Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Guideposts Growing Up Ziglar

Guideposts Growing Up Ziglar

Julie Ziglar Norman often says her dad is the king of "doing life right" and she is the poster child for "doing life wrong." In Growing Up Ziglar: A Daughter's Broken Journey from Heartache to Hope, Julie shares how for 25 years she lived every day with regret, shame, guilt, and depression while trying to keep up the positive outer appearance that was expected of her as the daughter of popular motivational author and speaker Zig Ziglar.

Within the pages of Growing Up Ziglar, Norman reveals her struggles with depression, alcohol, and men. She candidly tells of her failed first marriage, unplanned pregnancies and difficult choices, and the challenges involved with her remarriage and blending families. With transparency and insight, she describes her soul-searching path from heartache to redemption, allowing readers to discover the power to let go of shame and embrace freedom, as well as the courage to live with a new depth of faith. Ultimately Norman offers the hope that God can beautifully redeem even the worst choices and equips her audience with the tools to make needed changes.

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Growing Up Ziglar
Review 1 for Growing Up Ziglar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Personal Story

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first heard of Zig Ziglar when I lived the Dallas, Texas area several years ago. I remember hearing about his motivational speeches, and then I was delighted to hear that he was a Christian. I have never attended one of his conferences, and I knew nothing about his family. I was pleased to find a book written by his youngest. Simple but strong, her book finally gave me some insight into her famous father and the way God has worked in her and her family over the years.
This book was a delight to read from the beginning. Jule has a very conversational style of writing, and her words and stories are simple but effective. I found myself laughing, crying, and being deeply touched by what she wrote. Her words gave me so much hope, and she did not shy away from her Chrstian belief system in any of the chapters. She also did not give juicy dteails about anyone or their stories except her own. She treated every person in the book with the kind of respect that many people do not give or receive. Worthiness was not a prerequisite for respect.
My only complaint was that the book could have been longer. But her short book packs a powerful punch. Do not read this book unless you are ready to be challenged and convicted.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest rwview. All opinions are 100 percent mine, and I received no financial compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Growing Up Ziglar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

informative & helpful

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammo
Location:OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
informative & helpful, I saw this book advertised through another source and was lead to buy it for my daughter so instead of buying only one, I bought two copies..(my daughter lives in another country) I loved the way this book was written. We all have a story to tell and it is good to read another' s, gives one perspective and guidance. An enjoyable read for any age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Growing Up Ziglar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

If you like Zig Ziglar, you'd like this.

Date:June 15, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've heard of Zig Ziglar but have never really read anything by him. I know he's a motivational speaker but that's about the extent of my knowledge about him. I like reading about people and learning about others, so I figured who better to learn about Zig than from his daughter.
I enjoyed his perspective from his daughter. She was honest and risked everything to tell the truth to others about her past. She admits her failures and her shortcomings. But that's not all she talks about. There is a redemptive side, as well. She shares how she came back to Christ and realized that her guilt was gone, her chains were broken, and she was set free.
It wasn't the most well-written book I've read, but it was interesting to read and I gained some insight into their lives as a family. If you like Zig Ziglar, then you'd like this book. She mentions him a lot and shares many of her memories of her family with the reader.
For more reviews about this book, you can go to: http://litfusegroup.com/blogtours/13500888/growingupziglar
______________________
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Growing Up Ziglar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Must Read Book

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will be honest I did not want to read this book. I got a request to review it and I did not respond. Well a week later the book showed up on my door. My first impression (before reading anything) is another celebrity child riding on the wings of their famous parent. I love Zig Ziglar, saw him in person, but what could his daughter say that would keep me interested. BOY WAS I WRONG. God dropped this book on my doorstep and left me bruised and convicted. Norman’s honesty was refreshing and convicting. She says things and talks about things many of us wish we could discuss. I believe every woman will be able to relate to at least one of the many struggles she talks about. Or like me, several. Some of the struggles were made and brought on by poor choices, just like the rest of us, but many of us don’t admit it so openly. I strongly suggest you add this to your reading list this year. It is an easy read with only 165 pages, but it filled with a lot to digest. I have to be honest I think I am still digesting some of the things God has convicted me on while reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Growing Up Ziglar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Julie's Journey from Heartache to Hope

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julie Ziglar Norman’s tells the story of her spiritual journey in her book “Growing up Ziglar”. She tells how she found hope through faith, freedom through forgiveness, and courage to make needed changes.
Julie’s writing is engaging, transparent, and brutally honest, offering the reader hope Julie provides powerful tools for life change. Julie Ziglar Norman’s tells the story of her spiritual journey in her book “Growing up Ziglar”. She tells how she found hope through faith, freedom through forgiveness, and courage to make needed changes. The reader will be helped as they identify with Julie as she discusses issues, of low self-esteem, wrong choices, divorce, abuse, denial, alcoholism, and guilt.
“Growing up Ziglar” is a bold testimony of the grace of God, the dangers of negative self-talk, and the importance of making right choices.”
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Growing Up Ziglar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging Read.

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Relaxing Sunday Reader
Location:Marion, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Growing Up Ziglar was an enjoyable read. It was a reminder that even though we might be in a pit now, God won’t leave us there forever. It is a story of hope, and redemption. A story of transformation.
However, I did find that the story really jumped around a lot. In some places I found myself having to stop and think “okay wait a minute, where is she now? ” “what point in her life is she talking about?” .
I also thought that perhaps Julie made too many references to her dad “Zig Ziglar” a famous motivational speaker. I found myself as a reader wanting more of Julie’s story and less of Zig Ziglar’s.
That said if you are struggling right now, thinking that your life is just too far from perfect to be used by God read Growing Up Ziglar and be encouraged that God can take your mess and He can turn it all around for His glory if you are willing to give Him your broken life and allow Him to mold it into something beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Growing Up Ziglar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful message of forgiveness and hope.

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannahetrotter
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While I certainly enjoyed Julie Ziglar Norman’s Growing Up Ziglar, I’m not quite sure I was the right candidate for it. Perhaps it’s because of my age, but I was not at all familiar with Zig Ziglar or his teachings when I started reading her book. Norman certainly assumes that the reader is well acquainted with her father and his accomplishments, which left me just a little lost at times. That being said, I think there's a great message for everyone, regardless if you're familiar with the Ziglar family or not.
In Growing Up Ziglar, the author presents her life story, sometimes skipping back and forth between present and childhood events. Norman’s life is far from a conventional story, and I admire her willingness to share her many trials and heartbreaks with such transparency. Her life is truly a testament to the unfailing love of God and His faithfulness to always call us back to Him, even when we’re trying to forge our own way.
I think all of us have at one time in our lives been able to relate to the oppressing feelings of not being good enough, or not deserving a relationship with God. Norman’s path towards freedom and her fight against the weight of guilt is truly inspiring.
Norman covers many relevant issues in a very personal manner, including parenting trials, abuse, alcoholism, divorce, abortion, death of a sibling and much more. This book would make a great gift if you know someone who is currently struggling in one of these areas.
I think Julie Ziglar Norman is a very lovely lady, and she comes across very personable, like someone you would love to sit down and chat with. Her easy, conversation manner makes for easy, enjoyable reading.
I would certainly recommend this book to anyone who admires the teachings of Zig Ziglar.
Note: I received a complimentary copy of this book from a public relations company, but I was not required to give a positive review. The opinion expressed above is entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Growing Up Ziglar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great motivational book!

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you were the child of Zig Ziglar, the world's biggest and most notable motivational speaker, wouldn't you think that you'd grow up feeling great and positive almost every single day? Well that is what Julie Ziglar Norman thought most people would think about her, if they knew who her infamous dad was, so she tried to keep it hidden as much as she could. However, when she could no longer hide it, she did the next best thing, she pasted on her best smile and kept all her negative feelings and emotions buried deep inside.
That is until the day God placed a call on her life that would change how people saw how she had grown up and what that would mean for those that would hear her story. In the book, Growing Up Ziglar, A Daughter's Broken Journey From Heartache to Hope, Julie candidly shares how difficult it was growing up trying to be the poster child of what she perceived to be perfect. She never once blames her father or anything he did or didn't do. In fact he set the bar quite reasonable, but Julie just never really understood the why's of why she shouldn't do things.
Her father understood that if drinking made you feel too good, that he should simply stop doing that, or if carrying on led people to believe that he was acting a different way than he should, he simply changed how that perception appeared. For example he never was alone with a woman who wasn't his wife or daughter for any reason. He didn't want rumors or gossip to spread even when there wasn't an ounce of truth in them so he didn't place himself in situations where people might get the wrong idea. While Zig set the examples by leading, Julie went in the complete opposite direction.
She lays bare all the things she did wrong growing up and hiding things from her parents, her self destructive behavior, drinking and getting caught staying out late, when the police had to bring her home. She tells from her point of view why she did these things despite her struggle to understand a relationship with God. She saw herself as a disappointment to Him, one that she couldn't measure up to when she failed and thus would end up spiraling right back into bad habits again. She shows readers how despite their lifestyle choices there is still hope and redemption in coming to God no matter how bad you think you might be. This is the story of her heartache and redemption back to God.
I received Growing Up Ziglar by Julie Ziglar Norman compliments of Summerside Press and Guideposts for my honest review. I think her honest and open story will really touch readers at the core of where they may find themselves and hopefully bring them back to God in the process. They will understand how deep and wide God's grace and forgiveness truly is and for that reason, I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Growing Up Ziglar
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A help book for women

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
As Julie Ziglar was growing up she always was expected to do the right thing byt seem to always do the wrong thing. She helped her dad Zig Ziglar who was a writter. She grew up with depression, shame and guilt so this book is where she decides to be her own person and try to help other women in telling her story.
I am an older woman but I think as a young woman you would really enjoy and gain some knowledge from reading this book.
Thanks to the auther and to Summerside Press for sending me this uncorrected proof and I did the review on my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.