Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984

Zondervan NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984

With a classic antique look on the outside and the trusted NIV translation on the inside, this heirloom Bible makes an exquisite gift! The NIV Reference Bible has been transformed with a uniquely stained cover, deckled edges and off-white paper to give it a classic, antique look.

Features include:

  • NIV concordance for quick and easy reference
  • Table of Weights and Measures
  • Center-column reference system for in-depth study of the Bible
  • 8-page full-color map section
  • Words of Jesus in red
  • Ribbon marker
  • Presentation page for gift-giving
  • 8-point text size
  • 8.75 X 5.75 X 1.75
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
8 out of 1173%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Review 1 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice Everyday Bible

Date:April 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
NaturalOutlaw
Location:Northern, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the stressed look of the imitation leather. I have found these materials to standup better than bonded leather (will not get into how that is made). While the print is not overly large it is a very clear type-set, therefore making it easy to read. The yellowed paper adds to the readability as it does not reflect light as much as a pure white page. I have no complaints and truly like the old-fashioned look of the NIV.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not What I Expected

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really wanted to like this Bible but it wasn't what expected and ended up returning it. The Bible really doesn't open all the way (doesn't lay flat), so you can't read very well the inner columns of Scripture which is the main reason why I returned it. Someone else commented on this aspect as well and they were spot on. Also, the Bible was extremely thick because of the paper they used. Yes, the Bible has the Antique/Old World style to it but in person it is much darker than what is pictured. Even the title on the outside of the Bible was difficult to see. It definitely works for some people but not for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good looking bible nice cross references

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
wocir
Location:Lubbock tx
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really like bible, so much me and my wife each got one.the bible does open up and lay flat, easy to read and love the jagged edges, over all a great bible, just what I was wanting. if your looking for s good bible this is it . I like that it says Holy Bible on the front! :-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
bamagal
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice Bible, loved the antique look and edges of each page.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect gift

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wando
Location:Columbus, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted my parents to have the 1984 version of the NIV, so I was happy to find it. The pages are very easy for them to turn due to the "thicker" feel of the pages. The "ragged" edges of the pages also give it a better grip when turning to a specific passage. I would recommend people buy this Bible while they are still available.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful Bible for an exceptional price!

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shawn
Location:Coarsegold, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible far exceeded our expectations, and the engraving on the cover made it so very special as a gift. We are pleased with every product we have purchased from Christian Book! Thank you!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Had what I wanted!

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
sonflower
Location:McPherson, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this Bible to replace another Zondervan cross reference Bible that has come apart from the cover and is well worn. The older one has been my "go to" Bible for study because of the references and exhaustive concordance for a Bible of this size. I had to "give" up some of the newer features ... softer cover, lays flat when open ... but I'm thankful I finally found the features that I have grown accustomed to.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I was disappointed in the quality.

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
rww777
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed when I received the Bible. I was looking for a NIV Bible with references and thought this would be a nice one. I just didn't like the overall appearance of the Bible.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marly
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered 2 Bibles and had them monogrammed. Turned out beautifully.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

lovely, but ...

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
MizzzG
Location:guadalupe, calif
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this Bible is lovely. the paper is a nice weight and the cover is unique. however, the inside margin is so narrow that it's hard to read the words along the inside edge of the page. also, this Bible does not lay flat, despite its flexible cover. i don't see myself using it for study on a daily basis.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Gorham, Me
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is as beautiful as the words written in it, I hope all that purchase this Bible will enjoy it as much as i do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Reference Bible--bonded leather, antiqued brown 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anthony Ramos
I love it! it is beautiful the feel, the pages, the extras everything is awesome I had been looking for a bible like this for awhile I am so happy I found one that fit my vision I recommend you monogram it for that extra touch P.S. customer service was amazing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.