Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984

Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984

The Zondervan NIV Study Bible is the #1 bestselling study Bible in the bestselling NIV translation. And now it includes for 2008 a 25% revision to the over 20,000 in-text study notes and a library of study resources at your fingertips. This edition also includes a 130-page topical index for more in-depth study. Excellent for home school use.

For 2008, the NIV Study Bible’s 20,000-plus study notes and other features have been updated and improved. Unmatched in any other study Bible, these notes have been crafted to reflect the most current conservative Bible scholarship. Other study features place at your fingertips a treasury of instant commentary from today’s top evangelical scholars. Icons highlight notes of special interest in the areas of character study, archaeology, and personal application. Simply put, you won’t find study notes as complete, up to date, helpful, and easy to use anywhere else.

>Please note: This Bible cannot be imprinted. The same natural oils that make this leather so supple also prevent foil stamping from adhering properly.

Features include:

  • Over 20,000 in-text notes
  • 75 in-text maps and charts
  • Comprehensive book introductions
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Icons that highlight notes concerning:
    • Archaeological information
    • Personal application
    • Characters and people groups
  • NIV comprehensive concordance
  • NIV topical index
  • Notes index
  • Presentation page
  • Silver page edges
  • Two ribbon markers
  • 6.5-point text size
  • 7.50" x 5.75" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.488 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
2
41 out of 4689%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Review 1 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not what i expected

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
gwarren5008
Location:LI, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm sure the Bible is a fine Bible. It was a little smaller than expected. I returned it for a regular size NIV study Bible. I am enjoying it and had no problem at all exchanging it. Doesn't quite the case that was recommended. But isn't too bad. Thank you.
Only by His Grace,
gwarren5008
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great feel to it, so hard to put it down.

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tyler
Location:Au.
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Bible so that I could have the older version of the NIV (as I'm memorizing the entire book of Romans). It has a rather soft feel to it and is quite thick. Definitely great for desk-top studying and it hardly takes up much surface space. I wouldn't recommend for traveling as it has a delicate feel to the pages. Overall I love this Bible and I wish to cherish it for a long time.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great handy study Bible

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ifelayo
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this bible very much! The fact that it is so compact, yet legible works great for me--- I can make quick refererences during small group Bible study, and do in-depth studies at my desk. I feel it's a great value for the cost too. Thanks for publishing the NIV study Bible in this compact form!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Little Bible

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
icnhlpu2c
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this bible while visiting a friend. I fell in love with the size and the quality of the butter soft binding so I ordered one for myself. It is true that the print is small but it states the print size in the listing so one would expect small print at 6.5. This bible is pleasant to the touch and feels comfortable in the hand. I am a retired person and I can read this bible easily provided there is good light. I only wish it came in the NASB translation. If you're a fan of the NIV then I recommend that you get one of these beautiful bibles before they're gone.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellant Bible

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Louis Passante
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the nicest bible I own. The quality and the content are terrific. I do not understand why people give 1-2 stars for the small type size. IT IS A COMPACT BIBLE! If they look at the views of the pages, they would see the size of the type. I would suggest to those that cannot read small type print, choose the many large print bibles that are available.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very impressive

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
betheltc
Location:Bethel Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This exceeded my and my son in laws expectations, this was a gift and he was extremely pleased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
jack
Location:Bath, Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice for a compact bible. The only downside is the print is rather small but you can pickup a magnafier that helps. And they don't cost much. For us older folks.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gorgeous, informative, and great to learn from!!!!

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
KingKMAC
Location:Markham, Ontario
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By looking at the picture of this item, you can't really imagine how nice it really is. The fine leather cover looks gorgeous on it, as well as making it comfortable to hold.
The notes on the bottom of each page (which I believe are the same notes as every or most NIV study bibles) are very helpful in fully understanding the depth of the teachings and miracles, as well as just minor explanations that really add to the big picture and message. There are also some maps embedded within the text as well, specific to each story.
Overall, I am SO happy to have bought this copy of the bible. Now I can understand the Word of God even more!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Appreciate the compactness of the Bible.

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike Comtois
Location:Winkler, MB
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We appreciate the notes, the compactness and the quality of this Study Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Excellent study notes, very small print

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
jack
Location:Surprise , AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you have very good eye sight it's ok if not, you may want a larger print.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Catspeaking
Location:Singapore
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really good study bible and real cow leather. Best value. Highly recommended. I bought 2, one for myself, one just in case God wants me to give a study bible to someone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bunny
Location:Toronto, canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product exceeds my expectations.
It is easy to handle and compact
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great compact NIV translation

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
RCJB
Location:Yardley, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the NIV and gave this easy-to-read compact version as an Easter gift for a person who hasn't had much Bible involvement. I look forward to working with her in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Feels wonderful & full of great extra's

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elke Moon
Location:Graham, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the Women's Devotional version and I loved it so much I wanted the Study version! Absolutely Wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nicest I've owned

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Warrensburg, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This leather Bible is very nice. Lots of complaints on here about print size. I wear bifocals and have NO problem reading it. I have had friends look at it and say how small the print is, and so it is, but it is still very readable.
The feel of the leather is wonderful and the study portion is very helpful when I lead our Women's Bible Study.
If you have normal eyesight or wear up to date prescription glasses you will not have a problem reading this Bible. If you are looking for and easy to read version, you might want to look at something else. For the price and leather it was worth it to me. I love mine!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sheelah
Age:55-65
Leather cover is soft and beautiful. I love the study notes, outlines, maps. These are very useful - especially, since I want to understand every aspect of the history of creation, Jesus, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice Bible for the price

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
bink1595
Location:Port Orchard, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The study notes are located at the bottom of each page which I find very useful for quick reference. Overall very good value on a very good study Bible. I would recommend this Bible to anyone that wants a smaller carry Bible with study helps in a convenient bottom of page format.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Font size is too small in a study Bible.

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roger Anderson
Location:Livonia, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The quality and size of the Bible were excellent but the font size was not what I expected from the description and data on the website description. The font size range was listed as the same as the compact edition of the NIV Study Bible which I have. When it came I found it was smaller and difficult to read. I returned the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Bible for class because the one that they issued was too heavy to carry around with everything else I have to carry... The Bible was lightweight, with a soft, beautiful cover, and was also very easy to use and read. The only draw back that one might have is that the writing is very small due to it being compact. However, if that does not bother you I would highly recommend this Bible to you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Study Bible, Compact Edition--Renaissance fine leather, rich brown/espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice product

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
washington
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the price. Print a little small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.