Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson In Constant Prayer

Thomas Nelson In Constant Prayer

The ancient practice of fixed-hour prayer was a prime ingredient in the spiritual vitality of monastic life. Benson here invites laypeople of all denominations to take advantage of this long and rich tradition. Filled with practical suggestions, sage advice, personal stories, and literary turns of phrase.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In Constant Prayer
Review 1 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gentle Introduction to Communion with God

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
gyopo
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In his book, "In Constant Prayer," Robert Benson gives us a personal introduction to a way of prayer known as the daily office. The prayers of the daily office are prayers that are offered to God at specific times of the day. The prayers of the daily office are not just for people in the Catholic Church or the Anglican Church but are for everyone who wants to pray constantly, everyone who desires a deeper relationship and communion with God. Robert Benson is an imperfect traveler who gives us a personal glimpse into his prayer journey.
I couldn't put this book down. Robert Benson's "In Constant Prayer" taught me that prayer is more than endless requests and petitioning. We should pray for the church and for the world. We are to worship God as much as we are to petition God. "In Constant Prayer" challenged me to keep praying even when praying is not easy. We should not give up the praying the daily office before it has a chance to take root in your life.
Repeating rich, powerful, profound words of prayer can change and shape us. The prayers of the daily office can grow inside us. The prayers of the daily office help us to pray during the moments when we can't find our own words.
People of prayer say their prayers every day. I want to be a person of prayer.
* I was provided this book for free in exchange for my unbiased review through the Thomas Nelson BookSneeze Program. The opinions in this review are my own. . I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Opened my mind and stretched me

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mrs K
Location:Midwest
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been intriguied by fixed hour prayer since I started reading Ann Voskamp and I've made feeble attempts when I've fasted. I grew up in an Anabaptist church and am very unfamiliar with formal liturgy, although Benson assures me that every church service has its own liturgy.
To be fair I must disclose that I shudder at rote prayers, the call-and-response prayers that I grew up with leave a vile taste in my mouth and a self-righteous annoyance washes over me when someone reads a prayer, particularly one that they themselves did not write.
Let me put it to you this way. It has been a very long time since I have put sticky notes in a book that I read. I have never used an entire pad of sticky notes and had to go back and rip them into tiny pieces in order to have enough markers to go throughout the entire book.
"At some point, all of this high-minded discussion about our life of prayer has to work its way into the dailyness of our lives. It has to be stuck in and around and up next to the meetings and the schedules and the packing and the leaving and the coming home of our lives.
At some point, we have to move from talking about prayer to saying our prayers. If the marvelous that is possible in our lives of prayer is to have a chance to appear, it will because we have done the mundane." Benson
This book has opened a wide, gaping hole in my prayer life and spiritual life in general.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is it possible or even feasible to pray as the did

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
KarissaAngel
Location:Central Point, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Constant Prayer is a down to earth book that is easy to read. The author, Robert Benson, speaks of the ancient prayer practices and staying in constant prayer, which we all should be aware of doing. He does not persuade you one way or the other, he writes in the now and how we conduct our lives now and don't mean to forget how we christians are to stay in constant prayer.
There is a hunger in every human heart for connection, primitive and raw, to God. To satisfy it, many are beginning to explore traditional spiritual disciplines used for centuries.
In Constant Prayer is your gateway to deeper communion with God. Expect something new to unfold before you and within you while heeding this ancient call.
I found reading this book very eye opening and consider this an excellent book. I would like to read another book of his considering I loved this book so much.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from BookSneeze as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book on prayer

Date:February 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
stephis76
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I got this book I had no Idea what "Praying the Daily Office was. I asked a few friends that had a Catholic background, and none could tell me either.
I love to hear what other people understand to be "praying without ceasing". What Robert talks about in the book.. From what I took from it. Is that if someone in every time zone around the world prayed the Daily Office 3 times a day ie.. Morning, lunch time and night time.. There would be prayers offered up to God constantly... I like that Idea!
This has made me rethink my prayer life a bit. Put, more thought into it..if you will.
I sometimes find myself praying when asked to.. when I remember, if something comes up... This book has make me think of ways to "put more effort into my prayer life. Make more deliberate... This chunk of time is set for worshiping/praying to God, and nothing else... I by no means can say I do this without fail...But it's a work in progress.
The sample he gave of the Morning Prayers was nice.. I'm not big into saying the same prayer all the time.. I like to have more of a "conversation with God" That is just my opinion..
I loved when he spoke about worship during prayer time!! I love and agree with spending time just worshiping our time.
To me, the book was a little dry at times... But, all in all it's a book that makes you reflect and think on your own personal prayer time.
So, I would recommend it. IN CONSTANT PRAYER by Robert Benson
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

In Constant Prayer by Robert Benson

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy Brandt
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In this book the author continually refers to the "daily office," but doesn't explain what this is until chapter three. A single office is a single hour of prayer, following the prayer structure of the early church, which is pretty complex. In the old church this would happen seven times per day. In more current times this would happen morning, noon and night. For most of us, we would be lucky to incorporate this into our busy lives morning and night.
The author does a good job with explaining things in the book in a down to earth manner. He has some good stories he tells, but I wasn't sure where he was going with them at times.
If you have never heard of the "daily office" before, read this book to learn more about it.
I am on a prayer journey of my own...I want to learn how to prayer properly, if there is such a thing. I enjoyed reading this book, but don't feel it will be incorporated into my prayer journey. I don't think I need to do the "daily office" to be able to talk to God.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great introduction to the Daily Office

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Selabear
Location:Fort Collins, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The church that I go to is very *NOT* liturgical, and it’s really the only church I’ve attended, so the whole idea of the daily office is brand new to me. This book did a good job explaining what it is and more importantly, why it should be an important part of our lives. What this book does not cover is the how and specifically what to pray during the daily office. The author makes sure to give resources that cover that material.
Each chapter has several stories from the author’s experience, seemingly unrelated to each other. In the latter part of each chapter, he draws them all together to prove the point of the chapter. I found this style of writing refreshing and easier to read than a lot of non-fiction books which hammer the point throughout the chapter with little stories tucked here and there. It made the points seem more personal and easier to internalize.
The author has a very good sense of humor, although it did take me a little bit to catch it. At first, I couldn’t tell when he was being serious and when he was being facetious. Once I caught on, however, I was laughing aloud and ended up reading large chunks out loud to explain to my husband what I was laughing about.
Reading this book in conjunction with doing B90 Days has really opened my eyes to the calling of God on me to rise earlier for the purpose of starting my day with Him. As I prayerfully attempt to do this more, I find my time multiplied and my heart more open to what he has for me each day.
After reading this book, I may or may not start praying the daily office, but at least I know what it is and why I might choose to do that in the future. I also have a good idea of where I would go next to find more information thanks to the appendices.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

prayer

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
markbraye
Location:Temiskaming Shores, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"...pray without ceasing..." 1 Thessalonians 5:17, NRSV.
"What I wear is pants. What I do is live. How I pray is breathe." Thomas Merton
"Prayer is a shield to the soul, a sacrifice to God, and a scourge for Satan." John Bunyan
In Constant Prayer is written by Robert Benson. it's a volume in The Ancient Practices Series from Thomas Nelson Publishers.
Benson is an author and retreat leader.
In Constant Prayer is about prayer. more specifically it's about the practice of "fixed-hour prayer" or "the keeping of the offices" or "the observing of the divine hours," as Phyllis Tickle writes in the foreword.
"In the simplest terms," Benson writes, "the daily office is a regular pattern and order for formal worship and prayer that is offered to God at specific times throughout the course of the day." (Benson, In Constant Prayer, 9-10).
Benson's hope for the book "is to open up some of the mystery of the daily office for those who have had little or no exposure to this ancient way of Christian prayer." (Benson, In Constant Prayer, 10).
In Constant Prayer is well written and very readable. it contains personal stories and reflections about prayer and the spiritual life. it is a wonderful book for devotions and a great resource for prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lady Khaye
Location:Republic of the Philippines, RP
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Constant Prayer is a book written by Robert Benson. Compiled with different stories of other people’s lives, the book is emphasizing how powerful a prayer can be in a person’s life. The essence of prayer is discussed with his diligent skills in writing. Every word written gives an impact that can convict one person to never cease on praying…
I can fully recommend this book to everyone who is having a trouble in keeping a constant prayer hour. There is more than just a prayer itself. I enjoy how Benson kept writing with humor. It is easier to read serious stuffs when it’s mixed with relative joke. With every word you read, you will find yourself interested with what’s written on the next chapters. I am personally convinced to keep on praying, that’s needed to be kept in our daily living while pursuing our life as Christians. Thanks to this book, my prayer life is on to the next level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very poetic and captivating!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Life Worth Serving
Location:Paulding Co., Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“It should not come as a great surprise to you by now, but I love words….I love them for their power to move you to tears and to laughter, to action and to rest. I love their power to transform an argument into an agreement, a hope into a prayer, a moment into something holy”
–Robert Benson
That is exactly what Robert Benson’s words did to me as I read his book, In Constant Payer. This man, whom I have never met, has moved me to such curiosity about the Ancient Practice known as the Daily Office, also known as daily prayer. Through the labyrinth of words you will discover yourself getting lost within; Benson will take you through the hidden opening of his personal prayer life. He explains with such poetry and eloquence the art of the offices, the significance of such offices, and his fear, that like most fine arts, it can become lost.
I have never heard of the Daily Office until I read In Constant Prayer, and although I may never find myself practicing this style of liturgy, Benson has taken me on a journey of laughter, insight, and a realness that I have not seen in other writers. He quotes many biblical truths, however there were no references when he was mentioning scripture. Nonetheless, Benson has illuminated the truth that we are all called to a life of prayer, and the passion that he releases for the art of prayer has moved my soul to search for a deeper, more disciplined life of constant prayer.
I have received a complimentary copy of In Constant Prayer by Robert Benson from BookSneeze® as part of the bloggers program. The view and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Thought provoking

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
wnorwood
Location:Redlands, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am always looking for practical ways to grow closer to God. By practical, I mean habits and practices that draw me into His presence on a regular basis. Not because I think this will please Him (although I do desire to please God!), but rather it’s for me.…I need more of God in my life. I don’t want to let the everyday busyness of life distract me or cause me to put my relationship with God on the back burner. Because it’s a relationship, it requires intentionality on my part. My relationship with my husband would suffer, if we did not make the intentional effort to spend meaningful time together. I believe it’s the same way with our relationship with God.
Robert Benson’s book In Constant Prayer is a very different type of book for me to read; not because I’m not interested in prayer, but Benson introduces the reader to the spiritual practice known as the “Daily Office” or “praying the hours” which is something completely foreign to this thoroughly Protestant girl.
In our post-Reformation Christian world, anything remotely associated with ritual is often looked down upon. Robert Benson explains in his book (from a mostly Protestant perspective) that perhaps we have thrown the baby out with the bathwater. In simple terminology, Benson shares some of the history of the practice of the “Daily Office”, why he does it, and how it enhances his relationship with God. The basic idea is this: to pray at specific times throughout the day using some kind of prewritten prayer. (i.e. like prayers found in the Book of Common Prayer) These prayers can be found in various books, but all have the distinction of having been written hundreds of years ago by the early church fathers. Benson asserts that this particular practice of prayer has been one of the things that has sustained the Christian church throughout the years.
I have mixed feelings about this book, but not because of how it’s written. It is well written, thoughtful, honest, and warm. My mixed feelings are strictly personal…related to the fact that I do not have a personal connection to this practice. I do not have anything in my spiritual experience and heritage that I can tie this book to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Constant Prayer for today

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't know exactly what I was expecting with this book, and I am still not sure what I got exactly either.
The book examines the idea of regular daily offices, particularly those of Morning and Evening Prayer. I got the book because I am interested in using the daily offices to deepen my prayer life, and wanted to get some ideas and insights.
Perhaps the problem was that for ME there was nothing new in the book. Chapter one = Prayer is good, daily offices is double good.
The rest of the chapters, same story. So perhaps I was not the target market here, because I was hoping for a little more meat.
Not a bad book though, and very well written. The author is humorous and entertaining. It also includes a very useful appendix section, including study questions, and a sample of a daily office designed by the author.
I am just not sure I really needed the whole of the book to tell me what could have been reduced and condensed into something a lot shorter.
But buy it and see, it might be what you need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In Constant Prayer

Date:December 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
GiniB
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Constant Prayer is one of a series, The Ancient Practices Series, released lately in paperback by Thomas Nelson and I am glad. I had not seen the original hardcover versions of any of this series before. This particular one addresses the daily office, a practice familiar to many and unknown by others. I fell into the latter group, so what the author had to say was all new for me. For those of you who are familiar with the office this book will offer a most gentle encouragement to continue in your practice. For the rest of us the author walks us through his journey with the daily office including a short history of the practice.
Robert Benson explains the daily office to those that are unfamiliar with it through stories from his experiences with it. Early in the book I did not appreciate his way of doing things. I kept waiting for the magic bullet that would catapult me into some saintly realm with the pray-ers of old. As I settled into his rhythm of story I began to learn. My favorite chapter and my least favorite chapter are the same, chapter 7. Benson explores the reasons he used as excuses for not following through on his practice of the office. Of course, the point of his admissions becomes crystal clear quickly without offense.
The author explains the practice, does not skip the hard parts of getting started and staying on task, encourages his readers knowing that there will be times that just don’t click, recommends other readings for those that are interested, and includes a sample morning office to read through. In addition, there is a study guide. I would recommend this book wholeheartedly.
This book was provided to me by Thomas Nelson for review on BookSneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In Constant Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

prayer for the rest of us

Date:December 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some Christians have a prayer life that is one of close communion with God. Fixed hour prayer, or the daily office, is for the rest of us. It has sustained the life of the faithful and been a means of closer communion with God for centuries.
This ancient spiritual practice may be foreign to many so Benson notes its history. The idea of the daily office comes from Psalm 119: “Seven times a day I will rise to praise your name.” The first written form of the daily office dates to four thousand years before Christ.
Benson covers many of the obstacles one may encounter when beginning this discipline. He helps us get over the idea that the daily office is too “Catholic” for Protestants. He gives suggestions as to how to keep at the practice, day after day, and what to do when prayers are missed. He quotes Saint Benedict, “Always we begin again.”
Benson's book is a great encouragement to one who has had difficulty with prayer. Even though I may never be a great prayer warrior, I can be obedient to the daily discipline of prayer and follow the practice as have centuries of believers.
While Benson suggests resources (one of which is of his own creation), he fails to give any online sites with the daily office, of which I have found a few.
Benson's style is open, honest and light hearted. I get the impression that if someone as crazy as he is can do the daily office, so can I.
This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.