Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wisenquest A Christmas Visitor, DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Wisenquest A Christmas Visitor, DVD

In the small American town of New Chatham, Christmas is approaching for the Boyajian family. But father George (Emmy® and Golden Globe® nominee William Devane, Knots Landing), mother Carol (Emmy® nominee Meredith Baxter, Family Ties), and their daughter, Jean (Reagan Pasternak, Jailbait), have lost the desire to celebrate. Immersed in grief since the death of their son on Christmas Eve 1991, in the Persian Gulf War, George and Carol have forgone the familial comfort and pleasures of the holidays. But this year, George's annual visit to his son's grave has renewed faith in a heartsick father. Splitting logs for a Yule fire and retrieving old ornaments from the attic, George is determined to bring his family together. His wish comes true in ways none of them could have anticipated.

It begins when George picks up a young man named Matthew (Dean McDermott, Brian's Song), a hitchhiker presumably without a place to stay. Accepting the generous invitation to spend the night at George's house, Matthew also agrees to a well-intentioned charade: to pretend, for Carol's sake, that he knew their beloved son in the war. But once inside the warmth of the Boyajian home, settled around a festively decorated tree, Matthew has a few surprises in store for all of them—ones that will renew their faith in each other and in the extraordinary miracles of Christmas. Not rated. Approx. 87 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Review 1 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was a great story line!

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jackie
Location:Weilerbach, Germany
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie brings a more up to date view of dealing with the tragedy of war and the effect it has on families during the holiday season and allowing the healing process to penetrate. It only takes one to start a fire that can spread and in this film, George's willingness to let go of the past and move on, causes miracles to happen. Although it's imaginary to believe his son could come back, it's still a great story line as well as heart warming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a Christian movie

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This movie was not a Christian movie nor a family movie. It dealt with some tough issues, ie breast cancer and death of a family member. However, it included multiple things I felt were not appropriate, such as: the young woman who had breast cancer was shown taking off her shirt and we see her in her bra; it was mentioned that her boyfriend "found the lump" (they are now separated); the dead son "returns" to help the family "heal" as another soldier -- At one point he tells the daughter - who is about to take a pill for the pain she feels after the biopsy on her breast - to close her eyes and take a deep breath and then think of something that would give you the most pleasure. During this time he rubs his hands down her shoulders and arms and thus 'healing' her). I would not recommend this movie at all. In fact, I threw it out. I would have rated it as a "0" if I could have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Huffman
What a heart wrenching movie!! Wonderful and believable story. Full of sorrow, love, faithand love for a stranger. Exciting. A wonderful Christmas Movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Excellent movie. Shows how we can let our emotions keep us from doing the right thing. It is easy to forget God in the midst of troubles, but that's when we need to lean on him the most. Very moving story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Twyla Collins
What a beautiful story line. My mother and I truly enjoyed it and will watch it throughout the year. (We are Christmas hearts--all year long).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shala Barczewska
I cannot express how disappointed my husband and I were with this film. Not only is it NOT a Christian film - but subversive to Christianity in that it focuses on the 'healing magic of Christmas' while ignoring the healing power of Christ. There is no mention of heaven (or hell) in dealing with the son's death. Instead, the family 'talk to him' in his room and at his memorial. The soldier, Matthew, is portrayed as some mystical healer or incarnation of their son. At one point he tells the daughter - who is about to take a pill for the pain she feels after a biopsy on her breast - to close her eyes and take a deep breath and then think of something that would give you the most pleasure. During this time he rubs his hands down her shoulders and arms and thus 'healing' her). In my opinion, this film does not even rate as a Hollywood feel-good movie, much less one offered on a Christian site. My husband suggested sending it back. Even though we know we will have to pay international postage and no refund would be offered, we may just do so to make a point.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie King
This was a very insperational movie and having so many family members that have been in the military this was a great movie to watch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marilyn L Mesch
We watched that movie last night. It was great. Thank you for providing such wonderful movies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Audrey Mcintosh
Considering the number of families who have lost their loved ones in the war, this DVD is a poignant reminder that God can and will be there during the most difficult times. Great performance by all actors. I'll watch this one over and over.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Querry
A good family movie about seeing tough times through together. Remembering the joy and happiness of family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Selena Clements
This is a great movie. It may help renew one's faith in others that sometimes is taken for granted or forgoton.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Frank Clampet
This DVD was enjoyable but you need to keep a box of tissues nearby. It was heartwarming and characters did a great job acting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rachelle Magwood
Great movie however, there was no warning about the young lady in the movie taking off her shirt and showing her in her bra. This is offensive to people who are trying to keep their eyes pure. I wouldn't take off my shirt at church to show people or expose myself and excuse it because it revolved around breast cancer. Just a fair warning for those families who have men in the home.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Grandma Laura Pavao
Excellant movie! I am one of those who believes this really could happen! Wouldn't it be wonderful if our world really saw such? I recommend this for everyone!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Robbins
Very well acted and the story line, although predictable, did not take away from the anticipation. This is one movie that I will definitely watch again and again! Enjoy, but get your box of tissues out!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Walters
A ok family film. This DVD is based upon a families grief over the loss of their son who was killed in the Gulf War. Not to many references to God and none of Jesus Christ so I would not call it a Christian film.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
snowball fight
A great movie of love of family and our soliders and the ultament price that is paid. A must see movie with your family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Erin Bousselaire
This is a great movie. It helps me keep our soldiers in my thoughts and prayers this Christmas season.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lori
I have seen this movie on the Hallmark channel so I knew what I was buying. I don't believe we can be angels after death but the movie does make you think. God created us and wants us to be joyful and peaceful through Him being in our heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Christmas Visitor, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jo Norris
We cannot explain the ways of God nor can we know when we might entertain angels unaware. This movie shows us the Lord is concerned with what concerns us. This is a somewhat fanciful story of dealing with grief, learning to move beyond it to make our lives & the lives of others better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>