Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harrison House Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor

Harrison House Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor

Rick Renner's book Dressed To Kill is considered by many to be a true classic on the subject of scriptural warfare. The original version, which sold more than 400,000 copies, is a curriculum staple in Bible schools worldwide.

In Dressed To Kill, Rick explains with exacting detail the purpose and function of each piece of Roman armor. In the process, he describes the significance of our spiritual armor not only to withstand the onslaughts of the enemy and but also to overturn the tendencies of the carnal mind. Furthermore, Rick delivers a clear, scriptural presentation on the biblical definition of spiritual warfare - what it is and what it is not. He stresses, "Your unbroken, ongoing fellowship with God is your absolute guarantee that you are constantly and habitually dressed in the whole armor of God."

When you walk with God in deliberate, continual fellowship, He will enrobe you with Himself. Armed with the knowledge of who you are in Him, you will be dressed and dangerous to the works of darkness, unflinching in the face of conflict, and fully equipped to take the offensive and gain mastery over any opposition from your spiritual foe. You don't have to accept defeat anymore once you are Dressed To Kill!
Average Customer Rating:
4.864 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Review 1 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Valuable insight into the "rules of engagement"

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bob H
Location:Halifax, Nova Scotia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I deeply appreciate the time . . . and prayer that must have gone into the writing of this book. It provides unique and valuable insight into the nature of the "battle" - and much encouragement as to how to be more effective in the harvest field!
A sincere THANK YOU to everyone who was involved in providing this excellent book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Annette
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is not just informative, it's exciting!!! I really have enjoyed it!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lady T
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book that every American family should have in their home.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A skillful,seamless weaving of what, why and how.

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rose
Location:USA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A thoughtful, detailed, seamless, weaving together
of Zech. 4:6. This is a classic work on the what, why,
and how of spiritual armor.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Spike
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for reference material and background info. Easy to read and understand. I used it to help prepare a Bible study series.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

edification

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janice Glover
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rick Renner is a Greek scholar and as such is able to shed much light on passages that seem dark to contempoary gentiles.His exposition of the armour of God as contrasted with the very familiar,(to the early church),armour of the Roman soldier,gives insight as to the purpose and use of each piece described by the apostle,Paul. A very useful reference for a teacher or any serious student of the Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome pictures, nicely bound

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Armed and Dangerous
Location:Wakefield, RI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited when I began reading this most informative description of the Armour of God. It is a real easy read, jammed pack with a lot of information I never knew or understood. Ordered many copies for my Bible study at Church. Plan on purchasing more. Highly recommend to all who are tired of the wiles of the devil. Thank you Christian Book for carrying not only this book, but for an abundance of most helpful information in book, CD, or video. I am grateful you work for the Kingdom!!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enlightening at best

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
R Price
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very thankful that I made this purchase. There is so much information on a realistic approach, background, scripture, and definition. I am very thankful I made this purchase.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
M P
Rick Renner is an inspired voice from God. This book, much like his others, teaches you in a down to earth, easy to read style. He doesn't preach 'at you', instead, you feel as if the whole subject has just opened up to you with his explanation of the Greek text. An excellent choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
christian
a must , tools to get the enemy out, easy reading and biblically correct - it helps to visually see yourself wearing the Armor of God. I read many books but this one belong to the top list.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Soltis
I enjoy all of Rick Renner's writings, but this one is a must for anyone wanting to understand the true meaning behind Ephesians 6...putting on the armor of God. He gives the Greek definitions behind many powerful words while writing with everyday easy-to-understand language. You don't get bored and you are definately educated!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
H Skinner
I have several spiritual warfare books and plan on throwing almost all of them out. This is the most common sense book I've ever read on spiritual warfare. All of the information is based strictly on the word without anything added. EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cierra Harrington
I have only browsed through the book, but what I've seen so far is awesome!!! This book is beneficial for anybody who want to know about spiritual warfare on a higher level!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Luverne Paige
excellent.a must have for every born again christian.easy to understand.hard to put down. you will refer to it over and over again.i do not loan mine,i buy friends their own copies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Soltis
Excellent read. As usual for Rick Renner, he throws some Greeks "gems" / definitions of words to help us better understand the writings of Paul. Make no mistake about it....the devil is very real and has very real power. Renner describes how to put on every piece of the Armor of God and why each piece is so important. The battle has already been won. We just have to KNOW this!Satan can't play games with our emotions or mind when we are being governed by, or resting in God's peace! One of the best books on spiritual warfare I have read. Easy to understand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lorna Dickau
Great great book, really informative, best book I have purchased. It takes a little more time to digest than some others, but well worth the time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Eric Crews
I own over 3,000 books, I started collecting books in my teen years...Hands down this is the best expositional study on the book of ephesians concerning Warfare available...Not only do you get an Exegesis from the Greek text, from a Greek Scholar. Renner also give you historical background information, from the history of their era. This book is the real deal, buy it today! You want be disappointed, Trust me!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kenrick Van Kerkhof
Awesome and Brilliant!! Understand the Armour of God and how to use it. I knew there was more to the Armour of God, but could never 'get' it, but now I got UNDERSTANDING and it makes so much of a difference in living a Christian Life!! Get it, read it, study it and Do It!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tod Seaton
Wonderful book, if you are looking for a book of encouragement this is the book for you. I am still reading this book, but I can't put it down; it is a reminder of the power that we have a christians, the power of the blood.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dressed to Kill: A Biblical Approach to Spiritual Warfare and Armor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marcia Hacker
Excellent book! Anyone who wants to know more about spiritual warfare and how the armor is intended to be used. Wonderful for a group Bible study or Sunday School Class!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>