Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition

Baker The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition

Escape to The Hiding Place to discover Corrie ten Boom's heart-pounding account of World War II's concentration camps. Within these pages you'll find tragedy, perseverance and the reality of God's overcoming love. Corrie's unique writing style subtly reveals her gift of faith and powerfully unveils God's amazing grace.
Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Review 1 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 stars!!

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
crochetcutie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its a great book! I would definetly recommend it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I have read this book more than 5 times

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deedy
This is by far my favorite book outside of the Bible. I have read this book more than 5 times and each time I read it, I can't put it down. I get something new out of it everytime I read it. I love this autobiography.
I love, Betsy, Father and Corrie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terri
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second book, The Hiding Place which was purchased for a nonbeliever to read Corrie Ten Boom's testimony and her history and the awesomeness of trusting our God Who is all-powerful then and still is and always will be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda Parrish
Location:Lima, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the fact this book was in eBook form. I can read it more easily.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
slm0414
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is an amazing read. Have kleenex on hand because it is a bit emotional too. Corrie's family was just incredible and brave and truly relied on God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
grandma
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am just so thankful that you had this book available. I have had 3 copies and gave them away. This book is so
very special to me.
Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book's message is life changing.

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jomelin
Location:Charleston, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I read this book over 25 years ago, have recently read it again and purchased this copy for my daughter in law. Truth is timeless and in today's difficult times, this book serves to remind us that we can make a difference. The life of Corrie ten Boom following WWII is as remarkable as the sacrifices made by her and her entire family to assist the Jewish people. If we could all live the life of complete faith that she did, what a better world we would leave our children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very inspirational

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Corrie is a person led by the Spirit into the wilderness of life at its hardest and emerged from each event with new hope, love and zeal for the Lord. She is a model for all who suffer trials of any kind. Particularly impressed with her father and mother who saw the good Lord in everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very moving

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
htlpshuck
Location:Louisiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a world which is full of selfishness and greed, the book about the ten Boom family shows us humility, faith, love, and caring for others. They literally gave their lives to save others, and suffered unbelievable consequences for trying to save the lives of those who were Jews and Christians. A very moving book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
willow1d
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the book. It gives first hand knowledge of part of what the Jews went through during that awful time and how God helped throughout.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Essential to a Christian Movie Library

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Olsen
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In an age of "feel good" Christianity, it is stories such as this that reflect what it really means to be a Christian. We as Christians must be prepared to take a stand for what is right and help those in need, even if it means sacrifice on our part.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gwen
This book was fundamental in my understanding of the Lord and how to trust in Him. I first read it when I was 15 and the image of her father holding the ticket for her until she needed to give it to the conductor still moves me to trust in our Father. (Her father held it so she wouldn't lose it, but always gave it to her at just the right time) It's a great story of life in the Lord through terrible trial.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sara Helena
AMAZANIG!!!!! A story for everyone, especially teens. I totally recommend it! Leaves you inspired and ready for life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Daniel
One of the best Christian autobiographies ever written. I recommend reading this book at least once every year. It will open your eyes to the beauty of life in Christ Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sally Ribera
The story of how Corrie ten Boom and her family lived out their Christian faith before and during World War II is compelling and powerful. The ten Boom family hid Jews during the war and paid for it by being sent to concentrations camps where 3 members of Corrie's family died. This is truly one of the most powerful Christian testimonies to come out of the 20th century.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Hiding Place, 35th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
KC Frantzen
Readers know from the outset Corrie Ten Boom survived to help write the book but its such an intriguing journey to get there. The authors include numerous jewels along the way, stories that stick with the reader long after the book is back on the shelf: the train ticket held by her father until the perfect time, the test of faith by not lying about family hiding under the kitchen table, the fleas having a purpose, the heartbreak of the love of her life marrying someone else, rebuilding the radio while in prison, the astounding respect and love for her father and sister while incarcerated. Each chapter utilizes powerful imagery to flesh out an application of Eternal Truth ready for internalizing.The lessons may be applied to every day life since these were not merely characters but most obviously real people, with extreme trials to maneuver in life and in death. Ordinary becomes extraordinary, utilizing compelling subject matter with a page turning writing style exhibiting firm faith in the Lord. Its one of those classics that affords readers immediate application to their own circumstances since they can identify with her and her family on so many levels.Finally a work like this inspires and uplifts. I found myself continually discovering the answer (Grace) on almost every page to such questions as Why did God let this happen? and How did she do it?. The Hiding Place is a classic I enjoy re-reading every few years. Im amazed at the fresh perspective I have each time. Its timeless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.