Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition

Baker Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition

Do you know what forces are influencing your life from day to day? Do you feel under mental, emotional or financial pressure much of the time? Are your closest relationships in turmoil? Do you wonder why success comes easily to others but seems to elude you? In Blessing or Curse, Prince shows how the forces behind blessings and curses might be at work in your life. Drawing from God's Word and real-life experiences, Prince will help you understand the causes of curses and teach you how to be set free from them, so that you can start enjoying the benefits of God's blessings. In this expanded edition, each chapter is followed by a study lesson (for yourself or for a small group) with review questions, a life application section and a memory verse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Review 1 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindyroo
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous book by Derek Prince. We are studying this as a family as there is so much to learn about blessings and curses. Wish we had received this material 20 or 30 years ago! Recommend that pastors teach this material in Bible Study groups. Excellent book. Recommend this to everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very bible based.

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melie
Location:australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very bible based. Derek Prince is an excellent teacher.
I enjoyed studying this book with Gods word.
Some things have been happening in my home after praying and reading this book. Must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
gramagolfn
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First book by Derek Prince I ever read. He presents Biblical truths in ways that gave me new understanding and insight. Great man, great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blessings or Cruse is an excellent book

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
pastor
Location:London, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book Blessings or Curse is a practical book on the importance of curses and blessings. It deals with a Biblical look and practical examples of the effects of blessings or curse on people. Derek Prince is an excellent teacher, thorough, systematic in his approach and provides prayers that release one from the curse and ways to enter into God's blessings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
jsjcraig
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book and an easy read. It hits a topic most churches shy away from. This is must know information if you want to be truly free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roshan Rai
this book bring us the truth of the curses which was upon us and going through this book opens our way out of the curse by confessing the things which we ,ve done in the past and releasing from the curse in the name of our Lord Jesus,thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Montgomery Amundson
Most Excellent book. Nothing will be gotten out of it if you do not do the assignments and such. Very powerful in its scope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Chapman
In "Blessing or Curse You Can Choose" Derek Prince has investigated several types of curses that could easily be overlooked or misunderstood. He has distinguished effectively between self imposed curses, curses imposed by ancestors' rebellion, those imposed by authority figures, those imposed by servants of Satan and, lastly, those imposed by other believers. His perceptions concerning the power of words to curse are particularly enlightening. He makes an important distinction between the curse caused by one's own rebellion and that caused by someone else's spoken words. His point that all curses are a release of spiritual power against a person is well taken. The fact that he seems to equate the power of a curse imposed by God as a consequence of rebellion and one imposed by men's careless words is hard to believe. There is some confusion throughout the book between "releasing" yourself from a curse and asking God to release you. Ultimately, in the chapter that presents the seven steps, Mr. Prince does clarify the need to ask God to release you from a curse. But throughout he keeps presenting the idea of "release yourself". Mr. Prince does recognize the basis upon which anyone can be released is the sacrificial death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. Of that he is certain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth Johnson
This book was a tremendous blessing to me. Just as we have natural laws to keep society safe, such as laws against murder or stealing, so there are spiritual laws that God has in place. If you break the earthly laws police are there to enforce the law and bring about consequence. When we sin (and all Christians do even though legally we've been delivered from it)the consequences of that sin can bring about spiritual curses. Every place the New Testament refers to the blood of Jesus is a direct reference to this spiritual truth. This book shows Christians how to walk in the victory Christ's death has provided. It's one thing to "know" something is true, and it's another to actually experience that truth in your day to day life. This book will help you walk out God's promises in your day to day life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Martinez
I knew some of these things were true but this book goes into a little more depth and opened my eyes to alot of things.The book is very interresting and I agree with it.I'm not quite finished with it yet,but this is a book I can't put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Okien Peter-akor
I think everyone should read this book. It helps me to see areas were I may not be aware of the devices of the enemy, the devil.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephen Johnson
It is amazing to me how many Christians are leaving the teaching of the Bible and embracing a practice found in every pagan society of breaking curses. Don't you know that we are in Christ and that His Spirit lives in us? How can we be under curse? As it says in Galatians 3:13Christ redeemed us from the curse of the Law, having become a curse for us--for it is written, "CURSED IS EVERYONE WHO HANGS ON A TREE"-- Christian you are blessed not cursed.Question: Where in the New Testament does it mention breaking generational curses?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Lightner
I love the book. It makes so much sense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Evelynn Edwards
Very enlightening! I have been able to get rid of influences that I didn't realize have been weighting me down and interfering with my relationship with God! I thank God that Derek Prince wrote this before going home. It is an easy read in simple scripture backed language.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gary Heese
Our first impression of Prince was during our time working in YWAM (a non denominational mission organization) we heard him teach on various occasions in our mission. Later while working in YWAM we were asked to read his book as a resource in our training. My wife and I did this together and found at the end of several chapters we had things to both confess to the Lord and to ask each other forgiveness. Our talk toward one another, our negative expectations, thoughts and inappropriate involvement or ownership of things that hinder us as Christians. We have been in ministry helping marriages and individuals since that time in 1980 and have often recommended this book to couples who are seemingly picking each other apart or living in oppression themselves. It has been life changing for us and many others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blessing or Curse: You Can Choose, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Larry Santori
As a staunch dispensationalist, I approached this book with a certain degree of skepticism, not desiring this enthusiastic, full-gospel brother to dissuade me from my deeply-held Phariseeism.I was wrong.Prince elucidates a vital, all-but-ignored doctrinal subject that should be a full part of the typical study in Systematics, viz a viz: Blessings and Curses. Prince's treatise includes a healthy respect for Dispensational thinking by carefully discerning what was specifically directed to pre-Cross (Mosaic) applications, and to apply post-Resurrection Grace teachings correctly.Beyond all of this, however, Prince makes his arguments in a systematic, understandable and persuasive fashion and I can say that--for the first time in my 20+ years as a born-again Christian--I have actually met the reality of the Lord as a result of having studied this book.Prince backs up every point with context-driven Scripture, and while he does wonder into Pentecostal examples every once in awhile, he keeps to his Biblical proof texts faithfully.I whole-heartedly and enthusiastically recommend this book to any Christian seeking a deeper, prayer-filled relationship with Jesus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.