible was small in size like I wanted, therefore, the type was small also. By looking at the examples of type in the example, I thought it would be larger than it was. However, it is readable. A big plus for the bible is that the pages are thick enough that the print isn't visible from the other side. I didn't have any problem with the red letter print that others had mentioned. All in all, I am satisfied with my bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
topher
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's great for travel, if you don't want alot of bulk, but not good for those of us whose eyesight is becoming suspect. Thank you :)
Topher
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Small and Amazingly Easy to Read

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
bb in AZ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my new Bible, and it is very nice having my name etched in the cover. It is small and lightweight so easy to carry with me everywhere. Despite being small, it is very clear to read - the type is printed clearly and crisply.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very portable

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tawnya Tenhouse
Location:Quincy, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible is a "compct" Bible. It is small and the print is too, so keep this in mind. If you are looking for a small Bible to go with you everywhere, this is perfect. It fits in a purse, backpack or keep it in your car.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Did not meet expectations, But likable nonetheless

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Truprazer
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Bible was much smaller and shorter than I'd expected. I have the taller thinline Bible, which I really like. I gave my husband an engraved compact thinline Bible for his birthday. I was so surprised to see how short it was, and I was surprised to see that it was also a little thicker than my thinline. Additionally, the pages seem flimsier than my Bible. However, my husband says that he really likes it, and he travels with it everywhere. Because of this as well as the nice leather cover, I gave it 4 stars. God bless!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am happy with my purchase.

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Toots
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have several bibles amd bible dictionaries. When traveling, I like the thin line, compact bible. It has a beautiful cover with my name stamped in nice script. It really has class.
Thanks,
Diane Allen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
This review is fromNIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded burgundy 1984.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

disappointed with color

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
MCNY
Location:Queens, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed with the burgundy color. Its not a deep burgundy as shown on line. The color actually has more red. The bookstores near me only carried black so I wasn't able to check out other colors except on line. The image on the website of the color burgundy is very misleading. (CBD please take a better picture to show the true color!) If I had known the burgundy is actually a lot brighter, I would've chosen the black. Unfortunately I won't be able to return it because I had a name imprinted. I was only dissatisfied with the color. But very pleased with the compact size. And the font isn't too small in my opinion. The pages feel a bit delicate and super thin compared to a compact bible someone gave me years ago which is The International Bible Society bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tyler Orrell
Exactly what I was looking for. Perfect size to fit into pockets for taking with me. Color and design is also very nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
This review is fromNIV Compact Thinline, Limited Edition, Italian Duo-Tone, Muted Violet/Chocolate 1984.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Taylor
This Bible is not the color shown on the internet. It is more of a periwinkle. I was disappointed as it was a gift to a girl who did not have a Bible and her favorite color is purple. If it would have been as shown, it would have been perfect. I would have returned it, but I had her name put on the front.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
This review is fromNIV Compact Thinline, Limited Edition, Italian Duo-Tone, Muted Violet/Chocolate 1984.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gina
I like the Bible; however, I'm very disappointed in the color advertised. This Bible is NOT purple/brown; nor is it muted violet/chocolate. The color is actually blue or periwinkle. I ordered this item for 6 young teens, in hopes that their love for the color purple would cause them to cherish & read their Bibles. In addition, I had their names engraved on each Bible. I feel I was mislead regarding the appearance of this item.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
This review is fromNIV Compact Thinline, Limited Edition, Italian Duo-Tone, Toasted Almond/Chocolate 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Morse
If you are looking for a Bible that is easy to carry around then look no further. This is a nice-looking, inexpensive Bible that transports well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joseph Hostetler
If you want a bible to take with you or if you just like a small bible, this one is great. The cover looks great, and it is very light weight. We are very happy with this product. Thank You,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shu-Huei Su
the size is proper for carrying, andthe size of text also good for reading. it's a good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Denise Allen
The bible is excellent and the colors are awesome.Perfect size for those who are on the run. Text is a good size as well.However,I didn't receive it with the order I 1st placed. I ordered it on 2/12 and did not received it till 3/3 . I had called them 2/29 and notified them I was still waiting for my order. They re sent it via UPS and I was able to received it in 3 days.The product is amazing but the shipping process is not one of the greatest.The reason for five stars is for the product only but no stars for shipping process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kate Payne
I am very pleased with this mini-Bible. It arrived very promptly and is just as it was described.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Erin Berky
This is a beautiful Bible! I purchased this because I wanted a small, compact Bible I could carry in my purse for easy reading at work on lunches. It is the perfect size for a purse and the leather cover is great. I only took off the .5 because the font was a lot smaller than I thought it would be. But what can you expect from a compact Bible? This is truly one of the best if you are looking for a Bible you can easily carry with you everywhere you go.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Compact Thinline Bible, bonded navy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Charity Baugh
This is a nice size bible for anyone that likes to carry something in their purse or small bag. They come in beautiful colors and are fun to have. Easy to read and makes a great gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.