Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oasis Audio LLC The Message, Complete Bible on MP3

Oasis Audio LLC The Message, Complete Bible on MP3

Eugene Peterson's authentic, earthy translation of the Scriptures is designed to be read aloud---and sounds like everyday conversation. Each chapter of this audio edition of his 21st-century Bible has its own track. You can easily download just what you want to your portable MP3 player---or listen on your computer or MP3-enabled CD player. Complete on only three CDs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Review 1 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Engaging translation

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:Littleton, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find this to be an engaging translation of the Bible. Some passages left obscured in other translations seem to come to life in the Message. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the Message Bible on MP3 CDs

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brad Huddleston
Location:Seymour, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is excellent to listen to in the car on a commute, if you car stereo accepts MP3 CDs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Message is Great!

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoanieB
Location:Bangor, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like so many people today, I don't take the time each day to read the Bible. The Message gives me the opportunity to listen when I am in the car or at home doing chores. The people talking are very clear and understandable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Job by the reader! Great Bonus Essays!!

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Roger S
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reader does an excellent job reading The Message. The beatitudes, in particular was amazing. Plus you get these great bonus essays. Some of which are read by the author himself, Eugene Peterson. A gem of a find!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
wheelbooks
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like it just fine but sometimes the speaker Kelly Ryan Dolan (I'm reading Psalms now) either speaks too fast or drop his voice too low.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
rayc
Location:Vancouver BC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoy listening to this. price was quite reasonable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good overall, but prepare to grind your teeth

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
carrsm
Location:Orange County, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I enjoy The Message Bible and for the most part have enjoyed listening through the Bible the last couple years with this set. When I tell people about it I tell them that it is a good value, but that the reader should have done far more preparation. He does a dreadful job with names throughout the Bible. Since there are so many in the Pentateuch, these books are the most challenging to listen to. He also struggles with many common English words like para-pull-egic and a few others that slip my mind at this moment. The intros to the Bible by Peterson and to each Testament and book by another reader are quite good both in content and presentation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful for devotional times

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alabaxter
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have begun getting Christmas gifts early and anticipate my family will enjoy playing the MESSAGE of good news throughout the day. I read The Message this year and loved it - so to be able to put the CD in my computer while I work is awesome.
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a wonderful tool!

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Location:Milton, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband because he struggles with reading but has a desire to know the Bible. I got him this cd for the car so he can "study" to and from work. He has really enjoyed it =)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Message Bible in MP3 format

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thomas Bartman
Location:Washington, DC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me some effort with a Mac to load the MP3 discs, but I figured it out. The price was a bargain for a whole recorded Bible, and the reading is professional, including with an included foreword by Eugene Peterson himself.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
NavyBrat
Location:Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received next day even though I ordered very late in the afternoon. Good narration, nice voice, well read, easy to listen to.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very unigue way of presenting the Holy Bible

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very pleased with this MP3 version of the Holy Bible, and look forward to many more pleasurable moments with it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I needed

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andres
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These readings of the Message are really helping me with my devotions. I read from the ESV and then listen to the chapters I read in the message to get an even better understanding. The voice of the reader is perfect, not distracting or overly dramatic like some audio Bible's I've heard.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Erhart
What a truling inspring CD to have someone reading the Bible in common words that all can understand. This is for the new Christian, young children, and for the older Christian, the words are so easy to understand.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Virginia Penn
I thought I was ordering the MP3 player--not a CD to be uploaded to my own MP3 player. And there were no directions to do that...so I had lots of trouble learning to do that. I have uploaded the first 2 out of 4 CDs ... and ran into trouble with the 3rd. The recordings are good and I like the intros for each book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melodee Smith
Great! Very helpful in my daily walk with the Lord! The price was just right!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rick Rechenberg
Fantastic! I am not one who likes to read, so listening to an audio version of the Bible is perfect for me! I love the well done translation into our contempory American English. I feel like God is talking to me the same way tha I talk to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tina Bures
This is an excellent addition to my daily commute to and from work. Very easy to listen to.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Meadows
I am looking forward to listing to the Message Bible again, so much to learn.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Message, Complete Bible on MP3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Florence Stewart
I bought the MP3 version of the Message Bible to listen to on my stereo at home. I love it. I hope to be able to use it in the car when I get one (hopefully this year) that is MP3 compatible.I love the Message Bible on DVD too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>