Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers My Dearest Naomi

Harvest House Publishers My Dearest Naomi

When Eugene Mast leaves his Amish community in Worthington, Indiana, to teach in faraway Kalona, Iowa, he also must leave the love of his life, Naomi Miller.

For the next nine months of the school term, Eugene and Naomi keep their romance alive through love letters from his heart to hers, and from hers back to his.

Average Customer Rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 1377%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My Dearest Naomi
Review 1 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good book

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Eugene Mast and Naomi Miller are in love an plan to marry, but first Eugene has his heart set on leaving Indiana to teach at a Mennonite school in Iowa. This means nine months of hardly seeing each other and lots of letter exchanges.
You can follow their activities in the letters and see how they each handle missing each other, getting through the days with only thoughts and memories, looking forward to getting a special letter in the mail, the disappointment when there isn't one, and looking forward to the day when this is over and you can finally capture that dream of being married and starting a family.
This book reminds you of the days when people used to find letters in the attic written by parents or grandparents. Eugene and Naomi reread their letters over and over, as our ancestors did I'm sure. Oh what this modern world is making us miss out on, sure you can print off an email or text and save it, but it just isn't the same as having something in someones own handwriting.
I had a hard time reading this book as the style wasn't to my liking. This had nothing to do with the content, which I did find to be interesting and enjoyed some of the stories. I used to try to keep diaries when I was little but couldn't do that either, maybe that's why it was a hard format for me to read, it kind of seemed like a diary to me but it was two people doing the writing.
I received a copy of this book from Harvest House Publishers for review. All they want is an honest review, the opinions stated above are my own.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley <http://www.netgalley.com/> book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sweet corespondence

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A series of sweet correspondences.
Naomi & Eugene are a couple who become separated when Eugene accepts a job teaching a Mennonite school for 2 years. They stay connected by writing many letters to each other, encouraging and sharing stories from their everyday lives. A love story told through letters.
While well written and detailed, with a special sweetness to it, I found that this book was hard for me, personally, to dive into. I liked the humor and how this tale was uniquely told through letters, but there were more than a few times when my attention waned, which might have been due to how I wasn't used to the unique style this book was written in.
To me the book felt sort of slower than I would liked, but I do believe that this book had so much to offer to the person who is much more patient than I am! And there is much to be said for the sweet romance :)
Overall, I will say that this book just wasn't for me personally, but I think others would enjoy it. I think it helps immensely to know what it is about before reading it, and maybe that would have helped me to enjoy it more. A sweet book that wasn't for me.
I received this book from the publishers in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
shirl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the layout of this book. The letters reminded
me of old times when people use to do this. My grandmother use to tell me of this.
Thank you so much. What an author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love Letters full of faith and trust

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My Dearest Naomi"
By Jerry and Tina Eicher
I have read each and every one of Jerry's wonderful Amish novels and have never been disappointed. He always catches my interest immediately and keeps it throughout the book. The romance and faith , challenges and heartaches and pure joy is exhibited in each one. This book was very unique. For one, the writing style was completely different.
It is a series of letters written by Eugene Mast, an Amish gentleman who leaves his community for nine months to go and teach in a Mennonite area. He leaves his home in Indiana, as well as the love of his life, the beloved Naomi, the woman he is planning to marry, upon his return home. Sooo... the story is a compilation of letters written by Eugene and Naomi to each other during this time. I must admit , it took me a while to become interested in this . I am not one who enjoys reading letters. I prefer a pure fiction tale, as his previous books have been written.
However, as the story unfolds, through these letters, I began to feel a connection between the two young people. I felt as if I was a part of their very private lives and I believe this was the intent of the book. You do feel the romance, the love, loneliness that each of them experiences during this long period . Does absence make the heart grow fonder? In this case, I am not sure that they ever had grown apart. The letters do make you think of a young couple who desperately miss one another and their very deep love for each other. This book is based on fact and Jerry and Tina did go through this very sad separation period.
Overall, I did enjoy the book, but I must admit I prefer Jerry's other books. I did feel for the characters , however missed the exciting plots and twists and turns that his other books portray.
It is a well written book and many others will LOVE it. In fact, my sister in law can hardly wait to borrow it. So , it is a personal preference of mine to read pure fiction. This book certainly still portrays Jerry's talent of writing true romance. Keep writing , Jerry!! Love your books!
This book has been provided by the author and Harvest House in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional Story

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Myrt
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm happy to share my review of My Dearest Naomi. What a wonderful story. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story and highly recommend it.
Thanks Jerry for sending me the book to review.
Myrtle
myrtle1961@gmail.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
tomboycan
Location:Tara, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked this book. It is written in letter format between Eugene Mast and Naomi Miller over a nine month period, during the time of their courtship. It is based on the actual letters that Jerry and his wife Tina wrote to each other during the time that Jerry was away teaching at a Mennonite school.
Eugene moves from Indiana to Iowa to teach school in a Mennonite community and they only way to say in contact with loved ones back home is to write letters.
Eugene wrote about how school was going and also of his time with Lonnie and Luella Hershberger, the couple that he was staying with. I loved the jokes that Luella played on Eugene. Naomi wrote about her live back home, such as the ones that she worked for. Naomi kept Eugene up to date about John and Millie Yoder who eventually left the Amish and she also told him about Darrel Hooley a young man that was condsidering becoming Amish and eventually decided not to.
I enjoyed that it is in letter format so you could read a few letters and then put it up and not feel like you had to finish a chapter before doing so.
Thanks Jerry and Tina for sharing something so special between the two of you. I also wish to thank Harvest House and Jerry for sending me this book to read and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not good reading

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
mikie
Location:Indianapolis,Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is not one of the Amish books I would recommend to any one. It doesn't have a story. Just about two people writing letters to each other. Not my type of book or very interesting! Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I very much enjoyed reading this book! The "letter" format was a little different than most of the other books I have read, but found out I really did enjoy this type of writing. The book is almost like a diary between lovers. One is at home and the other is away on a new adventure. I liked the fact that you could just read a few pages (letters) at a time and not miss out on anything or felt you must finish a chapter. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about the Amish and Mennonites. It was very good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Like reading a Diary

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
fiery
Location:Little Rock, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is just like it says, a book of love letters written to each other from Eugene to Naomi and Naomi to Eugene. Very sweet and shows human compassion as well as sensitivity to each other. Shows the commitment you can have even from a distance. Also it covered weaknesses too. Shows the aspects of Amish life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The book wasn't interesting to me. I have read better by author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well-written!!

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryE
Location:Standish Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry Eicher's books always have a ring of truth, mainly because he comes from an Amish background. My Dearest Naomi is no exception.
Using the form of letters written to each other over a 9 month period, Eicher helps us really get into the minds of his characters, Eugene and Naomi, as they struggle with their separation from each other while Eugene teaches at a school far away.
Along the way, we learn about numerous other people in the community, such as the Englischers Naomi works for, the students Eugene teaches and a church member who is having doctrinal difficulties.
I have always enjoyed Jerry's books because the characters in them are so real, with no make-believe gloss to them. If I can put myself in the mind of the characters, then it's a good book.
I'd recommend this to anyone looking for good Christian fiction, Amish or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Dearest Naomi - Letters of Love!

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! This is a book compiled of letters between Eugene Mast and Naomi Miller. Eugene leaves Indiana for a teaching job in a Mennonite school in Iowa . He will be gone for nine months. He plans to marry Naomi at the end of the school term.
I loved the correspondence between Eugene and Naomi. The letters were quite newsy and filled with their undying love. The two lovers actually bare their souls to each other across the miles. The aching loneliness that they feel for each other was clearly made known in almost every letter. Concerns in some of their letters were perhaps their love wouldn’t last while they were away from each other. Many letters included scripture from the Bible.
The letters at times were filled with much humor and I had several laugh out loud moments. I grew to love Luella (quite a jokester) and Lonnie, the couple that Eugene stayed with in Iowa
Eugene ’s letters were filled with his daily life of teaching his students as well as his life outside of the school day.
Naomi’s letters were filled with what was going on at home and brought Eugene up to date on everything happening back home.
I loved the poems included in their letters. I especially loved the poem Eugene wrote about his students that was included near the end of the book. I had to smile because Eugene really did care for every student and grew fond of them.
I can’t say enough about how I enjoyed this book. It was different and unique in my eyes and I loved each and every letter. A special thanks to the author Jerry Eicher and his lovely wife Tina for sharing something very personal to the readers.
I wish to thank Harvest House Publishers and Jerry Eicher for sending me this book to read and review. The opinions are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for My Dearest Naomi
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Coach
Location:Fulton, Mo
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The format of this book is unlike any other that I have read. The majority of the book is in letter format from Eugene and Naomi. It is like reading a diary in letter form. The beginning of the book is a little slow but if you stick with it not only do you follow the lives of Eugene and Naomi but also the family of John and Millie Yoder, they are having marital difficulties and John begins attending an English church, there is talk of excommunication. Darrel Hooley is a englishman who is trying to join the Amish and of course you course you follow the families of Eugene and Naomi.
This is a touching book of what it is like to have a long distance relationship and your only form of communication is through letter writing. I found it to be very descriptive and I encourage you all to hang in until the end to find out what happens to John and Millie Yoder, Darrel, and Eugene and Naomi.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.