Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984

The Zondervan NIV Study Bible is the #1 bestselling study Bible in the bestselling NIV translation. And now it includes for 2008 a 25% revision to the over 20,000 in-text study notes and a library of study resources at your fingertips. This edition also includes a 130-page topical index for more in-depth study. Excellent for home school use.

For 2008, the NIV Study Bible’s 20,000-plus study notes and other features have been updated and improved. Unmatched in any other study Bible, these notes have been crafted to reflect the most current conservative Bible scholarship. Other study features place at your fingertips a treasury of instant commentary from today’s top evangelical scholars. Icons highlight notes of special interest in the areas of character study, archaeology, and personal application. Simply put, you won’t find study notes as complete, up to date, helpful, and easy to use anywhere else.

Features include:

  • Over 20,000 in-text notes
  • 75 in-text maps and charts
  • Comprehensive book introductions
  • Icons that highlight notes concerning:
    • Archaeological information
    • Personal application
    • Characters and people groups
  • NIV comprehensive concordance
  • NIV topical index
  • Thumb—Indexed
  • Notes index
  • 8.9-point font size
Average Customer Rating:
4.743 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(171 Reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (171 reviews)
5 stars
139
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
116 out of 12295%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Review 1 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed in the 2008 edition

Date:March 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cassie Hale
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have to say, because I have an edition from the early 90's, and the Anniversary edition from a little later than that, I'm terribly disappointed with the typeface of this edition. I don't like the newly bolded subheadings. They are a distraction and break the text up a little more so than previous editions. Also, the red print for Jesus' words is so incredibly faint, it is nearly illegible in many places. I, for one, am not a fan of red letter, but the previous editions had a very bold red letter print. The content is superb, as always, but I really wish they would quit playing around with font/text type/red letter. I am in my 30's and can't imagine how the visually impaired would even be able to read this. My older editions are pretty tattered (I have worn out 3 now), but I still prefer using them to this newer one. I haven't checked out the NIV update study Bible, so maybe that is better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Study Bible

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Norm
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Zondervan study bible is the best study bible I have read. I am on my second one in 30 years and would not trade it for anything else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Bible was the perfect size!

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really like the Bible, the bonded leather is good quality leather. Unfortunately, I will have to return it. The font is too small and reading it gives me a headache. Would be much better if the font for the scriptures and Christ was dark. The words of Christ is a very light red color. Not disappointed in the Bible, but with the font and font size! I wear glasses and I still had trouble reading it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome deal, and a timeless gift for my 8 year ol

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nikovon
Location:Bolingbrook, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent store, fast shipping and great products! God Bless them for their great prices in hard times
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study Bible

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ricky
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is great! I love the study notes, the scholarly input is second to none! Maps are great too! This Bible is hard to get since the NIV updated in 2011. So if you want one before they officially sell out Christianbook is the place to get it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
loisstoddard
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my Granddaughter, and everything was Very good. Christianbook is a Great place to shop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features...

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessedann
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bible as a gift for a newly baptized Christian. It is perfect for the individual especially being a self-study with a concordance. She loves it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
This review is fromZondervan NIV Study Bible, European Leather, Chocolate/Olive 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study bible

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scott
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gift for my daughter. She loved it and has been using it non stop since she got it. Quality is great and packed with good study extras.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product!

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larissa Morgado
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved my new bible!Great quality! Totally met my expectations!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
This review is fromZondervan NIV Study Bible, European Leather, Chocolate/Olive 1984.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

NIV Study Bible, olive and brown "leather"

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
seeker
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have several study Bibles (NASB Ryrie, 1984 NIV Life Application, Crossman ESV Study; looking for a NKJV) and wanted to also get one with Zondervan's study notes. I ordered the 1984 NIV, the translation for which the notes were originally written, and which I much prefer over the 2011 version of NIV. So far, the study notes seem good. They probably make up a third or more of the total text. The Scriptures are in average size (8 or 8+ pt.?) print, with the study notes in smaller type. There are also introductions to each book, some charts, timelines, etc., and extensive indices, but no articles on doctrine or other topics. My other study Bibles seem to have more supplementary study material in the back.
However, the only thing I'm actually disappointed in is the cover. I ordered the olive "European leather." While it's described as imitation leather, it seems more like bonded leather, which I don't like. It's thin, hard, and inflexible. I would have preferred the softer imitation leather over this. The color is light olive green trimmed in brown, which is OK. It's not worth the extra shipping to send it back, and it will work for comparative study. I would definitely want one of the more flexible bindings if this were to be my main Bible.
As far as the content, while not the ultimate, this is a good basic study Bible.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
This review is fromZondervan NIV Study Bible, European Leather, Chocolate/Olive 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice quality

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
db50
Location:Lake City, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible and another like it in a different color. I was happy to find this color because it was the favorite color of the person I purchased it for and I feel this was a nice quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Purchased for a wedding gift

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
db50
Location:Lake City, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible for a wedding gift for the groom and another in the same color for the bride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
jewtsk
Location:Hondo TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm eager to start using this version for the Bible Study I'm doing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gave as County Fair gift... receiver loved it.

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
HisOwn
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave as County Fair gift... receiver loved it. We searched for NIV 1984 gifts and found this and some others on this site. CB is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
MBWSC
Location:South Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loads of maps and information. Interesting information at the beginning of each book. I'm really enjoying the bible, but only gave 3 stars to quality because the bonded leather is stiff and looks a bit imitation. Hopefully it won't be long before it's got that used, broken in feeling to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

As advertised and shipped expediently

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
moochenya
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great study Bible for the price. My only drawback was the size... a bit bigger than I had anticipated but more my lack of measuring things out than how the product was advertised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ok

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary Poppins
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These Bibles are just what we were looking for. We plan on giving them to anyone who desires to study God's word but cannot afford to purchase a Bible of their own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
blessed
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased. They made wonderful graduation gifts for our graduating seniors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mouseky
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bible has more stuff to read and review while it helps to understand the meaning of the verses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Bonded Leather, Black Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I got this for my husband

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna
Location:Hudson, NH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this bible for my husband and had his initials put on it. He loves it..I have the New International Version as well and my husband and I go to bible study together and I thought he should have his own- he was very surprised and touched.. this is a wonderful gift and great quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...9Next >>>