Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harrison House A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches

Harrison House A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches

Through exquisite photographs, classic artwork, and insightful commentary, Renner offers a vivid description of John's revelation received while exiled on the island of Patmos. He also explains how Christ's messages to the seven churches can equip us for the end of this age. Includes a bibliography, index, and ribbon marker. 554 pages, 9.5" x 12.5" hardcover from Teach All Nations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Review 1 for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maxine Johnson
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Incredibly beautiful and informative book written in a style that
is easy to understand and makes you thirst and hunger for more. I only wish it came in a smaller format. This book is huge and not one that can be read on the go or while relaxing in bed!
Never the less, it is a must for anyone who wants a deeper understanding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product exceeds my expectations!

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
joyful
Location:Dumas,tx
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my husband and He has a hard time putting it down.He says it really causes him to think about how the disciples withstood persecution and what the did for the Kingdom of God and the early church to be established. It has caused His faith stand to be stronger and more fervent!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great in every way

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tagalong
Location:Lenoir, N.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really am enjoying the detail of the greek definitions & the history of the places. It is answering many questions about the portion of scripture for me. I highly recommend this book & study to all who what to understand about the 7 churches & the areas they were in. I think it is helping to understand where we are today in our churches.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Content

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
TJane
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read so many books in regard to the Seven Churches that I can't even put a number to them, but I can say without hesitation that this is the best and most thorough of them all. I found the photos to be outstanding, and the detailed history to be second to none. Commentary content was extremely well documented! My only sorrow is that Volume One only goes through Smyrna, and I am anxiously awaiting the next Volume!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
dooble
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all of mr.renner books. The context of this bookis is one you don't want to put down. I read it with along with my bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Masterfully put together

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
concho
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With time enough only to thumb through the pages, I am thrilled with the photos and commentary. I purchased it not only as a tool to further study the age in which we are living, but as a vessel to attract non-believers into the conversation as it sits on the coffee table beckoning to be opened!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource!!!

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Soul Searcher
Location:Phoenix
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Renner's book is a great resource for understanding the historical context of Revelation. Amazing photos and fantastic insight. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Toby Byrd
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very well pleased and great quality. very informative and would recommend for the serious
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
claska
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just started reading this book. The pictures are wonderful. There is so much about the time in which John lived that I did not know until reading this book. It is more like a wonderful Encyclopedia. All I can say is - WONDERFUL!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended!

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pamela Moyle
Location:Allentown, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rick Renner has done it again! This tome is "first class" all the way. It's definitely worth buying for the plethora of information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Light in Darkness: Seven Messages, Seven Churches
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dianoia
Location:Central Qld. AU.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Although I am still reading this book, it is hard to put down.
A great work from Rick with beautiful photos which bring life to bible times.
Looking forward to Vol. 2 and 3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.