Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984

Zondervan NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984

One of today's bestselling study Bible, The Life Application Study Bible, is now available in a personal-size edition.

The Life Application Study Bible includes nearly 10,000 notes and features designed to help you apply God's truth to everyday life.
  • Personality profiles highlight over 100 important Bible characters
  • Bestselling New International Version (NIV)
  • Book introductions provide vital statistics, overview, and timeline to help you understand the message of each book
  • 200 thumbnail maps that highlight important Bible places and events
  • 260 charts that help explain difficult concepts and relationships
  • New information on the time between the testaments
  • Harmony of the Gospels
  • Dictionary & Concordance
  • Side-column reference system
  • Subject index to notes, charts, maps, & profiles
  • 16 pages of full-color maps
  • Presentation page
  • Single-column format
  • 9-point text
  • Ribbon marker
  • Silver page edges
  • 6" x 9" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Review 1 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thankful to Have Gotten One

Date:May 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
CBDrocks
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thankful to the Lord that I was able to purchase this amazing gem before it all but disappeared. I am going to gift it to my daughter and I'm very happy she can continue using the NIV 1984 for many years to come, alongside the expanded notes and features of this personal size Life Application Study Bible.
I pray that Biblica (formerly International Bible Society) will one day see fit to re-release the NIV 1984, perhaps under the name "NIV Classic." I think a whole lot of people are going to miss the widespread availabity of this version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible!

Date:April 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
HappyScot
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am completely delighted with my Bible, and the monogram which really sets it off as uniquely mine. I had used the NLT LASB when it first came out but didn't realise that there was an NIV edition. Plus, it is the 1984 translation which I have always preferred (and I've been using the NIV continuously since 1980).
Although I have a preference for UK spellings, it doesn't really matter. Slight changes such as "Saviour" to "Savior" make no difference. I can still understand it!
The Bible itself, while not Smyth-Sewn is of high quality and should easily last me for the rest of my life. I also like the single column text and the introductions, footnotes, charts, maps (in-text and at the end), tables, concordance and master index. All of these make this an indispensable tool and extremely portable and valuable library. Perfect to carry around, Bible Study groups, take on a trip or for attending conferences.
One criticism may be that the text is a little small and a little feint with some bleed through, however I bought this for personal devotions and study and my eyesight has not given up on me yet!
The Bible feels comfortable if holding in your hand and is not overly heavy. It could easily sit on anyone's lap, the arm of a chair or of course on a desk/table. The Bible also lays flat when open, although you may need to gently work the cover because of its newness. That said, with regular use it will settle down. The European leather is a nice binding. I like the stitching and the two-tone style.
All in all I am extremely happy with this Bible and look forward to using and getting to know it more intimately in the years to come.
Many thanks for making it available at such a reasonable price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

footnote commentarys, maps, history are wonderful

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Auntie M
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my son for Christmas. He has always like mine and used it when it was his turn to read God's Word to the congregation. So now he has one and really enjoys all the extra information about God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just not what I was looking for

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Emma
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was just mistaken by the life application study Bible, I thought it would include more historic and cultural information rather than moral explanations of the text. It's not really a study bible as much as it is a devotional Bible. Which is not the seller's fault at all. The Bible was gorgeous when I got it, and its was a great bargain!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Supple leather feels expensive

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
clbzzz
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cover feels expensive, but is a reasonable price including a name inscription on the cover. The suppleness of the leather makes it so much more pleasant than the hard cover to carry and to use. We passed along our hardcover to a young person who had outgrown their "teen" Bible. The page edges are in silver, which is less common than the gold. We like that, too. The ribbon is a rich brown. The Bible has a solid weight to it, but because the font is slightly smaller than in our standard Bible, but not as small as the "thin" Bible we have for travel; and it does not take up as much bulk as the standard size Bible. This is the same Bible we gave each of our six adult children; liked it so much, ordered this one for us. LOTS of information in the NIV Life Application Study Bible. Personal information on key characters. Helps on timelines. Maps. Red Letter ... all favorite features we like to see in our main Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Defective?

Date:April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Yvette
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The silver page edging started falling off shortly after my son began using this Bible. CB.com has been great and is sending another in hopes that this was just a defect and not standard for this Bible. It really is a very nice looking Bible; we hope that the replacement doesn't have the same problem. I'm only not recommending because I don't know if our problem is a defect issue, or standard for this model.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded my Expectations

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
MARK
Location:Englewood, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already had high expectations of this product, having a paperback copy. This product, though exceeded those expectations - the leather, the binding, all of it great. It's a product I can use for the rest of my life - thank you!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Edition

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
OldGnome
Location:Riverview, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now my favorite Bible, this edition meets or exceeds every expectation I had prior to purchasing. The cover is sturdy and stands up quite well to my hectic travel schedule. For some, it may be a bit large to take everywhere, but the size works fine for me. I value the notes and maps to help guide my studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
bems
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our daughters boyfriend as a Christmas gift. It was everything that we were hoping for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great deal

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
bean
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a beautiful bible that is just the right size for my college age daughter. Such a nice leather and I received it after only 4 days with the engraving and all. Thankful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
giggi
Location:Westchester, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased bible for Christmas present for our future son-in-law. We were very pleased with it and so is he.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:High Point, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this Bible for my son-in-law's birthday. When it arrived, I opened the package and I was so excited. It is one of the most beautiful Bibles I have ever seen. It is perfect for my 'very early 30 year old' children that have a new interest in Bible study. I love the life application. The only complaint would be it's not offered in an indexed version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Lynch
Beautiful Bible and the fabulous Life Application! Thanks for a great price! I recommend this Bible to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denise Eaddy
It's just what I wanted; it fits perfect in my bag and it's not to heavy! I'm pleased! Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Williams
This is a wonderful study Bible that is easy to use. It provides book introductions at the beginning of each book that are very helpful in understanding the message of what each book is about. The only recommendation I would have would be for a slightly larger font size. The overall size of the Bible is perfect and the quality is very nice. Overall I am very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Lots of great information. Print is rather small for me. Really stiff out of the box but the pages and cover soften up with use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Egbert
Great value. Love it! NIV is easy to read and I love the Life Application Study Bible notes. This bible is thicker than my other bibles because it's smaller in height and width.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Knight
I would recommend this Bible. I have had to replace my regular size Bibles with personal size ones after I got glasses as the ends of the lines were distorted to me. This Bible is very well made and will last a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
I just recently got this as a gift. At first I was concerned about the print size. But because of the choice of font, I can read it just fine. I love the feel of the Leather and yes it is leather and I love the way it feels in my hand. This size is just right. And the notes and single column type is just the way I like a good Bible. I have had no problem with the binding or the way it was made. Very happy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size, European Leather, Dark Caramel/Espresso 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tom Claxton
I have just purchased this bible as a gift and love it so much I will be purchasing another!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>