Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984

Zondervan NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984

An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture, The NIV Archaeological Study Bible sheds new light on the Bible. From the beginnings of Genesis to the end of Revelation, this new study Bible is filled with informative articles and full-color photographs of places and objects that will open your eyes to the historical context of the stories you read and the people you meet in Scripture. From kings and empires to weapons of war to clay pots used for carrying water, the archaeological record surrounding God's Word will help contextualize and inform your personal study.

Features:

  • 4-color interior throughout
  • Bottom of page study notes highlight and add further explanation to passages that speak on archaeological or cultural facts included in the Scripture
  • Articles (520) covering one of the following five categories:
    • Archaeological Sites (Hazor, Ugarit, Arad, Ephesus)
    • Cultural and Historical Notes (ancient seals and scarabs, perfume and anointing, the missionary journeys of Paul)
    • Ancient Peoples and Lands (the Persian empire, the history of Egypt)
    • The Reliability of the Bible (the question of the Psalm superscripts, the reliability of Judges, the ending of Mark)
    • Ancient Texts and Artifacts (the Mesha Stone, the Prayer of Confession)
  • Approximately 500 4-color photographs interspersed throughout
  • Detailed book introductions that provide basic, at-a-glance information
  • Detailed charts on pertinent topics
  • In-text color maps that assist the reader in placing the action
  • Single-column format
  • Side-column references
  • Section headings
  • Book introductions
  • Timelines
  • Hardcover
  • 8-point text
  • 9.00" x 6.00" x 2.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Review 1 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Use with Caution

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bibleanne
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I saw my friend from Church had this bible and I looked through it with fascination. So, when I was given a gift certificate for Christianbook.com, I used it to purchase the book. It has been 2 years now since that happened and I have used this book as a reference but I found that some of the articles written had a tone that appeared to discount or intimate that God did not write this book. What I mean is, the articles seem to imply that some of the laws handed down in Exodus and Leviticus was because of other cultures or borrowed from other religions. There is some good information and insight into the culture of the days, but I think this bible is for the more mature and not for beginners. I talked to my friend who first introduced me to this bible and she too felt the same way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than I expected

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Happy Reader
Location:Portland, Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was so excited to finally purchase this Bible. I know it will enhance my understanding of the Bible and things going on in the world when it was penned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it. Look forward to my study time.

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lee Christi
Location:Riverside, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This edition has excellent language simplification that is pertinent to devotional readers or scholars. The center reference is very helpful with additional corresponding scripture references to further pursue a topic. The print type is easy to read and the illustrations are a further learning opportunity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I treasure trove of historical nuggets.

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The personal size is perfect! The best Bible is one that you will read. This is the 2nd one that I have purchased. This one for my Godchild who really enjoys history and will be making his Confirmation this year. The shipping packaging could have been better. (Shipped loosely with other purchased items and several of the pages were folded over from being smashed by those items.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good deal, many insights, but font too small

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Enio Souza
Location:Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a good deal. I have a lot of Study Bibles and that's my first about this subject. Hopefully, I will get a lot of fresh insights. My only concerning is the font size. Be careful when you order this Bible. You might not be able to read without magnifying glass. Be aware of it. Even though it has this problem, I have good eyes and I'm prepared to struggle reading its text. I'm still glad I bought it. I would recommend it whether small font size isn't a big matter for you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History at a Glance

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Micki
Location:Pace, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love, Love, Love this book! It has some amazing articles in it. I get distracted sometimes just referencing all the different articles and notes in this book. It is faciniating! I have recommended this book to a number of people in my study group already!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A lot of information.

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoy all the extra information that is not available in other study bibles. Wish the print was a little bolder. Great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NIV Archaeological Study Bible

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
BJS Warner
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent NIV Bible, with the enrichment of "life and times" archaeological findings. New learning on every page. Although identified as "personal size," I do find it heavy and awkward for anything but desk-top reading. Still, it is a great library addition for serious students of Scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informative product

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fatima
Location:Makati City, Philippines
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I learned a lot about the cultural background at the time the books were written. It helped me understand the context better. It helped me a lot by supplementing my Precepts upon Precepts study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Zenia Livingston
I you really want to learn more and see how is the bible related to the past this is a great bible. I can't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Levi
I was given a NIV Archaeological Study Bible as a gift a couple of years ago. I loved it so much I found this one and gave it as a gift this Christmas. This really is an amazing tool for any Christian to use in his/her Bible study. Whether studying to prepare a sermon, or just your daily devotional it is an excellent resource.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
St Thomas' Anglican Church
The pictures, charts and articles make this an excellent study Bible. The smaller size (220cm x150cm) is good, although it is a heavy book. The print is small but with good line spacing. The words of Jesus are in red which I think should be listed as one of the Features.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert E Doedli
Outstanding!!! Just the type of information I have been seeking to strengthen my belief in Jesus Christ.Thank You much
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul Andrews
When I first visited CBD, I was specifically looking for an NIV Study Bible. I was impressed by the layout and structure of this version. Having an older NIV Study Bible I knew just about what to expect. The easy to read paragraph format, full-color photographs through out, and other enhancementeds has made the Achaelogical Study Bible an interestion an pleasant addition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Geri Gregory
I felt this was a good gift to purchase for the surgeon I work for as he leaves for another position. I am pleased with the Bible, and very pleased with CBD's service--as always.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Janes
I was extremely happy with the full color graphics, photos and articles within this bible. The presentation and layout of this bible is very impressive. The only downside is that the font size of this personal sized addition is small and may be a bit difficult to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Verona Mckenzie
I bought my copy of the Archeological Bible at a clearance counter at a popular bookshop. I told all my friends about it at our "In-Depth Bible Study" group and everyone ordered it. We use it every week and love how it is just full of excellent information. I highly recommend it. And the price is fantastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carl
The Bible is nicely laid out and the font and page color make it easy to read. It is kind of an off white. One problem I found is that there is so much information, that I am constantly wanting to look at footnotes and articles and it makes it hard to actually read through the Bible. There are references to other places in the Bible after many verses which makes me jump around a lot too. It is nice for studying, but if you just want it read and get easily distracted, this isn't the Bible for you. It is also a very big Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Archaeological Study Bible, Personal Size Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
George Keiper
Second best study bible in the world.Right after the NIV study bible.A valuble addition to my library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.