Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cornell University Press Handbook of Nature Study

Cornell University Press Handbook of Nature Study

Witness the wonders of God's creation with naturalist Comstock as your guide! From dandelions, toads, and fireflies, to robins, rocks, and weather, she takes you on a lively trek through the natural world, vividly describing the habits, habitats, and physical structures of common living and nonliving things. Includes study questions and black-and-white photographs. 887 pages, softcover from Cornell University.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Handbook of Nature Study
Review 1 for Handbook of Nature Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luvmyfam
Location:Hayden, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:female
We have just begun nature studies with our children & this book is our new favorite reference(even with several field guides on our shelves). It begins with how to conduct a nature study, goes on to give information on many different kinds of animals, insects, plants, rocks, soil, etc., as well as provides excellent questions that have made our studies more exciting because they've caused us to notice things we would'nt have without them. It is our new found treasure!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Handbook of Nature Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lecleland
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is actually free online but who wants to copy a thousand papers. This is an awesome book to use to introduce nature to your child in gods world. I am using it in the charlotte mason approach or style.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Handbook of Nature Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is wonderful for studying nature.

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
blessedmom
Location:Stephenson, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this on my wish list for a long time. Living on wooded property gives us many opportunities to explore and discover new creatures we've never seen or birds stopping by for the first time. This is a wonderful addition as the children learn and draw as they write in their nature journals.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Handbook of Nature Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I would highly recommend this book to anyone.

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Jamestown, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read reviews, so I knew in advance about the black and white photos. I was not concerned with those. I am a homeschooling mother looking to add more nature into our studies and this book, along with a nature program found online had been the perfect addition. We are loving going through the book and looking for 'answers' to our nature questions. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking to add more nature to their day/week.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Handbook of Nature Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
C.w. Hill
What a blessing this book is! So much information packed into such a wonderful book. We use it daily for our nature notebooks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Handbook of Nature Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dairy Mom
I'm glad I took the plunge and bought this great homeschool reference tool! We have started a science journal and refer to this book when we draw pictures and write about things we've seen or wonder about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Handbook of Nature Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amanda Brown
I really like this book, it loaded with lots of information, that I can share with my children while they work on their nature notebooks. This book actually has lessons and some suggested activites provided for you, which comes in handy, but I'll probably end up using it for the information as we come across things in nature. I do recommend this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Handbook of Nature Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Elisha Fig
Great information about everyday things. My kids love to learn more about things that we can find in our backyard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Handbook of Nature Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2000
Customer Avatar
Jody Courtney
We have had this book on our shelf now for about 6 years and still pull it off all the time when we have a "nature question". Last year when we had a robin nest on our front porch, we found far more information about the friendly robin than any other source...how many eggs will she lay, how long to incubate, how many worms does a baby bird eat, were all questions we found answers for. This book is written beautifully and lovingly. It is fine literature in itself. It contains student lessons which the mother/teacher can give orally or written to her students which help the student observe a speciman very intricately. You will also find beautiful poetry about your favorite things... caterpillars and crickets and more.The only thing this book lacks are colored pictures. There are many pictures included, but they are black and white. Don't let this hinder you from buying this book though. The wealth of information far outweighs the simple pictures.For those who love nature and for those who are wondering about nature, this is a "must have".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.