Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture

Zondervan KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture

Now available in the timeless King James Version, the Archaeological Study Bible features a four-color interior, over 500 full-color photographs, in-text maps, detailed charts, study notes, and cultural facts that bring the ancient biblical world to life.

Full of informative articles and full-color photographs of places and objects from biblical times, this Bible examines the archaeological record surrounding God’s Word and brings the biblical world to life. Your study will be enriched as you become more informed about the empires, places, and peoples of the ancient world.

Features include
  • Four-color interior throughout
  • Bottom-of-page study notes exploring passages that speak on archaeological and cultural facts
  • Articles (520) covering five main categories:
    • Archaeological Sites
    • Cultural and Historical Notes
    • Ancient Peoples and Lands
    • Reliability of the Bible
    • Ancient Texts and Artifacts
  • Approximately 500 four-color photographs interspersed throughout
  • Detailed book introductions that provide basic, at-a-glance information
  • Detailed charts on pertinent topics
  • In-text color maps that assist you in locating the action
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
33 out of 3789%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Review 1 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very informative

Date:July 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
HollyB
Location:Rayne, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this study bible. I enjoy knowing the archeological aspect of the bible. Very informative. I feel like I take a journey every time I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended.

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gerie Biffle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This publication of the Bible is awesome! I purchased it following my tradition of reading through the Bible nearly every year and rewarding myself with a new publication to expand my insights and to keep my eyes entertained by something visually new. I seek factual study helps and an attractive presentation. I avoid bias or opinionated study guides relating to the scripture, itself, seeking rather, to develop my own convictions and opinions, leaving more room for the Holy Spirit to guide my study.
The Archaeological Study Bible by Zondervan has made it very difficult with me to continue my tradition of getting a new Bible for each read-through. I am on my third read-through and I cannot find another publication that appeals to me enough to purchase it and read it instead of reading the Archaeological Study Bible again.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Linzy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bible for my father who loves history, he reads it and loves it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Background information is wonderful.

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marge
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has greatly ehanced my current study of Psalms and Proverbs. Ancient history of other cultures brings good background to the life of those times.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my favourite bible

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
belle
Location:New Brunswick, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far my favourite Bible. Not only is it beautiful, but it has so much information that helps me understand how and why certain things happened in the Bible. It helps you to understand where certain events unfolded as well, in today's time. I bought this one as a Christmas gift for my dad and I bought an extra one for myself. I've never seen my dad so excited to show off his gift before! We are both very pleased with the Archeological Study Bible.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the features, maps, charts, etc. are terrific.

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
markmarko50
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just exactly what I required, and arrived as promised.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than I expected.

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Louis
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good. It was much better than I had expected. It is a good reference tool. For the price it sure can't be beat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth it!

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elma
Location:New York, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought the NIV version in 2010 which is when I first saw it on this site, and called the publishers to ask if there was a KJV, as I am partial to that version. However, I had never gotten around to buying it until now. After all, the price was SO right and fit into my present budget. I love this bible---its like a Bible and history book together--with tons of interesting bits, and the notes are laid out in a colorful manner as to not the reading boring! However, the print IS small (I think if it was a little darker would be ok) ..and you'd be better off leaving it close to wherever you do your studying...as it IS heavy (but that's just how it is for me)!!
Notwithstanding, you could bypass the little inconveniences very well in a snap, as this book it well worth adding to your collection of bibles!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
collecter
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I collect bibles and this one fits in my collection great.It is filled with very interesting information. I should have bought it long ago.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased as always

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shawn
Location:Arlington,Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My products came very quickly and as always I am very pleased!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great pesonal tool to understand the scripture

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
josh
Location:Tokyo, Japan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is a great tool for everyone at the reasoable price to learn and
and enhance the biblical kknowledge with the historical facts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Beautiful Bible

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
honest h
Location:eldon,mo
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a beautiful Bible, well made, but has an offensive odor. Probably because of a solvent that was used in the ink or the color that made the pages look antique. I had to return this Bible for that reason.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Historical Information

Date:January 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donna B
Location:Vallejo, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely fell in love with this Bible when I opened it. I love all the pictures and the historical background that it gave in regards to bible times and how they lived during that time. I didn't particular care for the commentary part of the bible dealing with creation because it creates a doubt in regards to creation. I would love if they would do a Bible like this again without commentary. Overall, I did like and would recommend this Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Yea, hath God said?

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Berean
Location:Chelan Falls, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Bible is the Word of God. Today it is called; "The King James Version" in order to mock it. This KJV Archaeological Study Bible has notes that bring into question the text of God's Word. e.g.-suggesting that creation days were not 24 hour days. If you want a good Bible, get a King James with no margin notes at all. All "study bibles" contain notes that contradict the text. They can destroy your faith by causing you to doubt God's Word, just as Satan did to Eve in Genesis 3. Exodus 20:11 tells us;"For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day" There is no room for evolution in the Bible. There is no room for evolution in margin notes, either.
+14points
25of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brogan
Location:Haysville, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The KJV Archaeological Study Bible has helped me put several things into the context of the time and given me insight into a new understanding of why or where something happened. I would recommend this Bible to anyone who wants a deeper historical understanding of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very informative

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
gplittlehouse
Location:St Augustine,Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adds a lot of depth and background to Biblical Study
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

written from a somewhat skeptical view

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
cherry
Location:CA
Age:25-34
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Please read from all of the previews available. The notes and commentary on this Bible are written from a somewhat skeptical standpoint. "IF Moses did indeed write/compile Genesis..." "The length of the creative days of Genesis 1 is not specified in the Bible...The Hebrew word for "day" may mean..." It, however, DOES support creation rather than any form of evolution. Some of the highlighted and enlarged "ancient voices" quotes are offensive to me as they are the voices of anyone in the ancient world, may be perverted, distorted, or untrue, and yet are more prominent than the scripture itself. I WAS excited about this product... I am offended by the marriage of distortion with the Truth and am not so sure that the other interesting and helpful information is worth it to me in this format. It is like keeping offensive bookmarks in a Bible. I think I would use it for reference but not as a Bible.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
rlgoodwin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my daughter who is going for bibical archeolgy she loves it it is very informitive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing book!

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cody
Location:Charleston, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book as a gift for a skeptic history professor of mine. He is a wonderful person and former Christian but has since became skeptical about God and His Word. Because this book has much history/archaeology, etc. I thought this Bible would be perfect for him. He was very excited to receive it and seemed very excited to read it. I hope and pray that he reads it and that God works on his heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well written history of a book we all love.

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Myrna Powell
Location:Portland, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not a book to read lightly, or leisurly. There is great historical help in understanding the Bible, with the how, where and when, and history of Bible we love, but often read piece-meal. Great for getting to know better what the Bible is all about, and why.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>