Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts

Thomas Nelson Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts

At the age of sixteen, Ian Morgan Cron was told by his mother that his father, a motion picture executive, worked with the CIA in Europe. This astonishing revelation, coupled with his father's dark struggle with alcoholism, upends the world of a teenager struggling to become a man.
Average Customer Rating:
3.853 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
29 out of 3485%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Review 1 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed in this book

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Location:North Carolian
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review: If you are wanting to know more about the CIA and thrilling adventure stories, you will be disappointed. This is a memoir which recounts Cron's childhood and adolescence with an abusive alcoholic father. He has a delightful prose and dialog which is very easy to read. I enjoy his style, but I don't think this book is suitable for younger children and teenagers for several reasons. First, there are some painful periods in his life which are recounted in detail. Once during his childhood, some older boys bully him in a demeaning, physical way. Cron talks about his emotional withdrawals, desire for love and acceptance, and his dependence on alcohol himself.
Second, I do not agree with his doctrine. Cron grew up in a Catholic family; his mother was very religious, and Cron became an altar boy. The eucharist was his guiding light through all his turmoil. Through this fascination, he went to seminary, youth ministry, and sobriety (in that order). His "salvation" was during the mass when he hears a voice saying, "Forgive me, Ian. I'm sorry, Ian, please forgive me. Will you pardon me, Ian. Now we are both forgiven." "I stood and edged into the aisle to join the line of all the other knotted hearts limping toward the bread of new and unending life." This is not salvation of repentance.
The theme of this book is forgiveness which is woven through the eucharist, and the book ends on a happy note. Cron becomes an Episcopal priest, marries, and rears his children in a loving and forgiving relationship. He desires them to grow beyond their fears and gain confidence to face the future bravely. Cron's dialog of his experiences is very touching and sincere, but I do not recommend the book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Ian is finally told that his father worked for the CIA, it explains a lot. But not everything. Lost without the compass that is a father's love, Ian struggles to accept and understand a father that became everything he pretended to be while he worked for the CIA. Drowned out by the loud voice of his father's alcoholism and lack of interest in his son's life, Ian grows up to be a man of many questions and no easy answers.
Years later when he faces his many personal demons, he comes to a realization that the truth of who he has become is found in his past. A father that drank and ignored him. A nanny that had nothing but the family's best interest in mind. The catholic church that introduced him to a God that held him up when standing was impossible. A mother who's long-suffering patience with all of them may have been the only thing that redeemed his childhood in the end. Will Ian's questions finally be answered? Or is he doomed to a life of broken fragments with no hope of redemption?
Having read this author before, I was already familiar with the voice of Cron's writing. But reading this memoir was an entirely different journey altogether. It showed the heart of a young boy that desperately wants to find his way in this life, a young man that wants to make all the right choices, and then the adult that has to look to the past to put it all together. Sometimes looking at the past makes things harder. But Cron pushes past the pain to come out a better man for it. A recommended read for anyone that needs encouragement to resolve the past for a better future.
This book was provided for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't bother

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Kearney, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cron grew up in a Catholic household, and the depiction of his memories could almost be called sacrilegious. He says this about a time his dad yells "Jesus, Mary, and Joseph" in response to their car breaking down: "This calling on the members of the Holy Family for assistance in emergencies has a long and venerable history among Catholics in extremis. There is no empirical evidence to suggest that it supplies a single ounce of protection or divine aid to the petitioner, but we believed there was no harm in trying." Is this guy even a Christian? And this is just one example. He also works in two cheap shots on purgatory by page 52 (of 252), at which point I knew this one was no candidate for the parish library shelf. This led to, "Why am I still reading it if it's not good enough for the shelf?" So I quit, and in fact I'm trashing it.
Now, if Cron is to be believed, it's not like his dad, supposedly an alcoholic, made Cron's childhood very easy. Conveniently, this father is now deceased and cannot speak in his own defense. But it seems like Cron still doesn't know not to hold that against the Church. Before putting the book down for good I did wonder what faith Cron practices now. I only needed to skip to "About the Author." Yes he is a Christian; he's an Episcopalian priest. (Don't Episcopalians believe in purgatory? And the Eucharist, which was another target of Cron's?)
So do yourself a favor and don't bother with this one.
I received this book for free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com (http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting to say the least....

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
YMinister1204
Location:Athens, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jesus, My Father, The CIA, and Me is a truly fascinating book. It is different from many of the other books I have read from BookSneeze because it is in the memoir vein rather than an exposition of text or a Christian life aid. I enjoyed the stories in the book and the thoughts the author (Cron) added to these stories that he experienced. Ultimately, the book is a tale of how one can truly experience, basically, every high and low that is out there during the human experience, and still come out on the other side closer to God and in a better relationship with Jesus and the people that matter the most to them. I enjoyed reading this book because it was a vastly different viewpoint than my own and I hope it will help me to grow in a different way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Touching and raw

Date:September 1, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This morning, I finished Ian Morgan Cron’s memoir, Jesus, My Father, The CIA, and Me. The melancholy, yet hopeful, text follows Cron’s early life in England, a childhood in the United States, and eventually to college and beyond.
What I loved about Cron’s book is his honesty: his frustration with his father, his confusion in his faith in Jesus, and his struggle with teenage and early adult alcoholism. He speaks of his father’s struggle with alcoholism and the tumultuous family relationship that resulted from disorder. Cron discusses how he tiptoed to avoid his father’s wrath, but often found himself at the receiving end of his angry father’s outbursts. Surviving his childhood, Cron goes away to college, only to plunge into alcoholism and depression. However, though this memoir focuses on Cron’s struggles as a young boy and man, the story does not end with his giving up on faith and family. Rather, Cron embraces the belief that Christ brings all things for one’s good, even if one has to fall through a raging storm.
Rating: 4/5 stars. Would recommend, but only to check out at the library.
Disclaimer:
The good people at Booksneeze.com offered me a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are mine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was good book!

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cc Sweeny
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is narrated and written by Ian Morgan Cron. He states that this book is a memoir of sorts and that some of the stories he retell haven’t necessarily happened in his life time or whether he was around to witness, so many of his stories are not necessarily first hand information. But let’s be real with ourselves, anything we have heard about our families is usually second hand information. Anyway, he talks about a life so interesting and yet at the time for him that wasn’t so interesting. For him, that was just living until he realized his father had this whole other life that turned his somewhat normal life upside down. It’s a like a world he never knew existed or the time you realize peanut butter can be eaten without jelly.
What I really enjoyed about the book the most is his personality and sense of humour. Many people look back at their lives and can hardly see it with a positive, easy going, view and Ian Morgan Cron did just that. You could tell the struggles he was going through and even then he had such an amazing view about it. This book was entertaining and it had me really think about my own journey in life (I’m sure my family got so many secrets) and not just my family life but my spiritual life as well. Because sometimes looking back can help us look ahead.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Ian is finally told that his father worked for the CIA, it explains a lot. But not everything. Lost without the compass that is a father's love, Ian struggles to accept and understand a father that became everything he pretended to be while he worked for the CIA. Drowned out by the loud voice of his father's alcoholism and lack of interest in his son's life, Ian grows up to be a man of many questions and no easy answers.
Years later when he faces his many personal demons, he comes to a realization that the truth of who he has become is found in his past. A father that drank and ignored him. A nanny that had nothing but the family's best interest in mind. The catholic church that introduced him to a God that held him up when standing was impossible. A mother who's long-suffering patience with all of them may have been the only thing that redeemed his childhood in the end. Will Ian's questions finally be answered? Or is he doomed to a life of broken fragments with no hope of redemption?
Having read this author before, I was already familiar with the voice of Cron's writing. But reading this memoir was an entirely different journey altogether. It showed the heart of a young boy that desperately wants to find his way in this life, a young man that wants to make all the right choices, and then the adult that has to look to the past to put it all together. Sometimes looking at the past makes things harder. But Cron pushes past the pain to come out a better man for it. A recommended read for anyone that needs encouragement to resolve the past for a better future.
This book was provided for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book, Tough Life

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Coffey76
Location:Mena, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Several months ago I received a copy of a book to review called Jesus, My Father, The CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts. Even though it is a tremendously interesting book, it has taken me a while to finish. Mostly because I tend to read more than one book at a time and sometimes don’t get back to one for a while. The book written by Ian Morgan Cron is written from his best recollections of memories, talks, and interview accounts of his life as he grew up a child of a CIA agent. It is brutally honest at times about his troubled relationship he had with his dad and many of the unresolved issues that he faced as a result. The most prevalent emotion that the author conveys is that of hatred for the things his father did and his journey to forgiveness in spite of it all. It follows his life up to where he is now as a minister and the freedom that he now feels as a result of the forgiveness. The book is often funny, often emotional, and brutally honest. I highly recommend checking it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I did not like this book.

Date:December 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
outdoorextremeyo
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Book Review: Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me, by Ian Cron
To be absolutely and brutally honest, I thought the book called Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me was horrible. In fact, I thought it was so horrible that it took me almost a year to bring myself to be able to even think to write a review on it. There really was not much in the book that pertained to Jesus or Christianity in the book other than referencing a few times about church. I think the word Jesus should be taken out of the title or talked about more in the book. I feel like the author, Ian Cron basically wrote a self pity memoir to make people feel sorry for him/make himself feel better. I honestly wont be recommending this book to anyone.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Poignant...

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book was very poignant reading. He writes of his life and his thoughts. Dealing with an alcoholic and depressed father. In reading of some of the traumatic things he had to deal with as a child, I found myself drawn to hoping for a good ending to this story. The ending was not so much an ending as a new beginning and it made the story an uplifting one as well. Wonderfully written, very honest.
This book was given to me to review free of charge by Thomas Nelson publishers and all of my opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
thehalls
Location:Scotland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In 'Jesus, My Father The CIA and me' Ian Morgan Cron tells the story of his life
mostly in reference to his relationship with his alcoholic father.
Growing up Catholic, Ian had his first connection to God at his first communion but his faith doesn't fully develop until his adult years.
Although it
did take me a while to get into his story there was a good mixture of funny and sad
tales.It tells of the difficulties of growing up with an emotionally distant
father. The recollection of the nanny who moved from England to the US with his
family is particularly touching.
The struggles he has with his own addictions are no surprise and adds to the
power of the memoir.Despite these difficulties there is the power of redemption
and it was great to see how his faith developed through anger, forgiveness,
hatred and grace.
There wasn't as much detail about the CIA as I would have liked, but overral it
was a touching, funny, compelling read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than I expected!

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
NicInNash
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a story unlike any I've ever read. Ian Morgan Cron did an absolutely marvelous job of retelling his life's journey in Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me - A Memoir...of sorts. My heart broke for the childhood Ian, who grew up in a privileged home with an alcoholic father. His growing years were filled with turmoil as he struggled with his own addiction and hurts from family members, but somehow felt a spiritual pull that eventually helped him turn his story around.
Ian has such a way with words that really make his story come to life. It was easy to be transported into the places and events that shaped this man's life, and impossible to not feel the heartache and joys alongside him. One page would bring tears while the next would bring a deep belly laugh. I appreciated his honest storytelling, making me feel like I could sit down to coffee with him and share my own story in return.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I Really Wanted to Like It

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elmertang
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really wanted to like the book Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts but I just could not get over the feeling that Mr. Cron was always blaming his father’s drinking for his problems. I know that drinking is a problem in families and leaves deep scars that are hard to overcome. He concentrated so much on his father that he left out Jesus in most of the book. I really believe that the title should have been Me, My Father, the CIA, and Jesus. Because that is the order in which I felt he concentrated his time and writing.
I felt that he did tell a great story but he even stated at the beginning of the book that “This work dances on the hyphen between memoir and autobiographical fiction.” (pg. 4) With that being said, I never really knew whether or not to believe the details that he told. Where they fact, skewed facts, or just ficiton? I love autobiographical accounts of overcoming the odds but I just could never believe whole heartedly what was being said.
I did not exactly dislike the book but I could not really recommend the book by giving it five stars. I would also like to say that I do not think that the book is entirely fiction but I would like to know what was actually fact. I know that he was telling a story from “forty year old memories” but I just could not get into the stories that he told. I was expecting more information about how his father was involved in the CIA and the adventures around his father’s work. I was sadly disappointed.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This memoir is a fascinating read about Ian's challenges, triumphs, and everything in between. As a child, he longed for the approval and love of his alcoholic father, who lived a secret life as a CIA agent. Ian turned to drugs and alcohol to earn his father's love but quickly realized that wasn't working so he decided to try a different role as "the good kid". Unfortunately, that didn't work either.
Ian was bitter towards God and didn't understand why He would not answer his prayers as a little boy. Because of this, he wanted nothing to do with God until his friend introduced him to Young Life which ultimately played a large role in the way Ian's life turned out. He never received what he was looking for from his earthly father, but finally came to terms with the heartache and pain with the help of his psychologist and received more than what he needed from his Heavenly father.
To be honest, I had a hard time getting into this book at first. However, I was so glad I pressed on and continued reading because it was definitely worth it. I was intrigued by the stories of his childhood. They allowed me to see a way of life that I have never experienced (thankfully) but know many people do. Even though I don't share his experiences of living with an alcoholic father, I could relate to him because there have been times where I have longed for someones approval and love. Because of this, I was able to rejoice with him, laugh with him, and even cry with him.
There were parts of the memoir that I felt he dragged out a little too much so I found myself skimming over various parts that seemed irrelevant to the story overall. However, the ending was phenomenal....I couldn't help but smile and my heart was filled with joy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jesus, My Father, The CIA, and Me: A Memoir... of Sorts by Ian Morgan Cron is - just as the title suggests - a memoir, mostly. The author tells the story of his upbringing, and his struggle with his faith, his self identity and his self worth as he grows up with an alcoholic and often absent father, and a mother who was just doing the best she could. Both funny and extremely poignant, he weaves the story back and forth through time, ultimately completely the circle by recounting his observations and relationship as a father to his own children.
It took me some time to actually get through the beginning of this book. To be fair, it was the first time I had read an e-book on my computer, and it could have simply had something to do with the format. Once I got into the second chapter however, Cron had me utterly hooked, and I very nearly finished the entire rest of the book in one sitting. It was in turns a fascinating, heartbreaking, and hilarious journey inside one man's head, heart, and past. It had all the elements of a blockbuster movie... Intrigue, tragedy and addiction? Check. Childhood buddy shenanigans? Check. Crazy but true stories of ER visits, jumps from moving vehicles, and the guilt of stealing from church? Check, check, check. When it wasn't making me laugh or shake my head in disbelief, it was pulling at my heart and making me root for him: this man who was simply trying to find his place in the world.
Ian Morgan Cron is an excellent writer, one who draws you in with his warm, conversational style and narrative. It is a compelling story, and a quick read. What makes this book so great though is Cron's raw honesty, and his ability to recount an experience in such a way that you feel you could have been there yourself. This book makes you feel for him, through both the good moments and the bad. Nearly everyone can relate to his story, especially those with less than ideal childhoods, and those who have ever struggled with finding their way back to God.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Humorously Entertaining!

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so grateful to BookSneeze, in sending me a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.
Ian Morgan Cron grew up with a father who was a CIA agent and who also had a massive drinking problem. As I read, I sensed the underlying disconnect and suffering that this reality caused him. He was desperate to have a 'normal' and 'healthy' relationship with his father. He blamed himself and believed that there was something terribly wrong with him for his own father not to want to interact with him and love him.
As a result, he grew up questioning everything, especially given the fact that things were kept a secret, such as his father being in the CIA. He also had to endure the verbal and physical abuse caused by his father drinking and mental illness (which he learned later on). He even lost his faith in God too. However, in the midst of surviving the chaos and insanity, there comes a pivotal moment by which he has an encounter with Jesus.
All I can say is... what an amazing book! The title cleverly depicts what this book is about. His memoir is filled with metaphors and humor. Ian Morgan Cron is a brilliant and entertaining writer. He writes so well that I was able to visualize and feel everything. I laughed and cried throughout this book.
I have read many memoirs in my lifetime, but not like this one. I highly recommend it and truly look forward to reading his next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was a really interesting read.

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth1975
Location:New Zealand, NZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a non-fiction work (a memoir of sorts) about a young boy growing up in a home with an alcoholic father. It is, at places, difficult to read due to some of the harrowing experiences Ian (and his family) go through at the hands of his father, but it is also refreshingly real, and at times, funny!
I found the style of this book very easy to read - Ian allows it to flow, despite at times, back-tracking to go into more depth about a memory or a story. This, quite often, can make the storyline jerky and difficult to pick up and put down.
The story is a story of hope - all the way through, you can see how God keeps intervening in Ian's life; despite Ian choosing to walk away from the church in his teenage years. I found it quite remarkable how there were so many God-moments orchestrated through-out his life even when he was at his lowest points... I also found it encouraging to see how God used Ian 'despite of himself' after he'd recommitted to Him, but before he'd faced his demons.
I felt that it just went on slightly too long nearing the end, and was almost tempted to put it down as there seemed to be 'more of the same' over again. But then he comes to the present day with his wife and family, and talks about his worries about being a good father to his children; especially his son. It really grabbed me then and hooked me once more; I guess they're worries every parent has. But I felt very satisfied when it finished - you knew Ian had made peace with his past (despite his Father having died), and was able to move forward unhindered. It felt like this book was quite cathartic for him; like a final release, allowing him to let go of his past and live fully in the present.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jesus, My Father, the CIA and Me: A Memoir….of Sor

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emanuel Pavel
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jesus, My Father, the CIA and Me: A Memoir….of Sorts este o indrazneata productie a Thomas Nelson Publisher ce prezinta un Ian Morgan Cron crescut intr-un mediu catolic de un tata agent al unui serviciu secret si care consuma cu generozitate bautura. Autorul si-a petrecut copilaria incarcand sa fie iubit, o dragoste pe care tatal sau nu a fost capabil sa i-o ofere. Experienta lui nu este singulara si poate de aceea este nevoie de cineva sa o spuna; limbajul poate surpinde prin lejeritatea unor expresii – nu prea potrivit in gura unui preot episcopalian – dar cred ca acele cuvinte sunt acolo pentru ca asa au fost rostite/gandite la vremea in care autorul traia respectivele experinte.
Ian Morgan Cron realizeaza si invita cititorul la o inedita calatorie in spatiul copilariei sale; dincolo de imaginea controversata a tatalui sau razbatand din acele timpuri perioada scolii, a contactului cu lumea religioasa, negarea lui Dumnezeu si apoi asezarea si gasirea linistei in prezenta Dumnezeu. Cartea este relatarea unei istorii care are nevoei de salvare, de harul pe care Ian il gaseste pana la urma in bratele Celui despre care stia dar in care nu mai avea nici o incredere, Isus Christos.
mai multe detalii: www.blog.punctul.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

for everyone looking for grace

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
SuzyO
Location:Batesville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not a typical memoir.
Having grown up in a family of teetotalers, I can’t exactly relate to Ian Cron’s harrowing, sometimes bizarre tales of living with an alcoholic, verbally abusive, frequently unemployed father, but he has a way of telling the story that puts the reader in his shoes. Each sentence puts you closer to understanding – and feeling – his pain. Cron is Anne Lamott for the clean-mouthed crowd. No F-bombs, no I-hate-Republicans rants. Just honest, and real.
Cron finds grace in the simple yet profound truths of life, and makes them hilarious in an understated way. At times I laughed out loud, many times I chuckled, sometimes I merely smiled:
“The music at St. Paul’s [Episcopal Church] won me over as well. I’d never been in a church where people sang with so much enthusiasm. Catholics don’t sing – we murmur, then look surprised if a melody emerges.”
The simple. And the profound:
“I can see the couch from the kitchen. I stop cutting parsley and remember that [my mother] taught me how to ride the Dragon Coaster and what to do when you’re flung into the mouth of whatever it is you think will kill you. Throw up your arms and laugh until you come out the other side. That lesson has saved my life once or twice.”
Some books fit into a niche, useful for a particular segment of the population; this one doesn’t fit into a neat category. It is for everyone looking for grace.
Aren’t we all?
-----------------------
This review is part of my agreement with BookSneeze. The publisher sends me a free book, and I agree to post a review of it on my blog and one other online publication. No pressure is put on me to write a positive review – just an honest one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating story of grace!

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy G
Location:Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Jesus, My Father, The CIA and Me" grabbed me first by its title. Author Ian Morgan Cron tells his life story, pretty much. He lets us know in the first chapter that some details may have been remembered differently than they really happened, but the story that follows is full of humor, sadness, joy, disappointment and grace. Growing up in the home of an alcoholic and member of the CIA brought Cron moments of terror and grief, which led him down different paths as he tried to gain the love and attention of his father. None of the paths he tried fulfilled him until he truly gave his heart and life to the Father who loved him no matter what he did.
I had a hard time getting into the story after reading that it might not all be exactly true, but once the story grabbed me, it did not let go. It was fascinating read stories from this man's life as he tried to earn his dad's love, which I could relate to. Cron is a beautiful and captivating writer and I could feel myself in each situation he found himself in. This book should not be read by children because of the adult content, but I was not offended by any of it. On the contrary, I can not wait to read more from this amazing writer. I loved reading how God held on to Cron throughout his life even when he was trying to run. A truly tremendous story of God's faithfulness and mercy.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>