Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984

Zondervan Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984

Men—redeem your God-given passions, drives, and purposes so you can live out your faith. Manual speaks to you honestly and straightforwardly about your role as a Christian in the face of a culture that actively works against God’s will and God’s way.

Features:
  • 100 “Myth” articles—A common, accepted myth from the world is followed by the first-person story of a man who struggled with the lie and how it affected his life. The article concludes with principles from God’s Word that debunk the myth.
  • 50 factoid profiles about select men of the Bible—Must know, interesting facts about men of the Bible, written in a creative, edgy style. Each profile highlights how God used this man despite his failings.
  • 200 “Downshift” notes—Penetrating questions for personal reflection or small-group study. The questions are tied to Scripture and send the reader to the index for information on each topic.
  • 200 “Knowing God” call-outs—A short note that highlights an attribute of God as shown or taught in Scripture and teaches that knowing the character of God can help men redeem the way they live.
  • 300 “At Issue” notes—Short teaching notes on life topics such as money, sex, or pride, that are linked topically.
  • Book introductions—Magazine-style book introductions that hook the reader with headlines and entice him to read the book.
  • Topical index—A clear, complete, thorough topical index that unifies all the features and makes this Bible very accessible.
  • Back matter articles—Practical articles help men further their study.
  • A unique, two-color interior design sets this Bible apart.
  • Single-column Bible text for ease of reading.
  • Presentation page
  • Silver page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 7" x 9" x 1.5"
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Review 1 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
D3n3r
Location:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I recently purchased it so I'm in the beginning of journey, but I can say that I'm satisfied with all the notes it has. For men, a must have bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This bible has a lot of great features.

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deborah Compton
Location:Pikesville, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this bible to my husband for Father's Day. One of the features we both like is the historical date reference/date line. The downshift and at-issue, posing questions, then pointing to scripture for help; and exposing the truth through the myths feature is so needful and such a blessing. So much to explore and learn. He's enjoying it and so am I. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Truth

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Churchlady
Location:Fair Lawn, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased as a gift from the church to a new believer who joined the church membership. He said he was enjoying it very much. Personally, I think it was a proper gift for this occassion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Looks great!

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shara
Location:Winnipeg,mb
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my husband for valentines day. We both love the layout and the overall feel of the bible. The headlines for each book is a great way to draw someone in. It's just an over great bible :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gift

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brinca Jo Hunter
Location:Medina, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what was needed for a gift for a dear friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patricia Ivie
Location:Wilmington, DE
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son in law who is exploring faith. this is an excellent version for him. It stresses manhood and responsibility to lead spiritually.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Product for Men!

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuAnn Marie
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The content added to give a better understanding of what is in each section of the bible and putting it in terms men associate with is awesome! I was disappointed though that there is no maps or concordance in this bible. It said it was a study bible but I've never seen a study bible without maps or a concordance. So disappointed in that. Also, the print is smaller than normal. I wasn't expecting that either. My husband has to read it with a magnifying glass. If I had known this, I would have chosen a different bible. Luckily he is motivated to learn the word of God so he is willing to use the magnifying glasses! The point size of the print really should be posted so people have an idea of the size of print.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jheart
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my husband and I recommend it to all I speak to. It speaks to him the way a bible should and the commentary is thoughtful and interesting. He is reading it cover to cover and we are so blessed to have been shown this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my husband for Christmas. He often tells me some quotes that he enjoys. He studies his Bible daily and is really enjoying this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
545bb
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bible is good for daily life application.its having a plastic cover and is a big bible .but i like the way it is printed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
debkw
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible has a magazine-style layout in the beginning of each book that makes it easy to get to the main points quickly and devotionals that invite the reader to apply scripture to his life or to consider certain points more deeply. The appendix contains straightforward information reference points in a how-to sort of format, ie. "what you should know about" a given biblical figure. Reading plans, NIV translation, and masculine design round out the features that make this bible a great choice for the man in your life. I purchased the first one for my boyfriend, and will get another two for my brother and father this week!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cool Manly Bible

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leann
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bible as a gift. I thought it was great, it has a single collumn format so there is plenty of space on the pages for notes and such, however I thought larger text would have been ideal.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nellie
Location:Burlington, Ks
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible for a Birthday gift for my son, who just turned 26 and is looking for answers. I am really excited to watch him through his journey. this is more than just a Bible!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The MANual is Perfect for a Man of God's Daily Use

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jace
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I searched for a new Bible, I wanted something that was going to direct me as a Christian man though my life. I was looking for something that had the masculine edge to it without overstepping the bounds set for my intimate walk with God. I definitely found everything I was looking for in this Bible. The topics included in the bible were pertinent to today's choices and struggles set in a tone that any man is sure to grasp. It may not be the great cross-reference study Bible needed to really dive deep in research into every topic, but it certainly houses that daily and devotional usage that any guy can be proud to own.
My only issue with this order was that Christian Books stated that any personalization to the bible would match the color of the page lining. The page lining of this book is silver, and my personalization came in gold. Nothing too horrible to complain about, but I do wish it matched as stated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherry Crawford
I bought this bible for my husband for fathers day, he got it before as he was the one home when it was delivered. He loves his bible and showed it to all the guys at church. We both loved the straight forward wording for men, in these days they need really need this bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
This is a great Bible. Well made, great sized text, easy on the eyes. This Bible has a lot of helps, and is easy to understand. I sure enjoy reading mine, and recommend this to both new, and old Christian alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sonia Casanova
I got this bible for my boyfriend who is an unbeliever; he really loves it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Yvette Cason
Has lots of helps that a young men I think would find interesting. I bought it for my nephews (3 of them) graduation. They are non churched and I liked that it did not say HOLY BIBLE on the front
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Cardenas
I have not look inside because it is a gift for a friend. This Bible makes a wonderful gift for Men. It is a way to introduce God's Word in a creative, caring manner!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Manual: The NIV Bible for Men Italian Duo-Tone, Chocolate/Dark Caramel 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mitch Helle
Great Bible. I have been looking for a Man's Bible in NIV like this for 2 years. It has already helped me with Bible studies I teach and the sermon I preach in a few weeks. Guys... pull the trigger and get it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.