Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984

Zondervan NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984

The Life Application Study Bible was created for the reader who wants to answer the question, "what does God's Word mean for my life today?" This editions is full of features that will help you understand the timeless lessons of the Bible, including application notes, character studies, maps and charts, detailed book introductions, and more. The Life Application Study Bible is a rich resource to help you live out your faith in practical ways.

Features:
  • Over 10,000 Application Notes
  • Over 100 Character Sketches
  • Presentation page
  • Detailed book introductions
  • In-Text Maps & Charts
  • Dictionary/Concordance
  • Side-column references
  • Index to Notes
  • Index to Charts
  • Index to Maps
  • Index to Personality Profiles
  • Harmony of the Gospels
  • 16 pages of full-color maps
  • 8-page presentation section
  • Single-column format
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Reading plan
  • Burgundy bonded leather 
  • Gilded page edges
  • Ribbon Marker
  • 8-Point text
  • Words of Christ in red 
  • 6" x 9 x 1.5"
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
4
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
38 out of 4193%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Review 1 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible!

Date:April 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
HappyScot
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am completely delighted with my Bible, and the monogram which really sets it off as uniquely mine. I had used the NLT LASB when it first came out but didn't realise that there was an NIV edition. Plus, it is the 1984 translation which I have always preferred (and I've been using the NIV continuously since 1980).
Although I have a preference for UK spellings, it doesn't really matter. Slight changes such as "Saviour" to "Savior" make no difference. I can still understand it!
The Bible itself, while not Smyth-Sewn is of high quality and should easily last me for the rest of my life. I also like the single column text and the introductions, footnotes, charts, maps (in-text and at the end), tables, concordance and master index. All of these make this an indispensable tool and extremely portable and valuable library. Perfect to carry around, Bible Study groups, take on a trip or for attending conferences.
One criticism may be that the text is a little small and a little feint with some bleed through, however I bought this for personal devotions and study and my eyesight has not given up on me yet!
The Bible feels comfortable if holding in your hand and is not overly heavy. It could easily sit on anyone's lap, the arm of a chair or of course on a desk/table. The Bible also lays flat when open, although you may need to gently work the cover because of its newness. That said, with regular use it will settle down. The European leather is a nice binding. I like the stitching and the two-tone style.
All in all I am extremely happy with this Bible and look forward to using and getting to know it more intimately in the years to come.
Many thanks for making it available at such a reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Daquasty
Location:Vicenza Italy
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's exactly what i've expected!!! Very nice Bible i will recommend it to everyone!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

footnote commentarys, maps, history are wonderful

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Auntie M
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my son for Christmas. He has always like mine and used it when it was his turn to read God's Word to the congregation. So now he has one and really enjoys all the extra information about God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just not what I was looking for

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Emma
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was just mistaken by the life application study Bible, I thought it would include more historic and cultural information rather than moral explanations of the text. It's not really a study bible as much as it is a devotional Bible. Which is not the seller's fault at all. The Bible was gorgeous when I got it, and its was a great bargain!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Supple leather feels expensive

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
clbzzz
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cover feels expensive, but is a reasonable price including a name inscription on the cover. The suppleness of the leather makes it so much more pleasant than the hard cover to carry and to use. We passed along our hardcover to a young person who had outgrown their "teen" Bible. The page edges are in silver, which is less common than the gold. We like that, too. The ribbon is a rich brown. The Bible has a solid weight to it, but because the font is slightly smaller than in our standard Bible, but not as small as the "thin" Bible we have for travel; and it does not take up as much bulk as the standard size Bible. This is the same Bible we gave each of our six adult children; liked it so much, ordered this one for us. LOTS of information in the NIV Life Application Study Bible. Personal information on key characters. Helps on timelines. Maps. Red Letter ... all favorite features we like to see in our main Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Diana M
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this item as a gift. The recipient was thrilled with the features and the quality. I was very happy with the ease of ordering and the how quickly I received the item.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this!!

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
KimScott
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE the NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Italian Duo-Tone, Orchid/Chocolate 1984 ! I am so happy with this choice in a study bible . The print is a bit smaller than I like but with the bookmark magnifier it is easy enough to read. I would recommend this bible to anyone wanting a good study bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice looking Bible.

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
WMS2937
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought these Bibles for all the ladies in the Sunday School Class that we lead for Christmas. They are very nice looking Bibles, make great gifts, and the overall quality for the price seem to be very good. The Life Application Study Bible is my very favorite, I love the study notes, and the suggestions for applying it to your personal life. I love the look of the Bible, it is a very nice lady looking Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Defective?

Date:April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Yvette
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The silver page edging started falling off shortly after my son began using this Bible. CB.com has been great and is sending another in hopes that this was just a defect and not standard for this Bible. It really is a very nice looking Bible; we hope that the replacement doesn't have the same problem. I'm only not recommending because I don't know if our problem is a defect issue, or standard for this model.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded my Expectations

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
MARK
Location:Englewood, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already had high expectations of this product, having a paperback copy. This product, though exceeded those expectations - the leather, the binding, all of it great. It's a product I can use for the rest of my life - thank you!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Edition

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
OldGnome
Location:Riverview, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now my favorite Bible, this edition meets or exceeds every expectation I had prior to purchasing. The cover is sturdy and stands up quite well to my hectic travel schedule. For some, it may be a bit large to take everywhere, but the size works fine for me. I value the notes and maps to help guide my studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
bems
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our daughters boyfriend as a Christmas gift. It was everything that we were hoping for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome bible!

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Flash357
Location:Nc
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Already had hardback version but this is big improvement !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great deal

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
bean
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a beautiful bible that is just the right size for my college age daughter. Such a nice leather and I received it after only 4 days with the engraving and all. Thankful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got a great price on this when they were on sale, but was a little disappointed in the font size (pretty small) and the overall size of the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first bible!

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a new Christian and I went to the CBD warehouse sale and found this bible very cheap ($8.99 with someone else's name covered over). I was with a friend who was helping me pick one out and she told me to get this one. It is a little more advanced than I was looking for for my first bible but I am glad that I got it! I love all the notes that not only explain the verse but also tell you how to apply it to my life.
I love the colors and the feel of the cover. Thanks to this sale, I was able to get a better bible and binding than if I was to pay CBD sale prices! I will be using this bible for many years to come.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
giggi
Location:Westchester, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased bible for Christmas present for our future son-in-law. We were very pleased with it and so is he.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just as I expected!

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeanette
Location:Brownsville, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The size is perfect for my bedside reading. I hate getting burried in all my books and references, and this one is the perfect fit for my study time. Price was excellent. Got the European leather binding. Wasn't sure what that would be. Googled it and got a description that sounded acceptable, and am quite pleased with the look and feel. Print is small, but not smaller than anticipated. It's perfect in every way for my needs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
This review is fromNIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal size, TuTone Leatherlike, Black 1984.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Uhh-mey-zing!

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
CyMhit01
Location:Novato, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is awesome! Gave it to my boyfriend as a birthday gift and he loved it! The size is perfect. It's pretty handy for a study bible, yet the letter size is big enough. I also loved the cover. Overall, awesome product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, Bonded Leather, Burgundy 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
slane
Location:Snellville GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Good quality, good price. Bought as a gift, and they were very pleased too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.