Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2

Harvest House Publishers A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2

Annie Shirack is trying to fight her feelings for David Plank, a young Amish man who's struggling with an aggressive case of Hodgkin's lymphoma. David loves Annie too much to let her into his life, only, he fears, to leave her.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2
Review 1 for A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True-to-daily-life struggles make for good read

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Shirack has more than her share of troubles. As a young woman she struggles with the untimely death of her parents and watching David Plank, the man she loves, suffer with cancer. Life in her Amish home may be simple, but it isn’t easy. She and her younger siblings live with her brother and his wife and children, which creates abundant opportunities for tension. Add to the mix a pregnant teen mother with a three-year-old and a robber for a boyfriend. How can Annie help everyone, including herself?
Annie enjoys working in the bakery with David’s widowed mother, where she gets to see David often. He fears the pain he’d cause her if they grow too close. Will he always keep her at a distance? Annie’s brother Josiah has his own problems when the wild girlfriend from his running-around years returns to try to win him back. Will he choose her over Annie’s friend Miriam or be drawn away from Plain life?
An additional plot line involves a young girl David meets at the hospital. Kinsey battles cancer too, and longs to ride a black horse. David offers riding lessons, and the bond between them grows. Will watching her health fail steal his remnant of faith or help it grow stronger?
This heart-touching story will make readers think about their own lives and choices. A Heart Made New is the second book in Kelly Irvin’s Bliss Creek Amish series, but can also stand alone. The characters seem so authentic—you can’t help but care.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW! AMAZING AND EMOTIONAL READ...

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A HEART MADE NEW by Kelly Irvin is an interesting inspirational Amish fiction set in a Kansas Amish Community.Book 2 in "The Bliss Creek Amish" series, but can be read as a stand alone. See,"To Love and Cherish". While, struggles with Hodgkin’s lymphoma,David Plank loves Annie Shirack,but refuses to commit to his feelings due to an uncertain future. Filled with emotional turmoil,Amish community,faith,love,fear,suspense,dreams,romance,and a few twists and turns you want see coming. WOW! What a emotional and amazing story with an intriguing plot and characters who will steal your heart. It will not take you long to come to love this family with all their tragedy and triumph and the community. I enjoy Amish reads and this was no exception. This is my first my this author, but will not my last. She draws the reader into her characters lives and holds them there. A must read for anyone who enjoys community,faith, the Amish community,suspense,romance and an emotional story of faith,healing and heartwarming. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Wynn-Wynn Media. Details can be found at the author's website,Harvest House Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Have your tissues ready

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book tells the story of Annie the sister to Emma from the first book. Annie cares for David but he is fighting Hodgkin’s lymphoma and fears he will die and does not want to get close to Annie. One day at the bakery that Annie works at there is a hold up and they are robbed. This brings a woman and a little girl into Annie’s life and she feels compelled to help them even though they are English. While David deals with his disease and what his future might or might not be he meets a little girl who is also dealing with cancer and just maybe he will start to see what God has planned for him.
This series is tied together and you must read book one to understand this book. This is a very somber series in my eyes as death never seems very far away.
What I liked: I like this family a lot and find myself very attached to them. Annie has a great heart and I liked how she was willing to help the girlfriend of the man who robbed the bakery.
What I did not like: I just wish David had opened up to Annie a little earlier. This book deals a lot with grief and death and feels heavy. Annie’s sister Emma went through a rough time in this book and even though it was well written I just would like to see something good happen to this family! Also the ending felt a little abrupt and I wish David’s out come could have been made more clear. I complained about this in my review for the first book but I wish the oldest brother Luke could have some pages to see his point of view I just feel like he comes across as kind of rough around the edges but I know there is more to him and wish as a reader I could get to know him better.
Over all this was a good book. I am interested to see where the third book will take us and I hope it has some happy outcomes. I am enjoying the storyline this series is taking just wish it was not so sad at times. If you like Amish fiction you will enjoy this book just have some tissues close. Also you will need to read the first book in the series before you read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Amish romance

Date:October 28, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautifully written story. It started a little slow, but overall I enjoyed the Annie and David's tale. While this is the second book in the series, I have not read the first and did not feel as though I'd missed something vital.
***I received this book from the publisher/author for purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Chaptico, MD
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You don't have to be a fan of Amish fiction to enjoy Kelly Irvin's A Heart Made New. You just need to like a good, believable story with characters you can care about.
Annie Shirack wants so much to share her life with David Plank. David has been fighting cancer and keeps his distance not wanting Annie to end up a young widow. Annie is a very compassionate person who wants to help others. She befriends a pregnant, homeless young woman, Charisma, and her daughter, Gracie--who she meets through some very unusual circumstances--and brings them into her household.
Will Charisma be able to turn her life around? Will David be able to let Annie into his life? Will Annie find happiness? Readers will stay riveted to the novel to discover the answers to these questions.
Kelly Irvin has written a remarkable novel touching on issues faced by people of all faiths and cultures. I highly recommend A Heart Made New. Thank you, Kelly for a wonderful book. I'm looking forward to many more of your stories!
Susan Simpson, author
Ginger and the Bully
www.susansimpson.tateauthor.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love Kelly's books

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Shirack has loved David Plank since they were kids, but his illness is driving a huge wedge between them, in fact he has decided that it is best for them to not see each other. That way if he dies Annie won't be left a young widow. This makes Annie so upset, she feels like he is not giving it a chance. With the death of her parents and still living in her childhood home, she feels like she is an extra weight on her older brother Luke, and his wife Leah. Leah is always complaining that Annie is not helping enough around the house, but she works in town at the bakery with David's mom and gives her money to Luke to help with expenses. A fateful day when a desperate young man walks into the bakery and pulls a gun, throws Annies' entire world into an upheaval. The young man is caught and taken to jail, leaving a girlfriend living in their van with their little three year old daughter. Annie takes them home, certain that helping someone in need is what she is to do.
What I loved about this book: Kelly Irvin is a wonderful storyteller and she brings these characters to life with her writing. Annie has a good heart and loves to help others, David also has a big heart and opens it to allow a little Englisch girl who is dying with leukemia into his world.
What I didn't like about this book: Leah, Annie's sister-in-law is so harsh, I just wanted to shake her good. I was happy that Luke straightened her up. It was hard to read the little girl's story too, it breaks my heart that little children have to suffer with diseases like cancer.
My final thoughts: This was a book I could not stop reading until the end of the book. I loved it! Kelly Irvin writes stories that make you feel like you know the characters personally! 332 pages US $13.99 5 stars
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Unique Amish Sstory

Date:October 4, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Amish story has twists and turns to keep you turning pages and also tangles to make you believe the characters are real. Several of the Amish in this story work in town where they are exposed to the local Englisch residents who don't understand Amish standards. This story gives the reader family, relationships, heartache, and forgiveness. A couple of the characters in the story you love at times and then at other times, you'd like to shake some sense into them. It's a good read with strong, memorable characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great follow-up to "To Love and to Cherish"

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Redcurt
Location:Denver, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful follow-up to "To Love and to Cherish". There are so many different storylines intersecting each other. I found it heartrending, heartwarming, and gripping up to the end. In short, this was an excellent read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2
This review is fromHeart Made New, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Folks Are Real People with Real Problems!

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Heart Made New
Kelly Irwin ©2012
Harvest House Publishers
ISBN 978-0-7369-4383-3 (pbk)
(The Bliss Creek Amish, bk. 2)
Annie Shirack, Miriam Yoder and Planks Pastry and Pie shop owner, Sadie Plank are witnesses when a frightened young man robs the shop. The police say they must testify against the thief, who was apprehended in minutes. As Amish, the women easily forgive and refuse to testify in an ‘Englischer’ court.
The town mayor, Gwendolyn Haag, also in the shop when the robber shot out the door and windows of the place, insists the women must testify against the young man.
The book opens with this exciting scene and like all good writing, tension then fills nearly every page of the story.
Annie loves Sadie’s son, David, who is receiving chemotherapy for cancer. David meets Willow, a single mother. Her daughter, Kinsey is also fighting cancer.
Miriam loves Annie’s brother, Josiah, the ‘bad boy’ of the Amish group. Josiah fights his attraction for Sarah, who wants to join the ‘Plain people’. Is Sarah for real?
Sergeant Dylan Parker is attracted to Annie, but knows the Amish don’t marry outside the clan.
Annie meets the robber’s pregnant girlfriend, Charisma Chiasson and three –year old daughter, Grace. She takes them home. Money is tight in the household but Annie knows she must help the mixed up young woman. More complications to a gripping tale!
The story explains the Amish as normal people who gossip, love each other, try to obey the rules and live simple lives. A well-written story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Heart Made New, Bliss Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish Fiction

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Heart Made New
By Kelly Irvin
As I began reading this Amish novel, I thought to myself, "Oh this is the same old stuff. An Englischer gets involved with an Amish person, a person gets ill, there are challenges as the lifestyles clash." Boy , was I wrong!! This was a unique, intriguing story. The characters are so well described that you can imagine their looks and their personalities- they become very dear friends. You suffer with them in their problems and rejoice in their successes. Kelly has developed her characters in a realistic fashion, so that they could be people you would meet in the Amish community setting.
The plot was exciting and had many twists and turns. It kept you thinking throughout the book . I was unable to predict what would happen next. Kelly did a fantastic job of having more than one theme going on in the book. There were actually two stories that fit together. Very different and fantastic.
Logan, is the "bad guy" , an Englischer , who tries to rob the bakery run by the Amish , saying he has to do it to feed his family. A shot is fired and he ends up in jail, against the wishes of the Amish community whose faith says forgiveness is the answer not punishment. His girlfriend, pregnant and with a little girl arrives on the scene, homeless, with no money. That is again where the Amish pull together. Annie who was threatened at the bakery , takes it upon herself to show compassion and help this young mom.
Meanwhile, Annie's intended, David is suffering from cancer and undergoing treatment. He is not dealing well with this challenge and his story becomes a second important part of the plot of the book. Will God change things to heal him and his relationship with Annie?
Will Logan have to go to jail? Will his girlfriend forgive him? The end of the book was a total surprise. I sincerely hope there is a sequel. I WANT to know what happens next!!
This ebook was provided by Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.