Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984

A study Bible in the NIV designed specifically to inspire and inform women of color.

Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible gives you perspectives and insights that focus God’s Word directly on the world of today’s African-American woman. Updating and expanding the features that have made its predecessor, the Women of Color Study Bible, a favorite of African-American women, this Bible also adds brand-new features, an attractive new design that emphasizes ease of use, and the full text of today’s most read, most trusted modern Bible translation, the New International Version.

100 "Inspire" notes offer insight from God’s Word on issues of life and leadership. 90 all-new prayers tied to Scripture help guide your personal prayers. 95 "From God" notes encourage you to see yourself through God’s eyes. 140 "African Presence" notes reveal the African influence in Scripture.
 
Other Features
  • Complete New International Version text
  • 50 quotes scattered throughout the text offer the wisdom of African-American women
  • 75 full-page "Women of the Bible" profiles unlock lessons from the lives of biblical women
  • 66 book introductions and outlines
  • Front matter including "Family Roots" family tree
  • Reading plans, color maps, cross-references, NIV concordance, index, and more
  • Two-color interior
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Presentation page
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
30 out of 3294%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Review 1 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I found this bible EXCELLENT in contents

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this bible very informative about the African History in the bible, but the writing is very small and the numbers in front of the scriptures are almost impossible to see. I really like it and would recommend to anyone especially women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible

Date:May 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Rev
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible is a fine publication. It addresses the importance of women of biblical history, and their life experiences. So many of the stories of these courageous women have been downplayed or forgotten. The messages in the stories are essential for all women, and women of color in particular. Women are able to identify with many of the characters, and women are able to grasp the messages from the essays of the women who have written. Aspire is an outstanding publication.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Has some use as ref. bk.

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
biblerich
Location:Chicago Il
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Use this bible as a reference work. Good for getting tangent slant.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Benson
Location:Yorkton, SK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this to a Pastor as a gift and she loved it so much and she wants to get copies for her friends as gift.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like the features and cultural references.

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
WomanofGod
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This womans bible is relevant to culture for me. It helps with teaching others about identifying places, locations and people and putting their lives in perspective with holy living.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
LMarie
Location:Milton, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible it was just what I was looking for! I am as always happy with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very inspiring

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
LadyJ
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the greatest books I have ordered from you all. In fact I order two, the first one inspired me so much I gave it to my co-worker and ordered the hard copy for my self.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobcat
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the bible ,but the words are to light,and most of it is written in red and it makes it hard for me to read since the lettering is printed light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very informative.

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Granny A
Location:Highland Park, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for My teen grand daughters . I wanted the Word that they could understand and that used every day terms. All four of them loved this Bible and began reading as soon as they opened their gift. Excellent price too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia Bernoukh
Location:Arlington, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good; gave as a gift and it was suggested that I also gift it to another "secret sister" . . . good price, good buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
MJ CAN
Location:San Pedro, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite study Bible with great illustrations and inspirational messages woven throughout God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study bible

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
victoryah
Location:Danville, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent study bible for women of any background .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this bible.

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Collins
Location:Monticello, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good bible with a lot of information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lady Lou
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The contents are fine. I don't like the cover. the paper is too thin. I have already run into problems with the covers. I have now made two unnessessary Bible purchases that I don't want. In addition to this latest one, I previously purchased from Christianbook the "TNIV True Identity Bible for Women." The page numbers in this bible are annoyingly not visible. I'm now wasting my money :-(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique Encouragement

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
flowersbell
Location:Lawrenceville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have many bibles (ESV, NIV, NASB, NKJV, etc) and then I also have several study bibles; this bible is unique in that it offers some commentary specific to the needs of African-American women. God loves us all unconditionally; race is not his issue. However, race is a reality of society, thus, a bible that offers additional words of encouragement is indeed an additional treasure.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
GraSpe
Location:Detroit, MI
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is a perfect gift for young women and women who are serious about Bible study. Women and men can search out women in the Bible who fit all types of categories and positive role models can be found. I try to order two at a time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Women of Color Bible

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa Lewis
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I bought 2 Women of Color bibles for my neices and they loved it. They can understand the bible easily. And is reading it daily. I will buy 2 more one for myself and another one for my other niece.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved the whole make-up of this bible.

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bettye Sullivan
Location:Fresno, Ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is made for easy studying. I have the original leather-bound one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the look

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shelli
Location:Bloomfield, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very nice bible I gave to a new convert and she loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Aspire: The New Women of Color Study Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT :-))

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
TaKisha
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an EXCELLENT study bible. :-) It is full of wonderful references and profiles. The notes from God and quick prayers are beautiful. The entire bible leaves you feeling refreshed from studying His Word and proud to be a beautiful Black Woman. I recommend this to ANYONE you are considering purchasing this for. Buy it for yourself, you will be blessed. May our Heavenly Father and Savior Bless you. :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>