Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1

Harvest House Publishers The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1

A carved box with two locks of hair, the title to property in Switzerland, and a burning desire to learn about her biological family lead nurse midwife Lexie Jaeger from Oregon to Pennsylvania. There Lexie pledges to help her biological Aunt Melia, a lay midwife who has been charged with manslaughter after an Amish client and her baby die. Lexie always knew she was adopted, and when she finally meets her birth grandmother, she feels she has come home-until secrets begin to unravel.secrets that could tear her birth family apart.

Lexie learns the true meaning of the Pennsylvania Dutch word demut, which means "to let be" as she changes from a woman who wants to control everything to a woman who depends on God.

Average Customer Rating:
4.836 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
54 out of 5598%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Review 1 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
This review is fromAmish Midwife, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's Got Everything

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I found this book a bit slow to start with, by the time I finished, I was looking forward to reading the next one in the series. Lexie, an adopted Mennonite nurse/midwife, goes on a journey of self discovery after her adopted father presents her with a mysterious wooden box on his deathbed. There are so many secrets and mysteries as she searches and delves into her Amish birth family's roots, trying to discover her own roots, the reasons she was rejected, and most of all just needing to find love. There is laughter, drama, lots of suspense and mystery, and a little bit of romance. This book has just got it all and I recommend it to any lover of good Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
This review is fromAmish Midwife, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the read

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dee Kranz
Location:Prince George BC Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real life issues on midwifery from different perspectives. Definite slant towards the medical model
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
quilty
Location:Lancaster, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent reading. Held your interest, every chapter. Suspense throughout. Can't wait to read the other books with one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grandma
Location:Blue Ridge, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well written. Good price. Good plot. Easy to purchase without leaving your home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tootsie
Location:Ionia, Mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was intrigued with the mystery in the book, and the out come. Could hardly wait to read the rest of the story in
"The Amish Nanny!" Would recommend this series to all who enjoy the stories of the Amish.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lana
Location:Canada ON
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best amish book I ever red. Gonna get the second one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This story is a great read ...

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
trickey rickey
Location:Coquitlam B.C. Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book as with most of the other amish family stories that you carry is a great read..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

insightful and intriguing

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
fingers
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Those of us who have been raised outside either the Amish or the Mennonite culture will find this insightful and educational. I enjoyed the unfolding of the mystery as the main characters pursued their roots and grew in the depth of their individual characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianreader
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a huge reader, but I read this book within a week and had a difficult time putting it down. I am finishing up the sequel, the Amish Nanny, which is equally as good! I'm wondering if there will be a 3rd book in this series. I just ordered some more books by Mindy today. I love a good mystery and from a Christian perspective is even better :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good books - Mindy continued to write great books!

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adey
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had recently purchased and read The Amish Midwife and The Amish Nanny co-written by Mindy Starns Clark and I thought they were quite well done. I'm a huge fan of the Amish so add mystery to that and I'm there! I decided to try 4 of her stand-alone books as well and WOW! They were just fantastic! I found them easy to read, and yet the storylines were unique and mysterious. The books had enough substance that it made me want to keep reading even if it was late at night :)
Highly recommend all 4 of Mindy's stand-alone books (Whispers of the Bayou, Shadows of Lancaster County, Under the Cajun Moon and Secrets of Harmony Grove). She starts with a climax in the first few chapters and keeps the intensity there throughout the rest of the book! Next on my list to buy is her Million Dollar Mystery series and I can't wait!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this book. Although the first 60 pages or so were not very interesting to me. But when Lexie finally meets her aunt Marta it became very interesting. Short after that I could hardly stop reading. When the end came I stayed up till 3 AM to finish the book.
Wow... it is amazingly good written!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A complex and interesting storyline

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Cain
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had some trouble getting into this book. I felt that I wanted the mystery and adventure to take place... but it might of been just me racing through a novel. Either way once I got into the novel and slowed down to enjoy it and try to figure out the twists and turns as well as the issue of abandonment Lexie struggled with I did enjoy this novel... so much that I have finished reading at 4:30 in the morning and decided to write a review while looking into the second book of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathyob
Location:topeka kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cried when i read this book and that doesnt happen often! Very well done, moving story line
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Amish Midwife-GREAT Book

Date:June 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was sent to me by Harvest House Publishers in exchange for a Review.
A dusty carved box containing two locks of hair and a century-old letter regarding property in Switzerland, and a burning desire to learn about her biological family lead nurse-midwife Lexie Jaeger from her home in Oregon to the heart of Pennsylvania Amish country. There she meets Marta Bayer, a mysterious lay-midwife who desperately needs help after an Amish client and her baby die.
Lexie steps in to assume Marta’s patient load even as she continues the search for her birth family, and from her patients she learns the true meaning of the Pennsylvania Dutch word demut, which means “to let be” as she changes from a woman who wants to control everything to a woman who depends on God.
This book is the first book in "The Women of Lancaster County series. I can't wait until the second book comes out.
This book is one of the best books I have read. I wasn’t too sure if I wanted to read it or not but decided to give it a try. It is a GREAT book about someone who was adopted and trying to locate her birth family. When Lexie Jaeger’s dad passes away, he tells her about a little box and she looks on the inside of the box, and finds all kinds of things. Then she goes to Pennsylvania to try to locate her birth family and there are a lot of stumbling blocks because of secrets. But, this book is a GREAT book, this is one book I did not want to put down. I went on break at work and forgot about the time and was almost late to go back to work.
You will enjoy this book, it is wonderful. I most definitely would suggest this book to my friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anita Batey
Location:Scottsboro, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book is a good combination of Amish culture, a bit of romance and a bit of mystery. I am looking forward to the other books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book--good story line-

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sue Gibson
Location:Tennessee
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a book I found hard to put down--It kept my interest --I will look forward to more in the future-
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not just for lovers of Amish fiction

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
erpsgirl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould comprise a great writing team as authors of The Amish Midwife. The mystery that surrounds Lexie Jaegar and the search for her story, draw the reader quickly through the pages and leave a yearning to hear more about all of characters.
The Amish Midwife is not just for those who enjoy Amish fiction. It contains mystery, discovery and a great Mindy Starns Clark twist that truly surprised me. The book also gives great insight to the struggle many adoptees incur in the search for their birth and medical history. I look forward to more titles in this series.
I received a copy of this book for my review from Harvest House Publishers and Mindy Starns Clark.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Got Better all the Way

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maureen Gerhard
Location:Orwigsburg,PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book from beginning to end. It actually got better and better. Hope for a sequel !!!Since I live close to Lancaster county I could picture everything she was tlaking about. Great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Much More than Another Amish Book

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nurse Midwife Lexie Jaeger's father dies which sends are on the hunt for her birth family. She takes what she thinks is a detour to help Marta Bayer, a midwife who is in trouble with the law. This plants Lexie firmly in the middle of Pennsylvania Amish country and what feels like a detour may not be one after all.
This book is set in an Amish location, but really shows the difference between Mennonite and Amish. The Amish was a detail, but not really the driver of the plot -- I actually prefer the way Mindy does that in her books. I also liked how the theme of Demut (To let be) wove through the story. Can Lexie let the past go, or must she push through to find answers? And how many lives will be uprooted in the process? Is it worth the hurt to find the truth?
The characters are richly drawn and I was completely engaged in the search from page one. I cared deeply and had to know how things would turn out. And now I have to know what happens to Ada. But I have a feeling that story will be in the next book.
Mindy and Leslie pulled off what I would think is the hardest part of co-authoring...making a book read like it was authored by one person. I was so impressed with the way this first person book was seamless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Amish Midwife, Women of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Search for Truth

Date:March 26, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m always a bit skeptical when one of my favorite authors teams up with another author to produce a book. Will my favorite author’s voice be heard? Will the resulting text be worth the time spent reading it? I am happy to say this time I was very pleased. Mindy Starns Clark has been one of my favorite authors but I had personally not read anything by Leslie Gould. In the future I will be looking for more of Ms. Gould’s work.
The story revolves around Lexie Jaeger who is a nurse-midwife in Oregon. From an early age she knows she is adopted, but has little information about her family of origin. With a death bed confession of her adopted father, Lexie’s quest to find out her story begins.
Lexie’s journey to find the truth takes her to Lancaster, Pennsylvania where she agrees to help out a lay midwife who has found herself in a bit of legal trouble. The twists and turns in the story make it a very quick read.
The story left me with new insights into the feelings of adopted children, even those who wind up in very wonderful adopted families. Before this book I had never really thought much about the types of loss and abandonment they would feel. I highly recommend this book to all lovers of Amish fiction. This isn’t your run of the mill story; it is definitely set apart by the different subject matters that are brought out within the text.
I received a copy of this book from Havest House Publishers and Mindy Starns Clark for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.