Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984

Zondervan The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984

For many women, being a grandmother is God's finest gift—they have achieved great depth of experience and breadth of love, and they have grandchildren with whom to share these qualities. The Grandmother's Bible is the first Bible published for this active, engaged, Bible-reading audience.

Over 60 well-known Christian women—including Ruth Graham, Elisa Morgan, Elizabeth George, Thelma Wells, Karen Kingsbury, and Carol Cymbala—share their thoughts, stories, and encouragement in this Bible's articles and daily devotionals. With a focus on daily prayer, this uniquely personal Bible offers guidance, inspiration, and practical tools as grandmothers share their love and God's Word with their grandchildren.

Features
  • 365 devotions—readings draw grandmothers closer to their Lord and to their grandchildren
  • Prayers
    • Daily Prayers—each weekday devotion ends with a short prayer that relates to the subject matter
    • Grandchild in Focus—a simple plan to help grandmothers pray regularly for their grandchildren
    • Praying the Scriptures for Your Grandchild—Bible verses in a prayer format
  • Stories to Share—over 150 key Bible stories ideal for sharing specific life lessons
  • Talking Points—a practical guide for using Scripture to discuss over 40 relevant topics, such as salvation, knowing God's will, friendship, etc.
  • Perspectives—original, thought-provoking articles addressing personal aspirations and the joys and challenges of being a grandmother
  • Special sleeve to hold grandchild's photo
  • Custom presentation pages including records of grandchildren, of prayer, and of God's work
  • Two-color design in an easy-to-read 9.5-point type
  • Book introductions, topical index, and more
  • Complete New International Version
  • Silver page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 8.75" x 6.75" x 1.75
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Review 1 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product with tons of ideas and inspiration

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Deb M
Location:Northwest Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful resource and gift for grandmothers. The only thing I need to mention is that the ink color and size might be a little difficult for people with any sight problems. Otherwise I do give it five stars for thoughtful format and writing. I've already given one to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Bible Ever

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nonna
Location:Boynton Beach, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible! The stories, the talking points, the prayers for our grandchildren, it's all such a blessing! I have bought 4 of them so far! One for me and I loved it so much I bought 3 more! Two for friends and an extra one to have in case The Lord puts another grandmother on my heart to give it to! I hope it never goes out of print!!! And I love the fine leather quality!!! Every grandmother should have one! If I had enough money, I'd buy one for all grandmothers everywhere!! And I plan to leave mine to my oldest granddaughter! I have written bible study notes in it and have dated each prayer I've prayed and have written my grand child's name with each prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mother's Day Gift

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
jdubay1018
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible as a gift for my mother-in-law after she saw my True Identity Bible. She ks very traditional and I don't think she knew you could buy pretty and personal bibles. I had her name engraved and she Loves it. She went right out the next day to print photos to put in it. I love the features of this bible and I know she'll get a lot of use from it. Also, I was worried about the text size in the preview photos but in person the text is very readible and quite a nice size. It's a little larger than my bible which is good for her. Will probably be bying this bible as another gift in the future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
BJMD
Location:Winchester, VA
Age:55-65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought ths as a gift for a relative who ask for it for Christmas and she was very pleased with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marlene
Location:Turtle Lake, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my grandmothers bible, especially that it has daily devotions in it and prayers for your grandchildren. I would recommend it to all grandmothers. The only thing I wish it had more prayers for the grandchildred, there is only 14 that keep repeating themselves.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
LaWa
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I teach a ladies class at church and we honor first time grandmothers with a shower, after receiving this bible from a member of our class, I always buy it for first time grandmothers. A praying grandmother can change the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gift!

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
anna
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this to my Mom for Mothers Day. She loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grandmother Bible

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Love my Grandmother bible it is beautiful and love the prayers for my Grandchildren. It has given me a fresh prespective when doing my morning reading and praytime.
I am going to buy one for my sister on her birthday.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
shelly
Location:erie, pa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice Bible. Would recommend to anyone. Lots of inspiring stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very meaningfull devotionals

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nannie1
Location:Libertyville, Iowa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot begin to tell how much this Bible has meant to me. I find the devotionsl and prayers for my grandchildren very inspiring. Praying for one specific grandchild for 2 weeks with specific titles have been great. God is good and it never fails how that grandchild has had some concern that had needed prayer in a particular situation during those 2 weeks. This Bible was given to me by one of my daughters and has become a very special gift to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Kaczor
I love my Grandmothers Bilbe!!!!! I love the colors the feel of it in my hands. I couldn't be prouder to carry it. i love how it is set up to encourage prayer on behave of my grandchildren and how it guides me to pray specifically for certain aspects of their personality, strengeths and weakness.Thank you. I know I paid for it but it is a gift to mean non the less!Karen kaczor
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nashmiller
I wish I had had this before the grandchildren started coming along--very practical prayer suggestions and devotions. I love the color, and although I feared the light lavender type would be hard to read, it is very easy to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann Guglielmino
This is a beautiful Bible. I love reading it at night in bed; the lavender type and feel of the pages is very calming. It could do without the personal stories as this is a Bible not a memoir. I enjoy the prayers and other thoughts though as they give me ideas for my granchildren. NIV is not my favorite version, wish it came in NAS also. It would make a great gift to any spiritually minded grandmother as long as she does not have arthritis...it is really heavy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Hartman
Love it-love it-love it!!! It looks beautiful and has so many other added prayers and devotions that are very inspirational.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Glenda Kimbrel
Beautifully done Bible, with inspiring devotions and guidance to leave a Godly legacy for your grandchildren. A must for every grandmother!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Kusch
I love my Grandmother's Bible. There are prayers for grandchildren that are wonderful! And it is so beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Huston
This is a beautiful bible for all grandmothers. It will help grandmothers share the word of God with their grandchildren while building their faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Fortney
I gave this to my mother for mother's day. She loves to pray and spends alot of time praying for her family. She absolutely loves it. It is a gorgeous bible. I went on to purchase another one for my mother-in-law.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara V Harrison
I Love this Bible tremendously! I love the articles, and how the Scriptures are explained so clearly. To me this is a great Bible not only for grandmothers, but women as a whole.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Grandmother's Bible: NIV: Spring Violet/White, Italian Duo-Tone 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Louise Bowman
I have found the "Grandmother's Bible" to have a different feel to it. The specific prayers for grandchildren are very good. I do not see my grandchildren often and so praying specifically gets hard to do. I appreciate the emphasis found in this bible. Love the feel and color of the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>