Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace

Thomas Nelson Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace

Permission to Speak Freely is the unique new project and movement of author Anne Jackson, who is finished with keeping brokenness in the dark. Bringing to light the original intent of God's sanctuary as a place of help and healing, Anne reveals that through confession, both to God and to others, we can live lives that are whole and healed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
0 out of 10%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Review 1 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not quite Far enough

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
wlpersh
Location:Newburg, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book at the center takes on the issue of sin and the need to deal with it through God’s grace by the writer telling her story of struggling with addictions and abuse as she seeks to find healing and peace. She also shares the journeys of several other people as they also find their way to healing.
While I found this book to be quite visually stimulating with the use of illustrations and liberal use of poetry I still found it to be quite incomplete and inconsistent in the approach it took to the subject matter. While it is important to recognize sin and to ask God to give us grace to deal with the challenges we face we must remember that it is through Christ that we are able to, and are called to, have victory over sin and not sit in it. (1 Corinthians 10: 13; 2 Corinthians 5:17)
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2010
Anne Jacksons, second book Permission to Speak Freely is a compilation of her own journey and artists submissions about the valley of the shadow of death. While she doesnt say it like that, she does use personal history and great tact to basically come right out and say what so many people are fearful of; to admit that Christianity isnt wrapped up in tiny little bows. We all know that is true, we all know that life is messy and there is pain. Whatever that pain is; addiction, abuse, doubt; mainly sin. Sometimes the sin is ours and other times it is the sin of others that has been thrust upon us. We struggle with wanting to talk about it. Because talking about it brings it out into the light. Admitting it is the first step to healing, forgiveness, or even awareness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jade =)
I have met Anne a handful of times, and we have many mutual friends... I also enjoy following and reading Anne's blog and twitter posts, as she is a great writer. The topic of this book is definitely interesting. Why is it that the church is the very place we feel least comfortable being honest and open? We feel the need to paste on a happy face and pretend that everything is great around fellow Christians, when it obviously isn't. This book is Anne's contribution in breaking down that misconception, in letting us know that it's OK to be broken. We all are in some way. Anne tells her story, offers scripture, art and poetry throughout the beautifully put together book... but there is no easy answer to fix your heart. Don't expect a last chapter or paragraph tying it all up and handing you the key to healing or success. It's a personal, spiritual journey, and Anne allows you to take the reins and go from here. Anne is very open about her failures, strongholds and brokenness... we should all have an opportunity to be as honest and real.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
First picking up this book, I instantly flipped thru it and was drawn to read the confessions/art work post cards sent in by readers of her blog. I quickly found a couple that I identified with. I knew this was a book I ought to read. After flipping thru the book I was instantly reminded of Frank Warren's "Post Secret" Project which I loved. I enjoyed Anne Jackson's book as sort of a Christian Answer to "Post Secret." The church talks about being "real" but some of the topics of the postcards or parts of Anne's story were ones I'd never heard of in the church much less much outside of the church. The author's raw honesty drew me into her story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura Day
It started with one simple question:"What is one thing you feel you can't say in church?"The response that Anne Jackson received was phenomenal. She had struck a nerve with believers and nonbelievers alike. Using the responses she received, plus her own personal experiences, she wrote, PERMISSION TO SPEAK FREELY.Growing up in Southern Baptist churches, a preacher's daughter, it became apparent to Anne that what Christians say and do in church is completely different from what the Bible tells us. She did not see or feel the love and grace that she read about in the Bible. This made a big impression on her as a young child...a negative one. And it was the actions of those "Christians" from her early childhood that changed the course of her life. Anne set out on a journey to try to escape the loneliness she felt and the pain and confusion she was experiencing. * Alcohol * Pills * Addiction * Sex * AbuseShe was searching for that "safe" place we all long for. A place where she could talk freely about her loneliness and brokenness without feeling rejected or shunned. I am going to be honest with you...I cried while reading this book...a lot! Now, the average person may not become so emotional while reading this book, but I felt such a connection with this dear author and the suffering she experienced. I have walked a similar path with my daughter.I don't want you to think this book is all about church-bashing, because it's not. Permission to Speak Freely is a beautiful book filled with art, poetry, true confessions, the word of God, and so much more. Anne writes this book to let all of us know we are not alone in our: * Shame * Brokenness * Fear * Pain * LonelinessPermission to Speak Freely is a book we can all relate to, especially if you have ever felt to need to keep silent in church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nates5bs
I have been anxious to read Anne Jacksons Permission to Speak Freely because her originating question, What is one thing you feel you cant say in the church? has resonated with me. Really Ive got more than one thing Id like to say because I am a pastors wife that wishes she had permission to speak freely. I love my Jesus, but have often wished His people werent so plastic and full of unreal expectations. Through the powerful artwork interwoven with the storytelling of her book, I have had my scabs ripped off from the wounds of the church and have been given hope for real healing. I have been inspired to look inside myself and make sure that I am not being a part of the plasticness and not perpetuating the secrets that people feel they need to keep. I have been inspired to speak out and share my story in order to help others know they are not alone and so that they might heal also. I am convinced that Permission to Speak Freely is a powerful healing balm that so many touched by the church need. It is a book that I will read a few more times just to let it all sink in and then I will pass it on for others to be given the permission they need to admit their brokenness and then speak freely. A complimentary copy of this book was provided me by BookSneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelli W
Permission to Speak Freely by Anne Jackson is a compilation of both essays and art in a book full of honest views of the church and one woman's struggle with addictions and confession. Anne is a blogger who asked the question "What is one thing you feel you can't say in the church?" and the response was MUCH larger than she expected. She began to see there are SO many people within our church walls that are hurting and struggling with different sins, yet VERY few of them are willing to say anything about it.Anne's book outlines her own personal struggles with addictions like pornography and pain killers as well as her struggle with trusting people within the church. Sadly, Anne grew up in the church (as a pastor's kid no less) and had first hand knowledge of how judgemental fellow Christians can be.The book started out well but it did tend to start wandering about half-way through. Also, this is not a "self-help" book or even a "how-to" book, but it is truly all about her struggles and shows how freeing it was for her to be able to confess these things to others...to truly work through them all. It is a very easy read and I would recommend it if only to begin thinking more about what true confession is (not just acknowledging but truly confessing and making a change).This book was provided to me for review by Thomas Nelson Publishing as part of the Booksneeze program. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anne Dye
I feel so lucky to have the privilege of reviewing Anne Jackson's newest book, she is a lady I have long admired from her blog. The book is a compilation of essays and art, on fear, confession, and grace. In the introduction we are presented with the question, "What is one thing you feel you can't say in the church?" and the book proceeds to offer the liberating possibility of living a life of no more secrets. I really think it is a must read for all adults and teens.Anne writes honestly, sharing her insights with her readers as if they were close trusted friends. She exposes her deeply painful past in order to lay the foundation for a beautiful message of hope and freedom. The book itself is beautifully put together, with awesome selections of art scattered throughout the pages. Reading this book was another awesome reminder that we are not alone, other people struggle with the same questions we do and that if we would just take a chance on being more honest with each other we could start a revolution! This book is amazing, and instead of sitting there, you should be buying a copy or trying to find a friend who has a copy you can borrow!Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Seth Caddell
Rarely do I read a book as fast as I read this one. Anne Jacksons last book kept my interest so much that I neglected everything else till I finished it, Permission to Speak Freely did the same thing. Much of her story is already familiar, but she includes more to her story as well as new Scriptural insights into her experiences. Her candid story-telling combined with the genuine confessions of others scattered throughout the book make this book a must read. The intriguing story and narrative is just half of it. The poetry and artistic elements throughout the book are enough to catch anyones attention and bring a whole new level to the work. I would highly, highly recommend going out and getting this book today. Like right now. Its that good.Also, Im supposed to let you know that I was given a free review copy of the book, but that has nothing to do with whether or not I liked it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cara Gabrielse
I just finished reading this book. And I cant stop thinking about it.Permission To Speak Freely is part memoir, part poetry, and part coffee table book. Perhaps the content would be too risqu for your coffee table. Certainly it would raise a few eyebrows in my church narthex. And that is precisely the point of Anne Jacksons book: What is the one thing you dont feel you can say in the church?Anne shares with the reader her struggles with pornography, the church and abuse she has suffered at the hands of it. In so doing, she gives all of us permission to speak freely about things that many inside the church consider taboo. The book is her story, and it is my story and your story as well. But ultimately, it is Gods story one of redemption and grace and mercy.The pages of this book are graced with poems, notes, and artwork that people posted on her blog. It is both compelling to read and beautiful to look at. Thank you Anne, for giving us all the gift of going second. Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the book review bloggers program. But I think it is so important that I bought several copies to give to women I know in church ministry. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pauline
The gift of going second, thats is what Anne Jacksons precious gift to the reader. By sharing her own addictions and brokenness, she ultimately open the door topics which previously kept in the dark in the Christian communities. Issues which are taboo before, now are more readily to be openly discuss. This in turn contribute to more people being freed and reconnected with God.I have a mixed feeling about this book when I first started reading it. As part of the title says Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace, I am consciously looking for compilation of articles shared by different people. However, what I found is Annes personal sharing throughout the book, mixed with different type of medias, such as sketches, photographs, postcards, poems which double as illustrations for the book.Once, I got pass my earlier assumption, I began to enjoy the book. I also appreciate Annes effort for not turning this book into a typical self-help book, as if all the problems in our life can be categorized into particular category and can be solved by Step 1, Step 2, Step 3 etc. Life is much much more complicated than that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Permission to Speak Freely: Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicki Maguire
I have really enjoyed listening to this audio. It is so refreshing to listen to someone who is able to be so open and honest about the things they struggle with. Anne Jackson has done, and is doing a brilliant job with this book, which is one of the many aspects of this audio that I love. Its not a rant against the Church, but an encouragment to reach out in grace and mercy to everyone, inside and outside of it. And to know that whatever your struggling with you are not alone.I was instantly gripped by her story and didnt want to stop listening. She really draws you in and you want to find out how everything works out. I really enjoyed her poems as well which are interspersed throughout. Her narration is excellent, being funny and poignant at times, as she knows exactly how she wants to come across. I think this book is a really great encouragement for the Body of Christ.Thanks to christian audio reviewers program for the copy of this audiobook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.