Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers At the Throne of Grace

Harvest House Publishers At the Throne of Grace

Bible teacher MacArthur has a passion for honoring God, obeying his Word, and proclaiming Christ as Lord---and he invites you to join him! Bringing together select readings from over 40 years of his ministry, this collection of prayers and Scripture will stir your heart to pursue a deeper, more meaningful communion with God. 208 pages, hardcover from Harvest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for At the Throne of Grace
Review 1 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So inspiring!!!! Love this book!

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Providence
Location:TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this book every night.
You won't regret purchasing this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
kankar
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent for people who have times of aimless prayers or busy schedules that make the mind wander.
This helps to focus on the Almighty God with wonderful and honoring words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joann
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly respect John MacArthur for his many years of in- depth Bible Study. This book is full of spiritual gems. It's a resource I will treasure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sara
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't usually like to read other people's prayers, but I really love this book. The prayers are almost like mini sermons with Bible references. I bought extras to give as gifts. Very inspirational.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought, convicting yet uplifting prayers

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lloyd Davidson
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prayers from the pulpit by one of America's most learned, contemporary theologian's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Standing "At the Throne of Grace"

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seminary has a bad reputation, at times. I enjoyed it. Having said that, there is one thing that it did not teach me - it did not teach me how to pray. Oh, I know, prayer is speaking to God. But when a pastor is in the pulpit prayer can feel very uncomfortable - not only is God listening to the prayer, but so is the congregation. One would hope that we are only praying for God, but most pastors are aware that there is that second audience present as well.
John MacArthur’s At The Throne of Grace proves that point. His prayers, if truely said from the Sunday pulpit as the book claims, is as much about teaching as it is about speaking to God.
Each prayer begins with a brief scripture reading and a devotional - then comes the sample prayer. The prayers are well-written - a pleasure to read; though, as a pastor, I would feel uncomfortable using them in a worship service. Here is a portion of a prayer following a devotional on I John 2:1-19:
Dear Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow,
we confess that You alone are the giver of every good and perfect gift, (1)
and You have given us so many things,
richly supplying us with things to enjoy. (2)
And we are reminded by the passage we have just read that
the greatest gift of all is Your Son, Jesus Christ,
who sacrificed His very life in order that
we might be freed from sin’s bondage.
Fill our hearts with gratitude, and may our lives
reflect overflowing thankfulness
so that all who see may honor You.
In the name of Jesus Christ we pray. Amen.
_______________________________________________
1. James 1:17
2. I Timothy 6:17
The most helpful part of the book is how it has directed my attention to other books on prayer:
Alexander MacLaren, Pulpit Prayers
C H Spurgeon, The Pastor In Prayer
Richard Foster, Sanctuary of the Soul: Journey into Meditative Prayer
Stormie Omartian, Powerful Prayers For Troubled Times
Richard Kriegbaum, Leadership Prayers
Those of the ones that I added to my reading list as a result of starting MacArthur’s book of prayers. Each reader will want to add their own selection as they continue to think about the role prayer will play in their own life.
Do you want to learn to pray? Begin by praying. Then read the prayers of those who have gone before - let them teach us.
This review is based on a free, electronic copy provided by the publisher prior to publication of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
tina
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful collection of pastoral Scriptural prayers and can be prayed by the reader. Christ centered and God glorifying!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Total Blessing!

Date:November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sonshine
Location:Benicia, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John MacArthur has been an example to all of us of how to enter the throne of grace. I appreciate how the scripture is written the book and then prayed. I've set it on my kitchen table to read each morning. I hope to give as Christmas gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thomas Brubaker
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wonderful devotional to have. It doesn't replace our own time in prayer, but it is a good guide.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must have for your library!

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John MacArthur may be best known for his roles as pastor, teacher and bible scholar but the foreword of his new book gives readers special insight to his role as a father. I was moved to tears when I read what his children humbly wrote about him:
“Our theology was shaped by the words our dad prayed…”
“By God’s grace our dad has been what he preaches…”
The MacArthur childrens’ love for their father is tangible through the words they write on the pages preceding the intimate collection of their father's prayers that they urged him to share with others. It was because of their admiration and respect for their father, that they encouraged him to share what they had been immersed in growing up. Their testimony is a powerful legacy to the man that so many respect and look up to.
This collection of John MacArthur’s prayers is majestic, inspiring and calming. A sense of peace and serenity comes over the reader as they contemplate the powerful prayers of a man who has walked many years with God. These prayers are elegant and stately but at the same time profoundly simple. This book is a must have for those wanting to add a prayer book to their library.
The book is divided into 6 main sections and the last section has two prayers, one for Christmas and one for Easter. I highly recommend this book for yourself or as a gift.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Worship Source

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
What a wonderful source for worship!
The book is divided into these categories:
Prayers on Worship and the Attributes of God
Prayers on Joy and Longing
Prayers on the Cross and the Gospel
Prayers on Personal Holiness
Prayers on Useful Service
Prayers on Holy Seasons
Categories are further divided into sections. Each section begins with a portion of scripture, followed by a prayer, that reflects the scripture.
Thank you to FirstWildCard and Karri James at Harvest House Publishers for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Privilige To Read

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a great privilege in being able to review this awesome book! John MacArthur has been an important part of my spiritual life for many years.
This is the Publisher's Description and it says it all: Announcing a special new release from Bible teacher John MacArthur...a select collection of powerful Scripture readings and prayers that inspire heartfelt communion with God and gratitude for all that He is and has done for us.
This book will guide readers, in the most intimate way possible, before God's throne of grace...giving them a renewed passion and appreciation for their Lord.
I can't begin to tell you how much I "Love" this book.
Before we begin digesting these wonderful chapter, John begins with Prayers on Worship and the Attributes of God....Ahh! We then head into Prays on Joy and Longing and Prayers on the Cross and the Gospel! Something we all need...Prayers on Personal Holiness and where a lot of us lack...Prayers on Useful Service.
I highly recommend this book, if I could give it 10 starts or more ...I would!!!
I received this book from the Publisher Harvest House, and was not required to give a positive review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for At the Throne of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2011
This book is a collection of over 50 prayers collected from the years of John MacArthur's ministry. These beautiful prayers are based on Scripture and will bring you closer to God. Divided into six sections (Prayers on Worship and the Attributes of God, Prayers on Joy and Longing, Prayers on the Cross and the Gospel, Prayers on Personal Holiness, Prayers on Useful Service, and Prayers on Holy Seasons), there are prayers for nearly any circumstance that you might find yourself in. This is a keeper and will find a special place on my bookshelf where I can read - and pray through - it over and over again throughout the years.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.