Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2

Harvest House Publishers The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2

Amish-raised Ada Rupp knows it's time to make a commitment to the faith and join the church, especially if she wants a future with the handsome Amish widower Will Gundy. But when she has the chance to travel to Switzerland as the caregiver of a young child, she leaps at the opportunity.

Anxious to learn more about her forebears, Ada enlists the help of a young Mennonite scholar named Daniel, but even as she develops feelings for him, she cannot get Will from her mind-or her heart. At a crossroads, Ada must decide what she is willing to give up from the past in order to embrace her future.

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Review 1 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
This review is fromAmish Nanny, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Enjoyable

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dee Kranz
Location:Prince George BC Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyable and insightfull Allows for different perspectives on adoption
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book has a unique and very interesting plot.

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
RJHurley
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has a theme with a different twist from other Amish novels I have read. I found that to add to its interest.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved the story

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shoe
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book was very well written and definitely held my interest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to tell you I am very stingy with my stars. When I give four, that's really like 5 or 6 on this scale. When I give 5, I guess that would be more like 10. So, I really loved this book. I had a hard time putting it down.
I loved the setting, the interesting characters, the plot ... you know, pretty much everything.
This was well written and those who love Amish fiction should not miss it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Amish Novel!

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not sure if you remember my review of the previous book in this series, The Amish Midwife, but if not, please go back and read through it:) Because I recently received a copy of the next book in the series, The Amish Nanny, for review. And I think it will be best to come into the review knowing what the previous book is about.
I have been a big fan of Mindy's previous works. I have read almost all of her books and really enjoyed them. I had never heard of Leslie Gould before reading The Amish Midwife, but after reading that one I knew I would enjoy anything else she wrote. And I was sooo right! This book is written by both Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould. It is the second book in the Women of Lancaster County Series. It follows the story of Lexie's sister, Ada, and her search for meaning in life.
One of the main reasons I love this series is all the history in it. The authors put a lot of work and research into the Amish and Mennonite history and it shows! Throughout reading this I got a history lesson but it definitely was not school:) The persecution of the Anabaptists is shown clearly and their travels from Switzerland to America is nicely depicted.
Ada is a character from the previous book who is introduced somewhat. I don't want to spoil anything for those who have not read the first book, but Ada finds out that she is sister to Lexie, an "Englischer". Ada has been sick for much of her life and is just now being able to get up and around. When the story opens, Ada receives an invitation in the mail to attend Lexie's upcoming wedding. She does not believe she will be able to go until her mother makes an odd decision allowing her the privilege of attending. This starts a whole new look on life from Ada and the thought that she has not ever had her time of rumpsringa, seeing the world and being allowed her freedom to decide if she wants to join the Church. There is so much in this decision and she is allowed to take a trip to Switzerland to meet her"aunt" who is in reality her birth mother, who gave her up for adoption.
I do not want to give anything away so I am going to be careful about what I say. Ada has loved Will Gundy all her life but when she was ill she thought that nothing would ever come to pass between them. Then after she is better, she finds out that Leah Fisher is wanting Will to court her and it seems like Will wants that as well. Leah is taking care of his children, helping out around the house, etc. So Ada goes on the trip to Switzerland, even though that means that Leah will be there for Will. She happens to meet a Mennonite man named Daniel who she becomes friends with and he starts liking her. Again, I am not going to tell you how it ends as that would give things away:) You will just have to get a copy of the book yourself.
Overall I loved this book. The relationships between Ada and Christy and Morgan just really touched me. Morgan is sweet and yearning for something, as is Ada in a way. But she finds her path and I loved the ending of the book. Can't wait to find out who the next book is about! There is a next book, right?
According to FTC Disclosure, I received a copy of this book for review purposes. I did not receive any monetary compensation. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our past effects our future

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Ada traveled to Switzerland, she thought the mystery
concerning the title to land there would be solved very
easily. Little did she realize with one mystery comes more
mysteries and all would have an effect on her future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blend of mystery, family drama and romance

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH
PUBLISHER: HARVEST HOUSE
PUBLICATION DATE: JULY 1, 2011
RATING: 9 OUT OF 10
Ever since discovering that she was adopted, Ada Rupp has not been entirely content with life in her Amish community. While her long-term illness has stabilised itself, her mother still hovers over her, controlling her life out of fear that Ada may fall sick again. Still single and in her twenties, Ada hopes that she may have caught the attentions of Will Gundy, a close friend and widower with three children. But after rumours about Will and Leah Fisher begin to surface, Ada hangs all of her hopes on being appointed teacher of her community’s one-room schoolhouse. If she can’t have a family of her own, being a teacher would somewhat satisfy the longings of her heart. However, it appears that God has other plans for her, as soon after the teaching position is given to Leah, Will’s grandmother offers Ada the chance to visit her ancestral family home in Switzerland. An issue over the ownership of the land has arisen, resulting in the need for members of the two Amish families who own the land to travel to Europe in order to resolve matters. Will’s oldest daughter, Christy, will be travelling with them, giving Ada the chance to try out her teaching methods on the girl, who is still hurting from her mother’s death and refusing to learn anything at school. Will this chance to travel to Europe and act as a nanny to the daughter of the man she has come to love enable Ada to see God’s plan for her life? Or will it open her eyes to the adventures and temptations of the world, making it even more difficult to settle when she returns to her Amish community?
Having first been introduced to Mindy Starns Clark earlier this year when I read Secrets of Harmony Grove with my book group, I was pleased to see that she was choosing to focus on Amish fiction with her upcoming Women of Lancaster County series. I’d quite enjoyed reading Secrets of Harmony Grove, but had found it a bit dark in places and the mystery rather convoluted. As it turns out, this series is more to my liking. Mindy and Leslie – both established authors – team up together to write about the lives of women who are all somehow related to an Amish family in Pennsylvania. In the first book, The Amish Midwife, adopted Lexie travels to Pennsylvania after she discovers that this is where her biological family live. The Amish Nanny follows on from her story as her younger sister, Ada, comes to terms with the changes that have occurred in her life since meeting Lexie. While Lexie has found peace in her life after reconnecting with her Amish family, Ada no longer feels content in the life that she has always known. The Amish Nanny follows Ada’s journey to discover who she is and where God wants her to be in life.
Although they’re both very different characters, I loved Ada’s story just as much as Lexie’s. Mindy and Leslie have really stretched the Amish genre by including mysteries surrounding family trees and adoption, not to mention a wealth of information about how the Amish came to be in the United States. While the first book dipped into the history of the Anabaptists, I learned a lot more from Ada’s travels in Switzerland. Even I, a student of history who has read a lot about the religious upheavals in Europe during this period, still had a lot to learn about the Anabaptists and their persecution and subsequent emigration. This is definitely one to read if you feel that you’re getting bored with similar plots being repeated in Amish fiction, or would like something with a bit more depth. That said, you don’t have to be a historian to enjoy this book. Mindy and Leslie weave all of the information into the book in a way that makes it easy to understand and doesn’t detract from the story.
I would suggest that you might enjoy Ada’s story more if you’ve read the first book in the series, but a lot is summed up for those readers who choose to jump right in with The Amish Nanny. But fans of the series will be pleased to catch up with Lexie and her cousin Ella, who will be the protagonist of the third book. Ada also gets the chance to meet Giselle, her biological mother, who has been living in Switzerland for several years. While a lot of the book is spent focusing on the mystery of the ownership of Amielbach and locating the documents to prove this, Ada and Giselle have some healing to work through together. Ada really grows as a character throughout the book, and comes to define her identity not in terms of her family or her illness, but who she feels God is calling her to be. Although events in Pennsylvania have caused her to doubt her desire to be a teacher, wife and mother, her experiences in Switzerland help her to trust God’s will for her life. She’s helped by Christy, her charge on the trip, and Morgan, an English girl she meets on the journey to Switzerland. It was lovely to see Christy’s character also developing, as she slowly got over the fears that had emerged since her mother’s death. Morgan was a really fun character to read about as well, and I hope the authors may have plans for a cameo for her in future books.
The Amish genre is truly blessed to have Mindy and Leslie working to create new, unique fiction for its fans to enjoy. Their Women of Lancaster County series is likely to be enjoyed by all Amish readers thanks to its wonderful blend of mystery, family drama and romance. The Amish Nanny is a wonderful addition to the series and I hope that others will enjoy Ada Rupp’s story as much as I did.
Review title provided by Harvest House Publishers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Courage, Faith

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
BESL
Location:Middleburg VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I thoroughly enjoyed, reading the Amish Nanny. I would recommend this book. The writers really keep your interest and this book was hard to put down. I finished it in two days.
Looking forward to the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
This review is fromAmish Nanny, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent book

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
christianfictionbookworm
Location:jonesborough,tn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i've loved all the author's books in the past and this book hasn't let me down at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
bettyk
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I throughly enjoyed the book have now read both. Couldn't put down til finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Enjoyable

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
SueG
In the first book, “The Amish Midwife”, we met Lexie. In the “Amish Nanny” we learn more about Lexie’s sister Ada Rupp. Ada is facing many changes in her life and we get to watch her grow and learn more about her family history and about herself.
I enjoyed learning more about the Anabaptist Movement and their place in history. I think you will enjoy meeting Ada as much as you enjoyed meeting Lexie.
The writers, Clark and Gould, work seamlessly together with one voice keeping the story line cohesive and interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Amish Nanny

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was sent to me by Harvest House Publishers in exchange for a Review.
Amish-raised Ada Rupp knows it’s time to make a commitment to the faith and join the church, especially if she wants a future with the handsome Amish widower Will Gundy.
But when she has the chance to travel to Switzerland as the caregiver of a young child, she leaps at the opportunity.
This book is the 2nd book in “The Women of Lancaster County” Series. This was such a good book as you go with Ada Rupp in her adventures of her life. As Ada finds out in the first book, she is adopted and has the opportunity to go to Switzerland along with Alice who is Will Gundy’s grandmother.
They try to help Daniel and George to find an agreement on the land in Switzerland and this land is very important to Ada and Alice, since their ancestors had a part in the land originally. Ada also meets her birth mother and at first I was really mad at her birth mother, Giselle, because she didn’t want anything to do with Ada. My heart went out to Ada.
Daniel has feelings for Ada but it is not the same for Ada. The only man she loves is Will Gundy. As the book goes along, Alice collapses and is in the hospital so Will needs to know this and then he shows up to help out.
Ada and Daniel keep on looking for information about their ancestors and it is quite a journey for both Ada and Daniel.
This is a great book in trying to find their history and it is one you will thoroughly enjoy. I sure did enjoy it, wouldn’t it be something to find out about your ancestors? I have wanted to know more about my ancestors also.
I would recommend this book to all my friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Story

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading the second book in this series, the first The Amish Midwife started this series. This books starts where the first one ended, and loved that we continued on with the previous characters. You did not have to read the first one to enjoy this one, everything is explained.
What an enchanted book this one is, hard to put down! Ada Rupp has really had a hard life, she never really had a childhood, as she has an inherited blood disorder. Since finding her sister Lexie, she now has new meds and is now relatively healthy.
This Amish girl ends up doing a lot of traveling, such fun, and lots of chuckles! She has a bit up spunk for having had a lonely life up to now. She wants Will Gundy, a widower with 3 children. She has admired him since she was a young girl, but now she fears her rival Leah will win his heart. With a twist of fate
she ends up traveling to Switzerland with Alice, Will's Grandmother, and Christy, his daughter. On the trip she meets Daniel Hart, a young Mennonite, who takes a real liking to Ada.
There are a lot of twists and turns to this story, but so very enjoyable.
I was provided with a copy of this book by Harvest House Publishers, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable and informative!

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this second book in the series. It takes up the sister discovered by the main character in the first book, and follows her own geographical and spiritual journey. That journey takes her first from Pennsylvania to Oregon, and finally to her ancestral home in Switzerland. Along the way she explores issues of calling, identity, family, trust, and love. I particularly appreciated the clever way the authors wove the history of the Mennonites and Amish in the Old and New Worlds into the heroine's quest to solve a family mystery and ascertain her own calling. Well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far, so good!

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janus Tuttle
Location:Ft. Wayne, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not finished reading The Amish Nanny but so far it is very good. She is a young woman of 24 who has been very sheltered due to health reasons and she is about to take her life into her own hands for an adventure and I am anxious to see what she does. So far so good. I am never disappointed in the Amish Books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish woman's journey to find past and future

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ada Rupp, a young Amish woman, had her life on hold because of a medical condition. Now that it’s under control she hopes to do the things she’s longed for: teach, marry, have children, … Opportunity to travel offers Ada the chance to get away from her overprotective mother and experience the rumspringa she never had as a teen. She needs to discover who she is as a person on her own and explore the world a bit before she settles down.
Her hoped-for assignment as a teacher in a one-room school was given to Leah, a rival. Leah also seems to be working her way into the life and family of Will, the handsome widower Ada dreams of marrying. Although Ada serves as nanny and tutor to Will’s oldest daughter, she believes he will never care for her like she does for him. She struggles to respond to this situation as a humble Amish should, but her heart feels like it will never heal.
Ada doesn’t consider herself pretty, but Daniel, a Mennonite scholar researching Anabaptist history, desires to court her. Her background would add an attractive element to his heritage tours in Europe. Could she leave the Plain life she’s known to live across the sea? In Switzerland she would be near her birth mother, Gisella, who rejected her and left the Amish faith. Could Ada and Gisella forge a relationship?
Add to these elements a mystery regarding the hiding place of the official agreement about some family property. Not only would this help Will’s family financially, but it will preserve a historic landmark where early Anabaptists conducted secret services.
The Amish Nanny continues where the first book in the series, The Amish Midwife, left off, but it can also stand alone. The intricacies of relationships are explored on multiple levels as well as the role faith plays in life. Romance, suspense, and adventure add to the mix. Plus Anabaptist history is woven into the story naturally, adding to its depth. Being Anabaptist myself, I appreciated the attention to these details.
As Ada said, “I wanted the full knowledge of what was out there, of who I might be.” I have felt the same way. Perhaps journeying along with her in this novel will help answer these questions in the reader’s life. I recommend this story and others by Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

even better than the first

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pamm
Location:Portland, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since reading the first book in the set, "The Amish Midwife", I've been looking forward to reading the next one, "The Amish Nanny". I was not disappointed-it was even better than the first! The main character of this book was Lexie's sister, Amish-born Ada. I loved reading about Ada and her friends' trip to Switzerland and the historical roots of the Amish there. The mystery surrounding their visit was well done too. I really enjoy anything Amish, and appreciate Amish faith even more after reading this book, seeing some of the "why they do what they do" explained so well. Ada (and indeed all of the characters) were so believable in their struggles over faith and relationships. Can't wait for book three-well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The BEST Amish Book!

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
scruggle
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ada is a young woman who never had a chance to grow up. From suffering from a blood disease, to dealing with a hovering mother, to unrequited love, to finding out that she is adopted, she has gone through her share of hardships. She is ready for an adventure and an adventure is what she gets!
This story is well-written. The storyline is addictive and will have you up all night reading to find out what will happen next. The characters in the book are dimensional and varied and the story is a unique one full of twists and turns. This book is not your average romance but definitely a must-read for all you Amish lovers out there!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Swept Away by the Story

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED the Amish Midwife, so the moment this book hit my mailbox, I scarfed it up. The other books I was in the middle of just had to wait until I could read Ada's story. (And now I can't wait for book three which must be Ellen's story!)
With this story, Ada must travel to Switzerland with friends to help redeem her families history and a promise made over one hundred years earlier. In the process she must decide what she wants for her future. Who hasn't felt trapped by others expectations of you? Who hasn't felt trapped by a past they couldn't control? Who hasn't wanted a chance to be more than what people say you can be? When everything Ada desires is stripped away, she gets to choose what her future will be. Is she willing to risk or will she stay in her safe yet unfulfilling life?
With this book, I felt like I was on the cargo ship crossing the Atlantic. I felt like I journeyed to the small towns in the Alps. It was like a vacation with several friends that I got to know better through the trip. LOVED it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Amish Nanny, Women of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was good

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessie Welty
Location:Pennsauken N.J.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very interesting because of telling about the diffferent places and how they traveled to get there
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>