Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life

Thomas Nelson The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life

Average Customer Rating:
3.385 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
10 out of 1377%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Review 1 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I liked this book

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tyson
Location:Bristol, RI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book function exactly as one would expect it to. It is a great addition to the Ancient Practices series. The book begins on the first Sunday of Advent and concludes the following November, the purpose is to help one become more attuned to a life in and through Jesus Christ. This book along with daily Scripture study does exactly that.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Liturgical Year

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leah
Location:Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Liturgical Year by Joan Chittister is a book that is exactly as the title describes. This book is set up to help the reader digest and learn about the liturgical year inside and out. Through reading this book I learned a lot of information that I didn’t know before. Most of it I probably should have known. This book was interesting at first but then my interest slowly dissipated. However, I think this is because originally I didn’t pick the book up to learn. I recommend you want to learn and take the time to read in depth before picking up this book. It was a very good read for me, in the end, and I do recommend it to anyone looking to know more about the Christian calendar, no matter what faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great book about the Church Calendar

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
plantsandpillars
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Liturgical Year by Joan Chittister
The liturgical year is an adventure in bringing the Christian life to fullness, the heart to alert, and the soul to focus.
This quote is one of many wonderful lines that The Liturgical Year contains. This wonderful and simple little book explains many details of the church calendar and its impression on the Christian church.
The church year, unlike the civic year, does not begin on January 1st, but on the first Sunday of Advent, late in November. From Advent the book takes you on a journey through Lent, Holy Week, Good Friday, and Easter. Along the way you not only study the holidays themselves, but also the impact they have on our lives through Suffering, Joy, Celebration, and Fidelity.
This book contains so many wonderful messages. It unravels mysteries of why we do different things through the church year, and it causes the simple beauty of the church to be revealed in a whole new light. As Ms. Chittister says, “ This book, then, does not concentrate simply on what it means to grow older. This book is about growing wiser, growing holier, and growing more embedded in the essentials of life.”
I highly recommend this book as a wonderful and educational read.
Note of Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book through booksneeze.com - a book review program. I was not required to post a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are purely my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
Jessica
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This is a fairly decent read.

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phone Tree Edifier
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User submitted photo
I am of the opinion that something good can be found in everything. With that in mind, I would like to guardedly say that The Liturgical Year by Joan Chittister is a fairly decent book.
Like many others before me, I was very excited about reading on the liturgy. I wanted to understand and become more familiar with what the liturgical year was all about in the purest sense. I elected to read Ms. Chittister’s book, hoping to gain clarity and insight on this topic.
I found Ms. Chittister’s writing to be both scholarly and common. She had several notable quotes and interesting comments. She seemingly tried to provide a functional link between the past and the present, and she worked to invite readers into understanding the union between Christ’s life and their own.
The Liturgical Year, however, was a laborious read for me. I struggled to find the motivation to get through this book. It was redundant and dry at times, and it never seemed to make its point. The saving grace of the book was the fact that it had many one-liners, hidden treasures sprinkled throughout the book, which contributed to renewing my interest in reading to the end.
I would be extremely hesitant in recommending this book to anyone searching for a deeper understanding of the liturgy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Comprehensive Explanation of the Christian Year

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last year, well, really from November 2009 to November 2010, I took a walk through the Christian calendar, trying to understand what it is, what it means, why it exists. Coming from a not-so-liturgical denomination, I was curious to know more about this practice. "The Liturgical Year" would have been a great resource for me!
Written by a Benedictine nun, this book clearly explains what the liturgical year is, why Catholics and other liturgical denominations recognize it, how it came to be a tradition of the Church, and its potential value to those who take it seriously. It then defines each element of the liturgical practice from the basic Sunday to the familiar Christmas and Easter, to ordinary time, feast days, and recognition of saints. (I had skipped over the saints in my study, but Sister Chittister explained why they are included in the Christian calendar. Their lives show us how the Christian life should be lived and that it can be done. They encourage us to continue on.)
Sister Chittister’s passion for this subject shines clearly through every chapter of this book. Her explanations are clear. Her testimony is inspiring. I enjoyed reading this book.
This quote from page 6 sums up its essence:
"The liturgical year is the year that sets out to attune the life of the Christian to the life of Jesus, the Christ. It proposes, year after year, to immerse us over and over again into the sense and substance of the Christian life until, eventually, we become what we say we are—followers of Jesus all the way to the heart of God. The liturgical year is an adventure in human growth, an exercise in spiritual ripening."
The rest of the book shows how this works! Thank you, Thomas Nelson Publishers, for sending it for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Roman Catholic Year

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Areinh
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author is a nun! I feel like nuns, priests, monks, and other spiritually occupied people are a separate mysterious breed that I have so many questions for but I always find myself too nervous to approach them. So I was very excited with this book that promised to walk me through the year according to a nun... I felt like I child who had found a peephole into the teacher's lounge and looked forward to the insight! I took my time reading this book because not only was there a lot of information to process, but I also had some mixed feelings to resolve as I read.
My first reaction was impatience; the author Sister Joan reminded me of my family elders, giving a slow narration with lots of repetitive details and seemingly obscure references to the past. Everything was introduced at length: the first four chapters were spent explaining the development and importance of the "liturgical" year before any specific days were explored!
I decided I was approaching the whole thing wrong, so I set it aside and began reading it again from the beginning a few days later. I looked up any reference I wasn't familiar with and, most importantly, I decided to be patient and settled in for the ride.
I discovered that the book reminded me of a Bible, were moment and ideas were given background histories to establish their importance and tradition like heraldry. Key thoughts were reworded in different ways so that eventually you felt that you had the full meaning. There were word bites that highlighted the feeling of a passage that were framed and repeated, making referencing easier.
As I made my way through The Liturgical Year this second time, I also realized that there was a study guide at the back of the book! Each chapter had a corresponding study section which asked literal details, like "What are the three parts of Lent?" Each section also specifically asked how the chapter material related to and changed the readers life as a Christian. I felt a recurring theme of "Trust tradition and simplicity. This will lead to happiness and community."
Overall, I feel that this is a great study book, not a reference book. I would have liked to have seen The Liturgical Year used in a Sunday School class or a Bible study group, because the slow pace and the study guide seems perfect for small group discussions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a guided tour through the liturgical year

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
markbraye
Location:Temiskaming Shores, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Liturgical Year by Joan Chittister is a volume in The Ancient Practices Series by Thomas Nelson Publishers. it's a wonderfully written book.
it's a theological text. Chittister explores the theological meaning and implications of the Christian calender and year.
it's a historical study of the Liturgy and Liturgical year.
it's an excellent book for devotions and spiritual reading.
The Liturgical Year is also very practical and insightful, as well as being personal. it contains many biographical elements of Chittister's story and spiritual journey.
The Liturgical Year is written from a Roman Catholic point of view and uses the Roman Catholic liturgical template and langauge. Joan Chittister is a Benedictine Sister of Erie, Pennsylvania. she is an internationally known speaker and award-winning author of more than thirty books.
"Liturgical spirituality," writes Chittister, "is about learning to live an ordinary life extraordinarily well. Fidelity to the liturgical life is the cement that keeps us grounded in Jesus, no matter what other elements of life emerge to seduce us as the years go by." (The Liturgical Year, Joan Chittister, 179-180).
all of us, Christians of all denominations, should read this book and take this tour of the liturgical uear from Sister Joan Chittister.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Good Start for the Uninitiated

Date:January 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life is a part of the 8 book “The Ancient Practices Series” from Thomas Nelson, Inc.
The Ancient Practices Series explores ancient Christian spiritual practices, such as fixed-hour prayer, fasting, and sincere observance of the Sabbath.
I know very little about the liturgical year, which begins on the first Sunday of Advent and continues through the next November.
The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life illustrates how the liturgical year sets out to attune the life of the Christian to the life of Jesus, the Christ.
Surprise, the arrangement of the ancient holy days (liturgical seasons) are not arbitrary.
The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life shows the essential relationship of one holy day to another and their present day significance.
The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life is a great tool for those who set out not only to follow Jesus but to live and think as Jesus did.
I haven’t read other books in the Ancient Practices Series. The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life was written from the Catholic perspective to educate protestants and evangelicals about the liturgical year.
I received a complimentary copy of The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life as a part of Thomas Nelson’s Book Sneeze program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant! Inspiring!

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
gadfly1974
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Brilliant! Inspiring!
Joan Chittister is a spiritual giant and a gifter communicator.
If you are interested in learning more about how the annual celebrations of the liturgical calendar can help you grow in your faith and live in a more Christlike way, then get a copy of this book.
It receives my highest recommendation.
I am so grateful that the publisher of this book provided me with a free copy for my unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The liturgical year, beginning on the first Sunday of Advent and carrying through the following November, is the year that sets out to attune the life of the Christian to the life of Jesus, the Christ.What may at first seem to be simply an arbitrary arrangement of ancient holy days, or liturgical seasons, this book explains their essential relationship to one another and their ongoing meaning to us today.A volume in the eight book classic series, The Ancient Practices, with a foreword by Phyllis Tickle, General Editor.
I requested the The Liturgical Year by Joan Chittester because I am very interested in using celebrations and traditions to grow in my faith. I went into the book having a lot of disputes with the Catholic faith, but hoped I would still be able to grow closet to Christ through reading it. I did not.
The book started off very slow, but it didn't take long for me to find some major objections. I felt it was filled with a lot of flowery words and repetition, but not much practical advice or conviction.I did not find the theology presented in the book to be Biblically sound.
In accordance with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission,I am required to mention that Thomas Nelson Publishers, Inc. has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for the purpose of writing a review. Sending me a free copy in no way is compensation for, or a guarantee of, a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Living the Christian Year

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wagaboodles
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life by Joan Chittister is part of The Ancient Practices series put together by Phyllis Tickle. Chittister approaches her look at the importance of the liturgical year from a Catholic perspective from which she was raised and ministers, yet she shows the benefit of the wisdom of the liturgical calendar for people of all denominations. I do wish, however, that she would explain some of the more “Catholic” terminology and how it might relate to non-Catholics (vigils, feasts, fasts, etc.).
I appreciate the way Chittister looks at the cycles of the church year from historical perspectives (why do we celebrate Christmas when we do) as well as the spiritual tone of each celebration. She explains why each part of the church year is important for us to observe. The book also contains a helpful study guide. I look forward to reading more books from this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not what I was expecting.

Date:December 22, 2010
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a challenging review for me to write. I'm having a hard time evaluating the book for it's content when it is was written from a perspective that I strongly disagree with. I will say that I wasn't expecting a book written from a Catholic perspective. I am an evangelical Christian and not Catholic. Before reading this book, I had no idea what a Liturgical year was. I had no way of knowing how steeped in Catholic tradition it is. I have many friends that are Catholic and have nothing against Catholics. It is not, what I believe theologically, however. I expected a book that was a little more straight forward when it comes to facts; not that this book wasn't full of facts. It just had a lot of theology that was very hard for me to get through.
I am not going to come here and bash this woman's beliefs. I don't believe that is dutifully reviewing her book. So, as far as the points of Catholicism in the book, I will not comment on those. As far as her presentation of explaining what the Liturgical year is and how it is celebrated, I will say that the writing was clear and that I came away with a better understanding of feasts, celebrations, etc. that I so often only hear the name of.
One great quote from the book was:
“The liturgical year is designed to take us into deep contemplation. It is about immersion in the great mysteries of our faith. . . it is not an arbitrary collection of feast days, however enlightening or formative they may be.” (pgs. 95-96)
If nothing else, I walked away from this book with a stronger resolve to take more time to contemplate Christmas and how it plays into the entire picture of what Christ did here on earth.
Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Liturgical Year: The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
SafferSeven
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Liturgical Year is a book written by Joan Chittester about the church year. I was really excited to get this book as I grew up in a Protestant home where we did not observe the liturgical year. My interest in the church year has grown over the years and I’ve come to see true value in observing parts of it if not all. In her book Joan does an excellent job, in helping people who know little about the church year, explaining a basic history of how each of the celebrations, feast days, holy days, etc. have came to be and why they are meaningful.
The book is especially helpful in understanding the season like Lent and Advent and then what type of mindset is best suited for those seasons. She sheds light on how these holidays are still as relevant today as what they were centuries ago and how we can use them to meld our lives to that of christ as we follow a year based on His life.
I would recommend this book to anyone is looking to try something new, who is interested in, but doesn’t know much about the liturgical year, and to anyone who is just looking for a good read.
I received this book free from booksneeze in return for an honest, unbiased review. I did not have to give a positive review. You should check it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.